We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of The Tamarind Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tamarind Club
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

My Husband and I are staying here for just one night - what a lovely gem! Cat and the owners are wonderful and made us feel instantly at home with our welcome rum punch. We ordered dinner while playing backgammon and had delicious meal. Comfort food with an island flair. Old school...with friendly tropical sincerity. Great listeners!
Rooms are clean and neat - not 5 star but if you are looking for a fun, kinda quirky, really welcoming place this is it!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Catriona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 8 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Beautiful tropical setting. Lovely atmosphere.
Totally relaxing.
Staff was superb! Very friendly and accommodating.
Our meals were EXCELLENT! Of the 24 of us there all talked about the excellent food and choices.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

after 3 weeks of sailing with family we had one more day to spend on Tortola before heading back to the States. We had a reservation for a hotel but stopped at the Tamarind Club on the way to have brunch on a recommendation from Conch Charters. What a wonderful time and such a treasure to find off the beaten path. We booked the honeymoon suite, enjoyed an afternoon at the swim up bar and had a great night sleep. The only disappointment was that we only had one day day there. The service, the food and the people made it an outstanding last day.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debrals2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

While not fancy, my room was neat & clean. The shower was hot (although the water pressure is low), the AC cold & the bed comfortable. The restaurant & bar was excellent. The diverse menu was excellent & there was no reason to go else where. You could get anything from a hotdog to ribeye steak at a reasonable price The owners were on location daily which lead to excellent management. They could not do enough for you. The location is close to Sail Caribbean Divers & they arranged a taxi for the week. Numerous locals come to eat & drink here.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackg0lfski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

My wife and I just left the Tamarind Club after staying one night before a sailing charter and 2 nights after the charter was finished. There are some very wonderful things about the tamarind club and some things many would find lacking. Generally the place is a bit tired and needs sprucing up. The atmosphere is fantastic. Large open area with a fun bar next to a great pool. The owners are very friendly and it is definitely a local spot and a spot where boaters stay before and after a charter. The food is excellent with a good selection of fish and Caribbean food as well as British favorites. Friday is trivia night and the place is packed. Sunday is the buffet which is outstanding and you need reservations. If you enjoy a fun friendly place that is a bit funky and no concierge then this is a really fun spot.

Room Tip: Ask for room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank prosell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Our friends stayed here in the past, and so when our group decided to sail the BVI’s this year, we all booked a room eight months in advance to stay at the Tamarind Club, with different arrival times. When we pulled up to the hotel, the taxi driver said that he didn’t like the place, and we should have taken that as our first clue this would not be as enjoyable of an experience as we had wanted.

Let’s start with the really positive points on staying here:
• We had the pleasure of meeting Kat, the owner’s daughter, who seemed to be running the show for the most time that we were here. She was a lot of fun, and made our stay enjoyable. She was the check-in clerk, bartender/waitress and the hostess for trivia night. What a great asset!
• The food is really good. There is a lot of variety on the menu, and everything we had was delicious.
• The outdoor area was nice as well, with a small pool and restaurant/bar area. It felt like you could be in someone’s living room just hanging out.
• The drink prices are very reasonable compared to any hotel in the Caribbean.
• Josiah’s Bay is just a short walk away, and is a gorgeous beach. Really nice waves, and it is a nice place to just hang out.
• The restaurant employees were very friendly, and took great care of our group.
• The dogs they have on site are a lot of fun, and we really enjoyed the interactions.
• Trivia Night on Friday night was a lot of fun. The restaurant felt alive with all the energy from the crowd. And after trivia was done, they had a fire show by the pool which was very cool. A really fun evening, so remember to make reservations early.

Unfortunately, the negatives outweighs the positives:
• The rooms are just plain awful, and are in need of an immediate overhaul. Our mattress was horrible, and the bathroom was the size of a small closet (and really not sufficient for a two bedroom hotel room). And the person in the second bedroom had to enter the master bedroom to use the bathroom which was not so bad during the day, but not convenient at night (we had not planned to share rooms). It felt like we were in a motel that hadn’t been updated since the 1950’s.
• Expedia had oversold the rooms, and while we appreciate that this was caused by Expedia, we felt the owner could have been apologetic in her approach when discussing it with the patrons who were effected. We were with a group, and had to share rooms to make it work, and the owner Cindy was just like “this is the way it is”. We saw this similar approach with other patrons during our stay. Please understand that empathy goes a long way, especially when the customer was not at fault.
• The owner’s husband, Eric, was surly at best. If you don’t like working with the customers, you just shouldn’t.
• Be prepared for an uncomfortable shower experience. The water spits out for a bit, and then a little warm water comes out.
• There are no locks on the doors to the rooms, and no safe in the rooms. If you are not going to put a lock on the door, then you should have safe in the room to keep items safe.

This place has a lot of potential, and so I hope they can make some much needed upgrades to both their rooms and their customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Gordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed at Tamarind Club for two nights at the beginning of March. We checked in at about 5 with Chris at the bar and after unpacking returned to the bar for our complimentary drink. We chose a Painkiller and it was delicious. We hung out at the bar for a couple of hours chatting with Chris and learning more about the island and places to see. He was very friendly and informative. We had dinner there both nights and the food was very good. The complimentary continental breakfasts weren’t fancy but were sufficient to get us to lunch. After exploring the island the next day, we returned to laze around in the pool. On our second night, there was good entertainment with live music and dancing. The next day we went to Josiah's beach and had a lovely time on the beach and a tasty lunch at "Gramma's". The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and quiet, although not new. Water pressure was poor but we understand that can be an issue on the island because it is reliant on rain water. Overall, the Tamarind Club was a good introduction to Tortola and we will remember it fondly.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank catpat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
4.5 km away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
136 reviews
3.9 km away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
11.6 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40 km away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
195 reviews
11.6 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
13.3 km away
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamarind Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Club

Address: Josiah's Bay | East End, VG1120, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Price Range: $117 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tamarind Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillside Hotel with views over Josiah's Bay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Tamarind Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tamarind Club Hotel Tortola
Tamarind Hotel Tortola
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing