We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wales trip”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Renovated miner's cottage with lovely open views over stream and countryside Cosy living area with wood floors, beams, stone inglenook and woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Renovated miner's cottage with lovely open views over stream and countryside
Cosy living area with wood floors, beams, stone inglenook and woodburner
All mod cons in the stylish, well equipped kitchen area
Cosy and sociable space
Exposed stone wall in main bedroom
Full size bunks and still space to play in second bedroom
Light, airy upstairs bathroom with shower
Stream in front of cottage
Stream in front of cottage
Hire a bike and cycle up the Mawwdach Estuary
Zip wire fun nearby
Underground adrenaline nearby
Zip World - New zip wire adrenalin rush nearby
Bounce Below - Amazing new underground trampolining experience nearby
View from up behind the cottages
Tranquil Cwmorthin Lake high above cottage
Tanygrisiau Lake
Ffestiniog railway - alongside Tanygrisiau Lake, a 2 minute walk from cottage
Quiet riverside coffee in front of cottage
Streams and scenes walking straight from the door
Friendly locals down the road
Uncrowded beaches
Meet some of the locals
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tanygrisiau, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
leanneaus...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wales trip”
Reviewed April 24, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed at this cottage and booked the week before Julia was really quick in reply to my questions I had and was very helpful. We booked the meolywn cottage mainly because how close it is to zip word (only about 2 minutes away!) it had everything we needed and was set in a beautiful location. Only around 20 minutes from snowdon also if you fancy a challenge. Julia provides an information pack with tips and ideas of things you can go do on your stay as well as local information - very handy. Some pics of our trips aswell at the cottage from the front.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2018
Thank you Leanne for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay in Moelwyn Cottage and found it convenient for the places you wanted to visit. We feel it provides a good base for exploring Snowdonia whilst remaining within easy reach of the lovely coastline also. Hope to have you visit again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage for exploring snowdonia”
Reviewed February 25, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

•Fabulous location tucked into the heart of snowdonia
•Really well kitted out with everything you need to cook with in the kitchen
•Wood burner is a great touch
•Would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2018
Thank you Jack for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and found it to your liking. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes, Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo M
North West England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy & Tranquil Great Location”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Moelwyn Cottage. It was very clean, tidy & cosy. We loved our cosy nights in by the log burner. It was a great location for exploring Snowdonia and beyond. We had a great time. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2018
Thank you Jo for your review for Moelwyn Cottage. So glad you enjoyed your stay and exploring all that the area has to offer, there is so much to see in this beautiful area. Hope to welcome you back again soon
Best wishes Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamLucas...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we've stayed in this Tanygrisiau rental and both times the cottage has accommodated us and our two young children brilliantly. Loads to see and do in the area and a great cottage to come home to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Very pleased that you decided to return to the cottage, and glad that you enjoyed it as much as the first time. Best wishes Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresafit...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Moelwyn Cottage was the perfect place for our family of three. Gorgeous decor, all equipment you need for a week. Spotlessly clean. Fabulous location for exploring Snowdonia. We'd definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind words, very glad you enjoyed staying in Moelwyn Cottage again. Best wishes Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Very glad you enjoyed your stay in Moelwyn Cottage. The quiet location that is still close to lots of Snowdonia highlights words well for our guests.
Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Simon P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base for exploring north Wales.”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful base for our family holiday to North Wales. The cottage is beautifully kept and was like a home from home. Julia provided us with all the information we needed prior to our trip so we could relax and enjoy the sights and beautiful scenery of the area. So much to do we couldn't fit it all in and would definitely return but also recommend Moelyn cottage to anyone thinking of a trip to the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind words, glad you enjoyed your time in the cottage. I hope to welcome you back to finish your exploring of this beautiful area.
Best wishes Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing