We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meals and good portions”

Sugarcane Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 39 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 21, 2017

Had dinner here one night, and picked up some takeout meals another night during our week since it was near our rental villa. As expected, it was expensive compared to the same meals in the US, but I would still recommend. Service is rather slow, but we found this to be true across the island and just adjusted to island speed. We had plenty of time to enjoy the stars and tree frogs chirping! Our group enjoyed the appetizers of cracked conch, chicken skewers, and tuna sashimi. For entrees we had the prosciutto stuffed chicken breast, the roasted asparagus penne, and the BBQ pork loin and others, but the fresh grilled Anegada lobster was the best! We found the portions to be larger and more satisfying than many of the other island restaurants in this price range.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CleveGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 114 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2017 via mobile

Nice atmosphere with tables outside as well as under the roof. Chef was accommodating as we arrived early and he started cooking for us right away. All 4 of us loved our meals. We had crab cakes, seafood pasta, lamb and stuffed chicken breast. Presentation was elegant and everything was served at perfect temperature. We shared the homemade sticky toffee pudding for dessert - fantastic. We almost licked the plate! Our server was very pleasant and definitely helped make it a highlight of our week on Virgin Gorda.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank dejuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2017

Such a lovely atmosphere anytime of the day, but I'm usually a night person so it was really great to be up here for dinner. They specialize all different kinds of food but for me I just cannot help getting some of my favourite dishes, such as conch fritters and porkchops!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Letty_LeBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2017

We stopped here for a quick lunch. My burger was okay. My husband's Mahi Mahi burger was so spicy, he couldn't eat it.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trefor G, Manager at Sugarcane Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Dear guest, this is the very first time we are hearing of this issue, and a complaint on any of our burgers as a whole. We pride ourselves in making our own homemade patties for all our burgers; seasoned with fresh herbs and spices; to the rave of all who've had them.

I'm truly sorry you did not enjoy, but had the server been made aware that you were dissatisfied or unable to eat, the chef would have been more than delighted to prepare you something else. We can only address what we are aware of, and would have loved the opportunity to have done this.

Thanks for the feedback, and the chef was made aware of this complaint, and we trust you will visit again and it would be an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2017

Located in a quiet little community at Nail Bay, Sugarcane is apparently under relatively new ownership. It’s outside and some tables have water views that could be good at sunset. The menu is ambitious for lunch and with only one cook, the kitchen is slow. A chicken wrap was average. Our friend’s jerk chicken was better. The food is cost effective, but as typical in the Islands, the wine is overpriced. If you’re on Virgin Gorda for a week or more you might want to check it out.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joeyeatsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugarcane Restaurant also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sugarcane Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing