We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Burt Hotel(Road Town)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sebastian's on the Beach(Road Town)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
St. John Inn(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$305
US$209
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea View Hotel(Road Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
545
80
19
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
80
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool suitenew ownersoutdoor showerplantation houseall inclusive packagejost van dykebeach restaurantsmall beachcocktail partylunch restaurantsuzettechef bernardboutique hotelpicnic lunchfellow guestsday sailisland tour
Filter
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 653 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Sugar Mill for 5 nights or so to celebrate my 40th birthday. I did tons of research for the BVIs and still visited some of the resorts I read about. I wanted to stay at places we couldn't afford (naturally). The inexpensive places looked like dumps. The SM was the perfect happy medium. And there weren't many happy mediums to choose from honestly. We had a poolside room that set up high and gave us a great view over the rooftops of the ocean and Jost Van Dyke. Our place was as big as some apartments I've lived in with a great balcony and an outdoor shower which I hadn't expected. The sugar mill had a cozy little bar and a good breakfast. Abiola was our concierge and she was so helpful in arranging day trips and such. There's not much of a beach and it's right by the road so don't go for that. The location is good but we hadn't realized what an ordeal it was to drive most places on Tortola. It was a good 20 minute drive to Road Town and we never even made it to the other end of the islands. Roads are super steep and curvy! It is really convenient, however, to the west end and Soper's Hole. And you can walk to the Bomba Shack which is a hoot. One of the reasons I wanted to stay at the SM was because I heard what great food it had. I was seriously disappointed. Dinner there was not cheap and probably the worst we had on the island. Very bland. Atmosphere great though. We had lunch at their beach bar one day too and the food was fine but it took foreeeeeeeeeever. Overall, the SM fit the bill perfectly for us.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beaner32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Our first trip to the island and we couldn't have asked for better accomodations. The entire staff is wonderful, it is quiet, the food is the best we had on the island. We loved the location, made getting to other beaches and tourist areas a breeze. We particularly liked the fact that it was an adult population. We can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank electricNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We have been to Tortola a half dozen times over the last 5 years and have usually rented a villa. This time we had to abandon the villa due to two robberies within a week (rare for Tortola). The Sugar Mill came to the rescue...it provided us a safe haven. The front desk staff was very understanding and accommodating. We found the property to be immaculate with outstanding food for both breakfast and dinner. We intend to return to The Sugar Mill.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BaHaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2009

My husband and I traveled to the Sugar Mill for our honeymoon in Jan. We chose the hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! We initially wanted the Pool Suite, but it was booked. We stayed in room 134 instead, which was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the balcony was great too. We also enjoyed the fact that the room had a mini fridge and a coffee maker. The property itself is fantastic. Beautiful views of the ocean and beach across the street. We watched the sunset a few times from the beach, which was wonderful. The other highlight of the Sugar Mill is the restaurant. We ate there nearly every night and had delicious meals. The menu changes nightly, but they display the menu in the morning so you can peruse the offerings. Reservations are simple to make as well. The staff is very accommodating- they even made reservations for us at a different restaurant one night. The tiny gift shop is a nice place too- lots of art from Jinx Morgan. We recommend taking advantage of the free snorkels and masks too that they keep at the front desk. We used them at Smuggler's Cove and also took them with us to the Baths. Sugar Mill is a very unique place- we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jgort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2008

We were married on Tortola ten years ago and vowed to return for our Anniversary. Friends told us about the Sugar Mill Hotel, and we booked the Honeymoon Package. Our trip was absolutely fabulous from start to finish. The hotel property is very carefully tended, and the staff could not have been more gracious. Our room was beautiful and spacious, with a nice balcony overlooking the ocean and a large bathroom. The Restaurant exceeded our expectations by miles with a different, interesting menu every night. We chose the MAP plan, which included breakfast and dinner, and we thoroughly enjoyed every meal. I would highly recommend the Sugar Mill to anyone looking for a romantic getaway in a tropical location.

Stayed: December 2008
4  Thank SurfGirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews