We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great location, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, great location, great staff”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the Fort Recovery "mansion" (as we called it) for a yoga retreat in April of 2012. Roughly 20 women stayed in this beautiful ocean-front house for 4 nights. The location was spectacular, right on the water. The house was a bit echo-ey due to the tile floors, but it's not so bad to get up a little early and enjoy a cup of coffee out on the dock. Every room had a really nice private bathroom and air conditioner.

We fell in love with Ivette, one of the women who worked there. She gave the BEST massage I've ever had, made the most delicious home-made bread I'd ever tasted, brewed a mean pot-o-coffee and was, just generally, incredibly sweet and accommodating. She even joined us for a meditation class! We did find the front desk staff to be a bit challenging to deal with at times. One of the gentlemen continued to give us incorrect information any time we asked him a question and the vibe among the administrative staff was generally a little bit awkward any time we went into the office to ask a question - but who wants to spend time in the office when you're in Tortola anyway!?

The restaurant at the hotel was quiet during the week and you do need to place your food order by a certain hour so they know what to buy - they leave paper out front and it was really easy to do. The continental breakfast is really just bread and coffee (but the bread is super delicious). If you want a regular breakfast you can order it through the restaurant but it's not included.

The pool is small but really cute and the hotel is located just a quick walk away from a little mini-market which we walked to for snacks, lunch and beverages on several occasions. Beach towels were a decent size and cleaning staff did a great job every day.

One thing we will say about the trip as a whole is that it may make sense to rent a car. It's roughly $70 a day and the cabs all over the Virgin Islands charge by passenger AND by bag. So for a quick 5 minute ride they can get everyone for $10 a piece - and you can see how this would add up if you wanted to tour the island and hit up a few spots.

We did have friends stay in the beach-front villas the night before we got there and were able to peak into their rooms. They included a cute little kitchenette, living room area and were just as nice as the suites in the main house in which we stayed.

The SPA gave us an amazing massage and everyone who had a service there was totally thrilled.

Room Tip: I didn't see a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowbored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    105
    33
    35
    16
See reviews for
92
213
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I had the pleasure of returning to Fort Recovery beachfront Villa & Suites for a family retreat over the Passover/ Good Friday weekend. We arrived late Thursday night and were greeted with friendly faces. Our room was beautiful too. Our room opened to the most glorious view of the beach. The hotel staff arranged to accommodate our large family both Friday & Saturday nights in a common room to hold our family Seders. They made sure we had everything we needed and didn't forget anything. The food they prepared for us was delicious. During the day I had a massage in the spa which was so relaxing and peaceful. Everyone who works on staff here was friendly & accommodating. The hotel was clean, quiet & serene & made you feel like you were at home. The houskeeping staff was very good. They offer free wi-fi & a large tv in a common room. Overall, we feel we choose the right place to house our large family and accommodate our needs. I will gladly recommend Fort Recovery to my friends. I hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach are glorious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djgmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband and I have been staying at Fort Recovery Villas on Tortola for about 15 years. This year we were lucky enough to stay there twice. We spent the month of February at Fort Recovery and then returned in April with our daughter, her husband and our 2 granddaughters. Suffice it to say...this is our "home away from home." We have stayed in several of their units and love them all. The staff is very accommodating. We love that it is right on the water. We love that it is quiet and tucked away. We love that the units have a full kitchen so that we can eat meals at home and don't have to go out all the time. And we just plain love it! I would recommend a car rental. Although the location is very convenient to many of the beaches and restaurants, they are not within walking distance. This is for sure a little bit of paradise.

P.S. My husband just reminded me we have stayed at Fort Recovery 39 nights this year. He would never do that if he didn't really like it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We keep saying lets do back to Fort Recovery for our winter get a way. It is so peaceful, quiet. A perfect spot to get away from the hustle and bustle of those big resorts. We stay three weeks, rent a car and explore our favorite spots on Tortola. We take advantage of the full kitchen about half of the time.

Room Tip: We like the penthouse suites in the older section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Friendly, helpful staff. Because of its small size, everyone there gets to feel like family. Enjoyed the small, homey like suites. The place is somewhat remote, very quiet and peaceful, without a
lot of amenities that many travelers might be used to. Exercise equipment (the few their was) was
old, rusty and poorly maintenanced. Beach is small and nothing to brag about. On-site restaurant had good (not great) food but service was usually very slow which in fairness seemed to be typical on Tortola. Although this wasn't a "great" place, I didn't see anything else on the island
that looked great either. If you want peace, quiet and to get away from it all (amenities included), you'll be very happy here. If you want things to see and do and keep busy, don't come to Tortola.

Room Tip: We were on ground level, facing the water. The room was conveniently located and very quiet. We enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I attended a 4-day yoga retreat held in the retreat house at Fort Recovery. There were 19 of us, but since the house was so spacious, you would never have known that there were that many people staying there. This was an ideal spot for a family reunion or retreat. The house has been nicely updated with A/C units in each room. Many of the rooms faced the sea; my room was in the back of the house overlooking the pool, but I still fell asleep to the sound of the waves lapping on the shore every night! The housekeeping staff kept the place spotless, not an easy task since it sits right on a sandy beach. The rooms and baths were spacious and well appointed with plenty of towels. No TV's or phones in the rooms. There is, however, free WiFi and a large TV in the common room downstairs. (I don't know what the individual villas were like since we stayed in the retreat house). The closest market was a short walk away, but it didn't have a great selection. But we know where the larger market is for the next time. FR isn't in a bustling area, so cabs were needed to get to restaurants, shopping or nightlife. But, if you're looking for hustle and bustle, this probably isn't the place for you. I have to give special thanks to Yvette who worked in the kitchen and also in the spa - she gave me one of the best massages I've ever had!!! The meals were ok - I liked the vegetable roti, but going out to local restaurants was easy enough to do. I would recommend this spot to anyone looking to plan a group getaway. Tricia Glynn (www.triciaglynnyoga.com) organized our retreat and she did a fabulous job. Check out her website if you're looking for a special adventure, or are an instructor looking to plan a similar group trip.

Room Tip: The retreat house was a great location for a group getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laceys_MoM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
347 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

old rooms,but clean and make you feel at home, helpfull staff, but the place has minimum to offer. looking at the beach, but there is not much of a BEACH to use. its good size suite, but the layout dont offer privacy, means you open the main door to walk in the bed room where the bath room is located divided by a louvers(closet door). then it is open to the living room/kitchen with little belcony looking at the ocean.
No elevator to the second floor, Breakfast is coffey and toast, Gym is OK in a very small room. over all ,I think it's little over priced$$$. personaly wouldn't stay there unless I have to.
C U Around.

Room Tip: No Elevator if you on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortRecovery, Owner at Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for saying how clean the rooms are. It is really nice to hear how cleanliness "pays off" with hotel owners. The villa suite that you stayed in is twelve years old, but was renovated last year, and is very roomy. I was surprised that you mentioned a closet separating the bathroom from the bedroom. I assure you I do not have any villas with that sort of design. I do agree however, that perhaps with four persons in the villa suite that was meant for two, is slightly crowded, however that was the option chosen by you. In spite of the fact that we do not have elevators to the upper penthouse villa suites, I'm sure it would be very difficult to find elevators on Tortola, BVI. I do understand your need for an elevator, however at the time of building since it only one flight of stairs, we did not think of that. Regarding our beach, you are correct in saying it is small; about 300 feet in length, however it is very swimmable and on the Caribbean side of the island, which when the sea is calm, which is the majority of the time, is great for snorkeling. One thing we are very proud of is our Historic Landmark "Fort Recovery" built by the Dutch in the early 17th century, where the famous pirate Jean Lafitte landed; who knows the next time your come to Fort Recovery you may find a piece of treasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
1.5 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.9 km away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.8 km away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
18.4 km away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
36.1 km away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel

Property: Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Address: Towers | West End, Road Town VG1110, Tortola
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Road Town
#1 Spa Hotel in Road Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel is a small, unique hotel located on Tortola, British Virgin Islands and is family owned & operated since 1969. Chosen by Discovery's Travel Channel, Fort Recovery was the only Hotel Selected on Tortola for their exclusive Caribbean showcase. They were also chosen as the Captain's Guide Magazine's "Best Resort," by the Reader's of the Captain's Guide Magazine. All suites are directly on the beach with Cable TV, A/C, free WI-FI, housekeeping, private balcony/patio/deck, living room, kitchen, master bedroom, full bathroom and more. Views are unmatched and completely unobstructed, right on the calm, Caribbean side of Tortola. On site is a full service Spa with professionally trained staff. There is an in-house, private restaurant also serving breakfast and dinner daily. 24/7 on-site management and knowledgeable front desk staff are always there at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa And Suites Hotel
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa Hotel Road Town
Fort Recovery Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Fort Recovery Beachfront
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel Tortola/Road Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing