We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Relaxing, Romantic, great for a couple's getaway.”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Just got back today from the BVI and stayed 2 nights at Sugar Mill on Tortola and 2 nights on Virgin Gorda at Little Dix Bay. The Sugar Mill was great with so much Carribean charm. We loved the laid back feel to this hotel...not at all stuffy. The staff was very nice and very accomodating. The rooms are well appointed and we were lucky enough to have a pool suite with great views of the bay and an outdoor shower, which we loved! It was simply an amazing feeling to shower outside under the sun or in the rain.
The best part of the Sugar Mill is by far the food. The dinner we had in the restaurant will be one we remember for a long time. The flavors were delicious and the dishes were simple. We gave our compliments to the chef. So did many others at surrounding tables. I believe the chef's name is Matt.
As far as the location goes, it was fine. The hotel will call you a cab if you want to go to a nearby beach. There is a small beach across the street that is sufficient for just lounging but probably not where you would want to go for any water activities. There is a larger beach called Long Bay that is about a 15 min walk from the hotel. You have to hike up a very steep hill to get there. There is a small bar on that beach that's run by a guy that calls himself "Nature Boy". He was nice and my husband quickly mad friends with him. If your interested in a wild party atmosphere there is a bar down the street called Bomba shack. Be cautious when going there, especially to there Full Moon Party. We were told by some locals to never leave your drink unattended there and never leave your wife/girlfriend alone. They say that place is known to put "psychedelic shrooms" in there rum punch. I guess by the end of the evening there are people getting naked and its pretty wild. Probably an easy place to get robbed if your unaware of your surroundings.
We would definately stay at the Sugar Mill again. It provides all the relaxing comforts you would expect on vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sunworshipers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Sugar Mill for 5 nights or so to celebrate my 40th birthday. I did tons of research for the BVIs and still visited some of the resorts I read about. I wanted to stay at places we couldn't afford (naturally). The inexpensive places looked like dumps. The SM was the perfect happy medium. And there weren't many happy mediums to choose from honestly. We had a poolside room that set up high and gave us a great view over the rooftops of the ocean and Jost Van Dyke. Our place was as big as some apartments I've lived in with a great balcony and an outdoor shower which I hadn't expected. The sugar mill had a cozy little bar and a good breakfast. Abiola was our concierge and she was so helpful in arranging day trips and such. There's not much of a beach and it's right by the road so don't go for that. The location is good but we hadn't realized what an ordeal it was to drive most places on Tortola. It was a good 20 minute drive to Road Town and we never even made it to the other end of the islands. Roads are super steep and curvy! It is really convenient, however, to the west end and Soper's Hole. And you can walk to the Bomba Shack which is a hoot. One of the reasons I wanted to stay at the SM was because I heard what great food it had. I was seriously disappointed. Dinner there was not cheap and probably the worst we had on the island. Very bland. Atmosphere great though. We had lunch at their beach bar one day too and the food was fine but it took foreeeeeeeeeever. Overall, the SM fit the bill perfectly for us.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beaner32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Our first trip to the island and we couldn't have asked for better accomodations. The entire staff is wonderful, it is quiet, the food is the best we had on the island. We loved the location, made getting to other beaches and tourist areas a breeze. We particularly liked the fact that it was an adult population. We can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank electricNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We have been to Tortola a half dozen times over the last 5 years and have usually rented a villa. This time we had to abandon the villa due to two robberies within a week (rare for Tortola). The Sugar Mill came to the rescue...it provided us a safe haven. The front desk staff was very understanding and accommodating. We found the property to be immaculate with outstanding food for both breakfast and dinner. We intend to return to The Sugar Mill.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BaHaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

My husband and I traveled to the Sugar Mill for our honeymoon in Jan. We chose the hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! We initially wanted the Pool Suite, but it was booked. We stayed in room 134 instead, which was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the balcony was great too. We also enjoyed the fact that the room had a mini fridge and a coffee maker. The property itself is fantastic. Beautiful views of the ocean and beach across the street. We watched the sunset a few times from the beach, which was wonderful. The other highlight of the Sugar Mill is the restaurant. We ate there nearly every night and had delicious meals. The menu changes nightly, but they display the menu in the morning so you can peruse the offerings. Reservations are simple to make as well. The staff is very accommodating- they even made reservations for us at a different restaurant one night. The tiny gift shop is a nice place too- lots of art from Jinx Morgan. We recommend taking advantage of the free snorkels and masks too that they keep at the front desk. We used them at Smuggler's Cove and also took them with us to the Baths. Sugar Mill is a very unique place- we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jgort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

We were married on Tortola ten years ago and vowed to return for our Anniversary. Friends told us about the Sugar Mill Hotel, and we booked the Honeymoon Package. Our trip was absolutely fabulous from start to finish. The hotel property is very carefully tended, and the staff could not have been more gracious. Our room was beautiful and spacious, with a nice balcony overlooking the ocean and a large bathroom. The Restaurant exceeded our expectations by miles with a different, interesting menu every night. We chose the MAP plan, which included breakfast and dinner, and we thoroughly enjoyed every meal. I would highly recommend the Sugar Mill to anyone looking for a romantic getaway in a tropical location.

Stayed: December 2008
4  Thank SurfGirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

My wife and I have been married for twenty years and have traveled to many places in europe and the US with our children. Other than our honeymoon this was the first time since we were married that we traveled without our children for more than over night. My wife is originaly from Oxford England so when doing my research the British Virgin Islands seemed the right fit. I read all the great reviews about the Sugar Mill and decided to take a chance. Upon arriving at the Sugar Mill we fell in love with everything about it. Our room was great. A view of the water from our balcony and very comfortable.The restaurant was amazing. From the atmosphere to the fantastic food. The service here was excellent. Everyone was very helpfull but not in your face. Tortola at this time is not crowded so we had plenty of room everywhere we went. We highly recommend Tortola and The Great Sugar Mill.
Don't forget to visit the Bomba Shack which is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leonNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
14.7 km away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
2.6 km away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
0.6 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
6.7 km away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
132 reviews
15.1 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: $317 - $865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing