We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West End
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turtle Dove Cottages
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Staying at the turtle dove house was an awesome experience. Rebecca was very kind to meet us when we arrived and take us to the house. The house was very well-kept with spectacular views, an amazing deck to have meals on, and a hot tub overlooking the island. It was a perfect base camp in order to explore the BVI's as well as pristine beaches across Tortola. Waking up to the views from Turtle Dove is an experience I will never forget! Thanks Rebecca for being a great hostess and letting us stay in your beautiful home!

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Tinamaria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2016

As we arrived in Tortola, Rebecca met us at the rental car agency to guide us back to the house. Right from the get go Rebecca and Cookie (sweetest pup ever!) made us feel relaxed and incredibly welcome. We stayed at the Guavaberry Cottage and it was perfect for my husband and me. It was a perfect little cottage with one bedroom (which the bedroom had AC for the not so breezy hot days). The kitchen was fully equipped and we enjoyed cooking meals at home as well as venturing out to the amazing restaurants around the island. The views were incredible and we spent most of our time (at least while we were at the house) sitting on the front porch enjoying our morning coffee and every meal we ate. Even though there was not a single problem with the house, Rebecca made us feel very comfortable about asking her for any help if needed as she lives right up the hill from the house. She was very helpful if we needed directions to anywhere, and let us know where every thing was on the island. We enjoyed our stay so much we did not want to leave and we will definitely return..hopefully sooner than later. We are even considering an extended stay! We highly recommend staying at any of the Turtle Dove cottages....AMAZING!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cassagore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

From moment we arrive each year in Tortola BVI, Rebecca’s gracious welcoming and always ready hospitality was evident from the start. Whenever we had a question or sought her advice, it was immediately forthcoming with a special perspective of local knowledge that we so much appreciated. The extremely well maintained Guavaberry Cottage itself met or exceeded our expectations with regard to comfort, spaciousness, cleanliness and the simplicity of island living that we sought. Access to nearby beaches, ports, stores and restaurants was within a few minutes' drive; and thus a rental car is highly recommended, especially to traverse the steep terrain. The setting, views, steady breeze and soothing murmur of the waves below were sublime. WIFI was a bit intermittent that was actually a relief. As a further endorsement, we have booked and already look forward to our return stay of a full month for next year -- our third stay three years in a row.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

A beautiful home with an amazing view. This is a 3 bedroom 3 bath home. The third bedroom down below is separate from the main house but still attached to the house. The owner Rebecca was helpful and extremely easy to work with. The view from this home is absolutely stunning. The driveway is steep but manageable. Once you drive it one time it becomes easier to get up the hill. Cookie the dog is very friendly and gives you the feeling of being at home. I saw no other animals or creatures except for geko's which I enjoy seeing when I'm in the islands. We cooked in every night and had everything we needed. The outdoor patio dinner table was Wonderful and we played cards every night. The washer and dryer down below was a nice extra. I loved this house and I hope I am lucky enough to come back here.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We stayed at Guavaberry Turtle Dove Cottage with our 1 year old daughter and can't say enough about how easy, comfortable and special Rebecca made our trip. The house/porch were perfectly appointed for our needs, we never had to worry about our baby's safety and the location was absolutely perfect for hitting the beach, shops, restaurants and scenic drives. Rebecca is the best Airbnb host we have encountered and took extra time to accommodate our needs and provide relevant and much-appreciated suggestions for the best way to spend our time. We were so appreciative of Rebecca going out of her way to provide a travel-crib and high chair...we can't imagine how we would have gotten by without them! Tortola is such a beautiful island and it is so very easily enjoyed with a stay at Guavaberry Turtle Dove Cottage.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehayes1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

Spent a week in paradise at the Guavaberry Cottage! Rebecca was readily available and answered all our questions from planning our trip to questions once we arrived. The views were stunning and breath taking each day. Will definitely stay here next time!!! Awesome experience!

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We stayed for a week at Guavaberry and absolutely fell in love with it. The cottage is very comfortable, and has a nice small fully stocked kitchen. Rebecca, the owner, is charming, attentive, and made us feel right at home - especially with the accompany of Cookie - Rebecca's dog.What a wonderful place to enjoy the most beautiful and breathtaking view of Apple Bay. We dragged our feet to leave. We'll definitely be back!!!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Turtle Dove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Dove Cottages

Address: Long Bay Road, Tortola (Formerly North Shore Cottages)
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > West End
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $206 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Dove Cottages are a group of charming cottages and villas nestled up on the hillside overlooking 2 of Tortola's most famous beaches. Relax on the decks and enjoy stunning panoramic views out to the islands of Jost Van Dyke, Sandy Spit and down to St Thomas. You are only a 10 minute walk from both the excellent surf break at Apple Bay and the quiet beauty of Long Bay. Turtle Dove House: The 3 bedroom villa is incredibly situated, nestling on the ridge between Long Bay and Apple Bay, affording a 180 degree view including both beaches. The main level of the villa has the open plan, fully equipped kitchen and lounge area furnished with solid wood furniture. Also on this level is the air conditioned master bedroom with 4-poster king bed and en suite and the second bedroom with a dedicated bathroom. A large dining deck with BBQ extends out providing an ample entertaining area while watching the breath-taking sunsets. On the lower level is the third bedroom suite and the lower deck. Here you can dine al-fresco, enjoy the hot-tub or relax in a sun lounger with a cocktail. The entire house with the exception of the decks is fully screened. Guavaberry Cottage: This charming one bedroom cottage has an unobscured view of Apple Bay and down the coastline of North Tortola. Open plan living area and fully equipped kitchen, one air conditioned bedroom with queen bed and a bathroom with shower. Large deck with covered and uncovered areas to sit and enjoy the view or cook on the BBQ. Wireless internet to keep in touch if absolutely needed! The cottage is fully screened. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turtle Dove Cottages Tortola/West End

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing