We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We found the Sugar Mill online and decided to book the trip based on the excellent reviews - IT DID NOT DISAPPOINT! The reason for the trip was to celebrate my parent's 50th wedding anniversary and how special the owners and staff of the Sugar Mill made it. My parents stayed in room 142, which is likely the best room on the resort - beautifully appointed and an incredible view of the ocean. My husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite which was spacious, and we actually enjoyed the outdoor shower (the only shower in the suite).

We recommend doing the all-inclusive. - all week or by the day. You will find the food and drinks out of this world and certainly worth the money. The full week all-inclusive includes 2 excursions. The first was a tour of Tortola with a champagne picnic on Beef Island. Our tour was hosted by the resort owner, Dennis, who knew all about the island history and local culture, plus we hit a couple of hot spots for drinks throughout the day. The second was a day long catamaran ride with snorkeling. We got to visit Salt Island, Peter Island and Cooper Island. Definitely do this excursion!!!

And finally, the best asset of the resort - THE STAFF! We felt like family when we left. Mary, the owner, is the best hostess around. She is so inviting and caring. I looked forward to seeing her everyday. I cannot say enough about Sharon, the restaurant manager, and Theresa, the bar manager. No desire went unmet. And the rest of the staff was friendly, kind and so wonderful.

Remember that you are going to an island surrounded by white beaches and water so clear you can see 45 feet deep. Things are slower and more relaxed. Let yourself go there.......and go to the Sugar Mill Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Slaybell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

My husband and I found Sugar Mill online and what a blessing! The hotel was wonderful and the staff went above and beyond to give us the best experience possible! The owners, Mary and Dennis, were like family to us and spoiled us our entire visit.

The hotel location was wonderful. It has its own pool and beach access. We rented a boat for a few days and it was a quick cab ride to the marina and ferry.

The food was wonderful! We highly recommend all inclusive if you like to eat and drink. Mrs Terresa and Mrs Abi will definitely take care of you and can make a mean cocktail. The wine list is great and has a lot to offer for all palates.

This was our first trip to the BVI and we cant wait to go back! Be smart and book at the Sugar Mill!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Life can be fast moving, busy, non stop. Which is why we all look forward to our holidays and a chance to recharge, relax and enjoy the good things. It's important to get it right and not just right but perfect. The Sugar Mill does all of that and more. This is our second visit to this island Paradise. Nestled on a hillside overlooking Apple Bay it can't fail to impress. At night the subtle lighting is romantic and the breeze carries music from the restaurant down to the beach where watching the sun go down was simply wonderful. During the day the beach was a perfect place to unwind . The comfortable beds and apples provided the perfect hideaway after a spot of snorkeling , bodyboarding or kayaking. We really enjoyed the beach bar as the food was delicious and the drinks were cool and refreshing.
The room we had this year was excellent with a fabulous free standing bath, his and hers sinks and a balcony overlooking the bay. Each room is individually placed in the beautiful gardens and the owners and staff make you instantly feel at ease. Nothing is too much trouble.

After we had spent a day on the beach, by the pool or exploring . The bar and restaurant are the perfect place to enjoy our favorite cocktail and try a few new ones. Teresa is a knowledgeable and talented mixologist amongst our favorite were the frozen Margarita and the local Painkillers.

We ate at the restaurant each evening and the food is superb. The waiting staff are both courteous and knowledgeable. When making selections there was no difficulty as I am coeliac and there were plenty of choices all of which were delicious.

In all other areas of the hotel the staff are friendly, helpful and there is a happy vibe. Dennis and Mary the owners are at the helm of a great hotel and a great team. If you are lucky enough to have found this place then don't hesitate to book and go

I overheard two couples on the beach discussing how they have decided upon the Sugar Mill as oppose to the hotel resort on Peter Island and price was the deciding factor. By comparison, The Sugar Mill offers great value and having visited Peter Island the service and facilities are far more intimate and personable without any compromise on luxury.

Their parting words were " even if it had been more expensive knowing what we know now it wouldn't have been an issue" we love it here ...... it's paradise !

Thanks for another great holiday Sugar Mill x


Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank Ponty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Having had such a great family holiday last year we had to visit The Sugar Mill Hotel again. The owners are continuing with their program of improvements. This year we stayed in the villa which is a lovely room with a huge free-standing bath tub and a great balcony with sea views.

All the great things we loved last year are just as good. Fabulous food from Bernard's kitchen with a few new menu additions and great cocktails from Theresa.

We enjoyed lovely lunches at the beach bar, relaxing in the apples, snorkelling and kayaking.

If you are looking for a fantastic relaxed location with great food, then look no further you've found it!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Tucked away looking back at Carrot Bay sits the historic Sugar Mill Hotel and Restaurant. From the moment you enter you know you are in for a treat. The surrounds are elegant yet casual and beachy! The vintage tunes playing through the air add to the romance and nostalgia of this place.

We immediately made our way to bar-lounge and were greeted by a gracious Lady who took our names and asked if we needed a drink. They make great dirty martinis-so dirty you would not want you mother to see you drinking it- as I overheard one patron describe it!! The food was excellent. We had fresh grouper. One blackened the other grilled both were perfectly cooked and served with veggies. For dessert we had a scrumptious banana bread pudding. Everything was professionally served to us by the lovely Lucinda!

All in all a great experience. Although fancier than most it was not pretentious in anyway. We were glad that we wore collared shirts and loafers as opposed to our more casual garb.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RufinoFiveDaysIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We booked for 2 nights in May before a week of sailing. The room was exactly as in the photo, super clean, nice view from up high as we requested.It's not luxurious, but it's nice. The hotel taxi was there to pick us up as requested at the airport nreceived a very appreciated welcome upon arrival. There is a little beach in the front but we rented a car to visit other hard to get to beaches. You could walk form the hotel, but it's long for some, about one hour each way and hilly. The restaurant is beautiful with stone walls , food is very good, great wine list and the staff is very charming. I think this is in the top 2 to stay at for sure and would recommend without hesitation because it's on the other side of busy Tortola and delivered on all promises.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ARTskiEAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

My family has been coming to the Sugar Mill since the mid 80's. When I return I feel as though I am coming home to see long lost friends and family after having been away for far to long. In my opinion one of the main components that makes the Sugar Mill so special is the staff. Many of whom have been working at the hotel for 20+ years. They really make you feel special and like you are part of the family. I appreciate that Dennis and Mary (new owners) are so hands on and seem to genuinely want to improve the customer experience at the Sugar Mill. We stayed in a pool suite and found it nicely updated from our previous stay in 2015. All the furniture around the pool and beach has also been replaced with comfortable new seating options including shaded cabana style pods, perhaps more appropriately described as 'apples'. We like to make a trip to Sopers Hole West End (8 minutes) or Road Town (30 minutes) and buy snacks and beverages upon arrival to stock the room and cooler for beach trips/excursions in the days ahead. The owners have designed some great packages that really take the guess work out of your stay and stock the room for you and take you on island and off island excursions, great idea! Sugar Mill is by far the best place to stay & dine on Tortola and makes the perfect base for all your BVI adventures.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views. I prefer the pool suites when there is no one booked next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TNStreamSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
14.7 km away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
2.6 km away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
0.6 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
6.7 km away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
132 reviews
15.1 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: $317 - $865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and West Indies so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing