We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the meal plan”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We visited the Sugar Mill after 5 days on Virgin Gorda. After a long, hot ferry ride, I was initially underwhelmed by the Inn (the initial atmosphere was a big change from the large resort we had stayed at). However, it ended up being a wonderful stay. The staff were very friendly (if a little quiet), the room very comfortable and the food absolutely amazing. We had heard wonderful things about the Sugar Mill restaurant (had actually booked the stay for the restaurant) and were not disappointed at all. My husband enjoyed the meals so much, that we ate breakfast and dinner every night (they have a reasonable meal plan) in addition to 2 of our lunches at Islands, the lunch-only restaurant by the beach. My husband still talked about his "perfectly executed" ceasar salad and I remember a wonderful pumpkin/black bean soup. This hotel is definitely more of an inn than a big resort. But, the front desk will help you book a car or do anything on the island. The beach is very small and we didn't swim here - instead we went to Long Bay and other beaches with good snorkeling. The pool is also small, but adequate for cooling off. Don't forget the mosquito repellent - the bugs were insane.

Stayed: June 2008
7  Thank TripCrazyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2008

We were looking to spend our 10th anniversary somewhere fun so we chose the British Virgin Islands. We booked the hotel directly and the manager was very accomodating over the phone and through email. Everything went well. We arrived later in the day and checked into the hotel. We happened to be coming in on Monday night, where there were complimentary drinks by the pool. Afterward, we dined in the hotel's restaurant, which was very good.

We stayed in the Pool Suite and it was very comfortable. Our balcony looked out over the pool and we could see the beach. The showers in the Pool suites were very cool. There was no roof on the shower, but it had some beams with vegetation growing over it. It was very roomy and was a unique experience. On one morning, we had no ride to the boat for the Day Sail we had booked and the maintenance man was volunteered to drive us to the docks.

Even though there was A/C, we decided to turn it off and sleep with the windows open at night. It was that cool and comfortable. This is unusual for us, since we live in South Texas and can't survive without A/C.

Our time at the hotel made for a very relaxing stay. There are many places around BVI that are run down and I went by many of the hotels you could stay in while on BVI. I would only ever consider the Sugar Mill and one other hotel as being a high enough quality to stay in. Many of the others looked run down and delapidated.

We are going back to BVI in July and part of the reason is based on our stay at the Sugar Mill. It is definitely one of the nicest hotels in BVI.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank shull12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Just returned from 7 days at the Sugar Mill Hotel in the beautiful island of Tortola. From arriving at the hotel to our time of departure we had an amazing time. We were on this great package called the Adventure Package which basically was a blue print for everything we did but we decided our own itinerary from car rental, diving, day sail, flight to another island, and castaway beach picnic.
Returning each evening to a great room and amazing dinners topped it all off for us. The chef was so accommodating with my special gluten free diet - he managed to find me on a daily basis to discuss what I would like to eat that evening. The service was super with very well trained personable staff who had a great desire to please and a genuine interest in our welfare.
First time in Tortola and the Sugar Mill but a place we want to return to very soon - need I say anymore !

4  Thank georginaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

My wife and I (both 35 years old) stayed at the Sugar Mill in mid-March for one week.

Our room (the Cottage) was quite comfortable with a beautiful outdoor shower. We also appreciated the size of the room which was relatively large. The cleaning staff consistently did a nice job of cleaning the room. However, the room offers only a partial, somewhat faraway view of the ocean (it overlooks the main building).

The restaurant was superb. Perhaps it does not qualify as a 4 star restaurant in NYC (I have eaten at several), but it was very, very good - we ate there almost every night and were always pleased with the quality and variety. Note, however, that it is expensive with entrees around $35 on average.

The staff was fabulous - always friendly and willing to help. They were a true highlight of our stay.

The grounds were pretty, with lots of vegetation, and the main building, an old sugar mill, was lovely.

The hotel's beach was a disappointment - it is only 300 feet wide and not the crystal clear waters that we found at other beaches around the island. The pool was small but adequate.

In addition, outside of the Sugar Mill, the only other establishments are Bomba's (a dive bar that we found disappointing and we like dive bars) and Sebastians, another hotel with a good but not spectacular restaurant. We ended up getting a car for 5 days in order to avoid the isolation of our location - taxis were very expensive.

If you are interested in shopping, Tortola is not your place. There was very little of interest for us in Road Town. The BVIs are really more focused on fun and relaxation.

Overall, we liked the Sugar Mill but were looking for something with more of a resort feel, a larger beach, and more access to restaurants/bars outside of the hotel. A car is definitely a requirement here.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Todd_HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2008

It is only as we struggle towards the end of yet another grim New York winter that the true charms and heady excitement of the Sugar Mill Hotel are thrown into the highest possible relief. This quiet gem of a hotel sits as far from the airport and Tortola's main urban center, Road Town, as it is possible to get and still be on the same island. You can hear and taste the peace and quiet. After Manhattan, the silence itself is worth the entire cost of vacation..
But the Sugar Mill is no rustic retreat, Each room is filly equiped, with a microwave and fridge...more than enough to ensure your drink is always chilled and a fresh sandwitch can be whipped up in the event of a sudden snack emergency. Each room is comfortably furnished, and all are kept spotless by a a cheerful friendly and helpful team of maids, for whom extra towels or a long lie in bed in the morning are activities to be encoraged and supported.
The hotel's decor is extremely comfortable, spotless and well maintain, with good local art displayed on the walls to remind the visitor that there is more to Tortola than sun, sand and surf. For a good nights sleep, each room is equiped wit a quiet and very efficent air conditioner, This is an absolutely essential piece of kit on an island where the humidity can slay the strongest individual.
With its beautiful swimmimg pool, sunloungers and quiet location, the Sugar Muil is the ideal spot for those seeking to re-charge their batteries and spend quality time with their parners.
But if the hotel's location and staffing are both outstanding, it is the final part of the equation that makes the Sugar Mill the unique vacation destination that it is.
The kitchens at the hotel have been described by many as the very finest in the Caribbean. From the generous portions of breakfast, to the casual snacks, often of that most evocative variety , a judicious combination of local delicacies combined with the comfort food of that most nostalgic of generations, the baby boomers, the overall effect is of a foodies paradise. In the evening, the dining room provides a selection of appetizers and entres that are first rate and would put even a high end New York restauarant to shame. Service is swift, cheerful and iunobtrusive, by a staff that quickly learns the individual quirks and personal preferences of their guests.
We have been going to the Suger Mill once a year for the past ten years. We could go anywhere but the unique charm of this small private hotel, with its superb service, superior kitchen, happy, helpful staff and gentle pace of life, draws us back again and again. Nor, beyond the hotel itself is there any shortage of things to do in the evening. The infamous 'Bomba' shack, with its strong liquor and majic mushrooms is on 100 meters down the road, while the delights of Roadtown, from bars and restaurants t scuba diving and para sailing are an easy 20 minute drive away.

To sum up, this is a beautiful hotel, with clean, modern, well equiped accomodations, set on an island of unsurpassed natural beauty. It has a five star kitchen and chefs who make the best possibuse of both local produce and the highest quality imports. But what really sets the Suger Mill apart is a staff that is friendly courteous and always willing to go the extra mile to make sure that you are having a good time. Having the owners around so much ensures that the extremely high standards which they nthemselves set as travel and food critics are maintained at them as travel and food writers are maintained and that new ideas and approaches to servicing guests are experimented with, all to further enhance the guest's vacation experience .

Stayed: November 2007
5  Thank phatfredi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

This is the perfect intimate getaway on Tortola, BVI. We discovered it last year, returned this year and plan to return again next winter. The beach is never crowded and there is good opportunity to snorkel along the reef. The views from the rooms are breathtaking. We ate at the restaurant every night for over a week as the food is gourmet quality and the menu changes daily. What really puts this hotel over the top for us is the very friendly, courteous, and helpful staff. They made us feel welcome throughout our stay.

J. & K. McD.
Tarrytown, NY

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tbctbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2008

We just recently returned from a two-week jaunt through the British Virgin Islands, ending up at the Sugar Mill for two nights. I had heard wonderful things about this hotel for many years, especially the food.

All pre-trip dealings with the hotel were handled efficiently, promptly, and courteously by Liz in the front office.

We were very early for arrival, due to ferry schedules, but we were made to feel welcome and comfortable by Abiola at the front desk. While they watched our bags, we were able to use the pool and beach, and had a tasty lunch down by the beach in their little restaurant there. The curry-flavored Fish and Chips was memorable.

Our room, a Plantation House King Suite, was probably the most comfortable room we've had in the Caribbean. Relatively new, with a separate seating area, small round dining table, kitchenette with microwave, small fridge, sink, and coffee maker. The bathroom had a large open shower and two sinks at a large vanity. There was a tremendous amount of storage space/cabinets in the bathroom, along with ample dresser drawers in the bedroom. The room was clean except for several long, dark hairs on the shower stall floor. How could someone miss that?

A real treat was the nice-sized balcony with views out over to Jost van Dyke and sunsets through the swaying palms. It also had a hammock!

The beach across the busy street is small but adequate for light swimming and sunbathing. Unfortunately, Tortola has seen an influx of mega-cruise ships over the last couple of years, and so open-air jitneys carrying large numbers of tourists pass by frequently when the ships are in town. You can hear the multi-lingual tour commentary over the loudspeakers as they slow down in front of the hotel, and occasional exhaust fumes from the vehicles spoil the fresh sea air. The pool is more tranquil, small as it is. We used it in the afternoons after visiting some local beaches. It was lovely.

Restaurant service was excellent and friendly. The food, however, which was to be a highlight, seemed uneven to us. The banana muffins were to write home about. All food at the beach was very good. One morning, for breakfast, I ordered the "Mushroom Eggs," a dish based loosely on Eggs Benedict, but they were missing two key ingredients: the mushrooms, and the ham.

Dinner was good, but nothing special. The dining room is very comfortable, romantic, and atmospheric - the interior of an old sugar mill. I must say we were rather disappointed with our appetizers and entrees. The key lime pie was superb, but the banana cream pie was completely flavorless. They do a great job with breads and salads. Maybe we're just jaded, but we cancelled our second night's reservation and ate down the road at an amazing little local place called Palm's Delight (no frills).

Yes, we would go again. Overall, I loved the room and the service.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ExpertTripPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
14.7 km away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
2.6 km away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
0.6 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
6.7 km away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
132 reviews
15.1 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: $317 - $865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing