We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food!”
Review of Blue Cilantro

Blue Cilantro
Ranked #21 of 343 Restaurants in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed September 26, 2018

We ended up at Blue Cilantro as the restaurant we originally picked was closed for the season. We knew Blue Cilantro had great reviews and was in a convenient location, so it was easy. Turned out to be a great decision! Our food was delicious. We almost went back a second night, at the very least for appetizers, but ran out of time.

It was not a typical 'beach vacation' restaurant. When we walked in there were several tables seated that were clearly business dinners, but after awhile there was a better mix of what was clearly business people and more vacationers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank STL-moe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 671 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2018

This restaurant is on a corner, on the way to Camana Bay. The deep blue used in the restaurant gives you a feeling of an upscale, stylish club. The charger plates are glass with blue streaks running through them. They have an eclectic mix of wines. We had Domaine Ott Rose, which was excellent but pricey. For an appetizer, we shared the Pork Two Ways. The pulled baby back ribs portion was very tasty. The salmon and tuna dishes were also very good. I had raviolisand, which was tasty, but not remarkable. The slated caramel milk bar dessert was designed after the milky war bar and was good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank terryfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

My wife and I were in Grand Cayman for our 10 year wedding anniversary and had MANY choices for an upscale restaurant to celebrate our special evening. We chose Blue Cilantro because our first choice was closed for the off season. We stayed at the Kimpton Seafire resort, and the concierge Carol called Blue Cilantro to make the reservation for us. She told them that it was our 10 year anniversary and asked for them to make it special for us. Later that day, the attendant at the front desk of the Seafire asked us what we were doing for our anniversary dinner. When we told her that we were going to Blue Cilantro, she said that she was friends with the owner and that she would text him to make sure that it was a special dinner for us. Well....we went to the Blue Cilantro with the expectation of a great dinner. In that respect, we were not disappointed. The meal was very good. The service was good, as would be expected at any expensive restaurant. However, there was no mention by anyone at the restaurant of our anniversary. Nobody even said "happy anniversary" to us. There was nothing special about our time there. It was a regular, high-priced dinner. Now, to be fair, the atmosphere was nice and the food was good, but the lack of attention to a very important detail left us disappointed. When we return to Grand Cayman, we will not go to the same restaurant as there are so many choices on the Island.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueCilantro, Manager at Blue Cilantro, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear Mr Greg

we are extremely sorry about this , we do understand that it was very special day for you ,please allow us to take care of you at your next visit

we will share this with our team so we all are aware of this

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

In Cayman for 3 weeks for work. Wanted to go to a nice restaurant but not too formal for dinner. Blue Cilantro fit the bill. Excellent food and pleasant staff.

Thank LisaSharine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueCilantro, Owner at Blue Cilantro, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Dear Lisa

Thank you for the great feed back will share this with our team

see you soon

Culinary Regards

Chef Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Great concept, excellent food and staff. Would highly recommend to others. Atmosphere was very nice and menu options were perfect for everyone in our party.

Thank Ursula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueCilantro, Owner at Blue Cilantro, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Dear Harley

Thank you for the great feed back will share this with our Team

see you soon

Culinary Regards

Chef Shetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Cilantro also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
North Side, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Blue Cilantro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing