We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Burt Hotel(Road Town)
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$170
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sebastian's on the Beach(Road Town)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
545
80
19
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
80
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool suitenew ownersoutdoor showerplantation houseall inclusive packagejost van dykebeach restaurantsmall beachcocktail partylunch restaurantsuzettechef bernardboutique hotelpicnic lunchfellow guestsday sailisland tour
Filter
Updating list...
588 - 593 of 653 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2008

We were looking to spend our 10th anniversary somewhere fun so we chose the British Virgin Islands. We booked the hotel directly and the manager was very accomodating over the phone and through email. Everything went well. We arrived later in the day and checked into the hotel. We happened to be coming in on Monday night, where there were complimentary drinks by the pool. Afterward, we dined in the hotel's restaurant, which was very good.

We stayed in the Pool Suite and it was very comfortable. Our balcony looked out over the pool and we could see the beach. The showers in the Pool suites were very cool. There was no roof on the shower, but it had some beams with vegetation growing over it. It was very roomy and was a unique experience. On one morning, we had no ride to the boat for the Day Sail we had booked and the maintenance man was volunteered to drive us to the docks.

Even though there was A/C, we decided to turn it off and sleep with the windows open at night. It was that cool and comfortable. This is unusual for us, since we live in South Texas and can't survive without A/C.

Our time at the hotel made for a very relaxing stay. There are many places around BVI that are run down and I went by many of the hotels you could stay in while on BVI. I would only ever consider the Sugar Mill and one other hotel as being a high enough quality to stay in. Many of the others looked run down and delapidated.

We are going back to BVI in July and part of the reason is based on our stay at the Sugar Mill. It is definitely one of the nicest hotels in BVI.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank shull12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Just returned from 7 days at the Sugar Mill Hotel in the beautiful island of Tortola. From arriving at the hotel to our time of departure we had an amazing time. We were on this great package called the Adventure Package which basically was a blue print for everything we did but we decided our own itinerary from car rental, diving, day sail, flight to another island, and castaway beach picnic.
Returning each evening to a great room and amazing dinners topped it all off for us. The chef was so accommodating with my special gluten free diet - he managed to find me on a daily basis to discuss what I would like to eat that evening. The service was super with very well trained personable staff who had a great desire to please and a genuine interest in our welfare.
First time in Tortola and the Sugar Mill but a place we want to return to very soon - need I say anymore !

4  Thank georginaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2008

My wife and I (both 35 years old) stayed at the Sugar Mill in mid-March for one week.

Our room (the Cottage) was quite comfortable with a beautiful outdoor shower. We also appreciated the size of the room which was relatively large. The cleaning staff consistently did a nice job of cleaning the room. However, the room offers only a partial, somewhat faraway view of the ocean (it overlooks the main building).

The restaurant was superb. Perhaps it does not qualify as a 4 star restaurant in NYC (I have eaten at several), but it was very, very good - we ate there almost every night and were always pleased with the quality and variety. Note, however, that it is expensive with entrees around $35 on average.

The staff was fabulous - always friendly and willing to help. They were a true highlight of our stay.

The grounds were pretty, with lots of vegetation, and the main building, an old sugar mill, was lovely.

The hotel's beach was a disappointment - it is only 300 feet wide and not the crystal clear waters that we found at other beaches around the island. The pool was small but adequate.

In addition, outside of the Sugar Mill, the only other establishments are Bomba's (a dive bar that we found disappointing and we like dive bars) and Sebastians, another hotel with a good but not spectacular restaurant. We ended up getting a car for 5 days in order to avoid the isolation of our location - taxis were very expensive.

If you are interested in shopping, Tortola is not your place. There was very little of interest for us in Road Town. The BVIs are really more focused on fun and relaxation.

Overall, we liked the Sugar Mill but were looking for something with more of a resort feel, a larger beach, and more access to restaurants/bars outside of the hotel. A car is definitely a requirement here.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Todd_HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2008

It is only as we struggle towards the end of yet another grim New York winter that the true charms and heady excitement of the Sugar Mill Hotel are thrown into the highest possible relief. This quiet gem of a hotel sits as far from the airport and Tortola's main urban center, Road Town, as it is possible to get and still be on the same island. You can hear and taste the peace and quiet. After Manhattan, the silence itself is worth the entire cost of vacation..
But the Sugar Mill is no rustic retreat, Each room is filly equiped, with a microwave and fridge...more than enough to ensure your drink is always chilled and a fresh sandwitch can be whipped up in the event of a sudden snack emergency. Each room is comfortably furnished, and all are kept spotless by a a cheerful friendly and helpful team of maids, for whom extra towels or a long lie in bed in the morning are activities to be encoraged and supported.
The hotel's decor is extremely comfortable, spotless and well maintain, with good local art displayed on the walls to remind the visitor that there is more to Tortola than sun, sand and surf. For a good nights sleep, each room is equiped wit a quiet and very efficent air conditioner, This is an absolutely essential piece of kit on an island where the humidity can slay the strongest individual.
With its beautiful swimmimg pool, sunloungers and quiet location, the Sugar Muil is the ideal spot for those seeking to re-charge their batteries and spend quality time with their parners.
But if the hotel's location and staffing are both outstanding, it is the final part of the equation that makes the Sugar Mill the unique vacation destination that it is.
The kitchens at the hotel have been described by many as the very finest in the Caribbean. From the generous portions of breakfast, to the casual snacks, often of that most evocative variety , a judicious combination of local delicacies combined with the comfort food of that most nostalgic of generations, the baby boomers, the overall effect is of a foodies paradise. In the evening, the dining room provides a selection of appetizers and entres that are first rate and would put even a high end New York restauarant to shame. Service is swift, cheerful and iunobtrusive, by a staff that quickly learns the individual quirks and personal preferences of their guests.
We have been going to the Suger Mill once a year for the past ten years. We could go anywhere but the unique charm of this small private hotel, with its superb service, superior kitchen, happy, helpful staff and gentle pace of life, draws us back again and again. Nor, beyond the hotel itself is there any shortage of things to do in the evening. The infamous 'Bomba' shack, with its strong liquor and majic mushrooms is on 100 meters down the road, while the delights of Roadtown, from bars and restaurants t scuba diving and para sailing are an easy 20 minute drive away.

To sum up, this is a beautiful hotel, with clean, modern, well equiped accomodations, set on an island of unsurpassed natural beauty. It has a five star kitchen and chefs who make the best possibuse of both local produce and the highest quality imports. But what really sets the Suger Mill apart is a staff that is friendly courteous and always willing to go the extra mile to make sure that you are having a good time. Having the owners around so much ensures that the extremely high standards which they nthemselves set as travel and food critics are maintained at them as travel and food writers are maintained and that new ideas and approaches to servicing guests are experimented with, all to further enhance the guest's vacation experience .

Stayed: November 2007
5  Thank phatfredi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2008

This is the perfect intimate getaway on Tortola, BVI. We discovered it last year, returned this year and plan to return again next winter. The beach is never crowded and there is good opportunity to snorkel along the reef. The views from the rooms are breathtaking. We ate at the restaurant every night for over a week as the food is gourmet quality and the menu changes daily. What really puts this hotel over the top for us is the very friendly, courteous, and helpful staff. They made us feel welcome throughout our stay.

J. & K. McD.
Tarrytown, NY

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tbctbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews