We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Burt Hotel(Road Town)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sebastian's on the Beach(Road Town)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
St. John Inn(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$305
US$209
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Frenchmans(West End)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
545
80
19
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
80
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool suitenew ownersoutdoor showerplantation houseall inclusive packagejost van dykebeach restaurantsmall beachcocktail partylunch restaurantsuzettechef bernardboutique hotelpicnic lunchfellow guestsday sailisland tour
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 653 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2017

My husband and I found Sugar Mill online and what a blessing! The hotel was wonderful and the staff went above and beyond to give us the best experience possible! The owners, Mary and Dennis, were like family to us and spoiled us our entire visit.

The hotel location was wonderful. It has its own pool and beach access. We rented a boat for a few days and it was a quick cab ride to the marina and ferry.

The food was wonderful! We highly recommend all inclusive if you like to eat and drink. Mrs Terresa and Mrs Abi will definitely take care of you and can make a mean cocktail. The wine list is great and has a lot to offer for all palates.

This was our first trip to the BVI and we cant wait to go back! Be smart and book at the Sugar Mill!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

Life can be fast moving, busy, non stop. Which is why we all look forward to our holidays and a chance to recharge, relax and enjoy the good things. It's important to get it right and not just right but perfect. The Sugar Mill does all of that and more. This is our second visit to this island Paradise. Nestled on a hillside overlooking Apple Bay it can't fail to impress. At night the subtle lighting is romantic and the breeze carries music from the restaurant down to the beach where watching the sun go down was simply wonderful. During the day the beach was a perfect place to unwind . The comfortable beds and apples provided the perfect hideaway after a spot of snorkeling , bodyboarding or kayaking. We really enjoyed the beach bar as the food was delicious and the drinks were cool and refreshing.
The room we had this year was excellent with a fabulous free standing bath, his and hers sinks and a balcony overlooking the bay. Each room is individually placed in the beautiful gardens and the owners and staff make you instantly feel at ease. Nothing is too much trouble.

After we had spent a day on the beach, by the pool or exploring . The bar and restaurant are the perfect place to enjoy our favorite cocktail and try a few new ones. Teresa is a knowledgeable and talented mixologist amongst our favorite were the frozen Margarita and the local Painkillers.

We ate at the restaurant each evening and the food is superb. The waiting staff are both courteous and knowledgeable. When making selections there was no difficulty as I am coeliac and there were plenty of choices all of which were delicious.

In all other areas of the hotel the staff are friendly, helpful and there is a happy vibe. Dennis and Mary the owners are at the helm of a great hotel and a great team. If you are lucky enough to have found this place then don't hesitate to book and go

I overheard two couples on the beach discussing how they have decided upon the Sugar Mill as oppose to the hotel resort on Peter Island and price was the deciding factor. By comparison, The Sugar Mill offers great value and having visited Peter Island the service and facilities are far more intimate and personable without any compromise on luxury.

Their parting words were " even if it had been more expensive knowing what we know now it wouldn't have been an issue" we love it here ...... it's paradise !

Thanks for another great holiday Sugar Mill x


Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
8  Thank Ponty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

Having had such a great family holiday last year we had to visit The Sugar Mill Hotel again. The owners are continuing with their program of improvements. This year we stayed in the villa which is a lovely room with a huge free-standing bath tub and a great balcony with sea views.

All the great things we loved last year are just as good. Fabulous food from Bernard's kitchen with a few new menu additions and great cocktails from Theresa.

We enjoyed lovely lunches at the beach bar, relaxing in the apples, snorkelling and kayaking.

If you are looking for a fantastic relaxed location with great food, then look no further you've found it!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

Tucked away looking back at Carrot Bay sits the historic Sugar Mill Hotel and Restaurant. From the moment you enter you know you are in for a treat. The surrounds are elegant yet casual and beachy! The vintage tunes playing through the air add to the romance and nostalgia of this place.

We immediately made our way to bar-lounge and were greeted by a gracious Lady who took our names and asked if we needed a drink. They make great dirty martinis-so dirty you would not want you mother to see you drinking it- as I overheard one patron describe it!! The food was excellent. We had fresh grouper. One blackened the other grilled both were perfectly cooked and served with veggies. For dessert we had a scrumptious banana bread pudding. Everything was professionally served to us by the lovely Lucinda!

All in all a great experience. Although fancier than most it was not pretentious in anyway. We were glad that we wore collared shirts and loafers as opposed to our more casual garb.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RufinoFiveDaysIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

We booked for 2 nights in May before a week of sailing. The room was exactly as in the photo, super clean, nice view from up high as we requested.It's not luxurious, but it's nice. The hotel taxi was there to pick us up as requested at the airport nreceived a very appreciated welcome upon arrival. There is a little beach in the front but we rented a car to visit other hard to get to beaches. You could walk form the hotel, but it's long for some, about one hour each way and hilly. The restaurant is beautiful with stone walls , food is very good, great wine list and the staff is very charming. I think this is in the top 2 to stay at for sure and would recommend without hesitation because it's on the other side of busy Tortola and delivered on all promises.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ARTskiEAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews