We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite on Seven Mile Beach”
Review of The Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Avalon
Trondheim, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our favorite on Seven Mile Beach”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We have been visiting Grand Cayman from Europe since the early 90's and have tried various locations on Seven Mile Beach but found nothing like The Avalon. We are coming back ... again ;-)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed in Unit 28 for a week in December 2011. With a unique touch the owners furnished the unit (esp. the living room) not with an island style but with an African Safari in mind, which I personally liked. Great layout and perfectly portioned rooms, modern, well equipped kitchen. The washer and dryer was very useful as well. Two balconies -one screened- with comfy furniture. The ocean steps away from the building was soo beautiful and perfect temperature I didn't even think about using the pool nor the jacuzzi. In case you want more than long walks on the beach, there's a gym for all you exercise needs. Each unit has a closed garage space. Customer service, housekeeping helpful and reliable. We had a few little problems like wifi and cable problems but Adrian from the office came and took care of everything promptly.
These I didn't complain about but I want to mention: we (4 of us) ran out of hot (or even warm) water to shower very fast. (On our last day we used the unit next to us and had no hot water either). I personally did not worry about that too much but I'm sure it could be an issue to others. Also I was sleeping in a bedroom with 2 twin beds and one of them just need a new mattress. First night I woke up every time I turned because of those noisy springs....(I used earplugs for the rest of our stay). But these really not major concerns to me, just observations. These won't prevent me from returning and highly recommending this unit and property.

(I'm also recommending in walking distance the following places: for lunch Sunshine Grill, lunch and drinks Tiki Beach, for dinner Casa Havana at The Westin, 7 Prime Cuts at the Ritz, and a little further down the beach, Luca. If you have a car, visit: Morgan's Harbour Restaurant and Pappagallo. Dive with Off the Wall Divers. Don't miss Rum Point and Sting Ray City).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTCS05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, IN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent 9 days at the Avalon, Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman over Christmas. What a wonderful experience. The condo was modern, spacious and the sunsets were amazing. The condos are so close to the beach. Adrian at the front office does a wonderful job making sure you have the best vacation. He is a gem. Wakelyn the general manager also does an excellent job. We had daily maid service and all the women were so nice and friendly. At first it did not look like there were enough chairs for the beach but that was never a problem. The beach was not crowded at the condos compared to the hotels. I would recommend the Avalon to anyone wanting to stay in a condo instead of a hotel. It was nice to be able to eat breakfast and lunch in and then go out for a nice meal at night. There is a grocery store within walking distance but they are limited to what they sell. Fosters is a very nice grocery store but you cannot walk there. Every place we ate the food was delicious. There are restaurants and bars within walking distance of the condos. For shopping where the cruise ships come in you will need to take a cab or drive. We did rent a car but driving on the opposite side of the road was challenging at times. Just take it slow. If you go to seven mile beach and want a condo don't look anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pebble Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We've been coming to Grand Cayman for many years and have stayed at The Avalon several times. I won't repeat the earlier good reviews other than to say it is as good as advertised. As a summary:

Pro's:

- Only 27 units so pool and beach are never really crowded. Easy access outside.

- Helpful staff, always accommodating on things like late checkouts.

- Large outside patios, either fully or half screened in.

- Good technology, TV's etc.

- Short walk to Westin, Ritz, Red Sail activities

Con's

A few places to eat nearby but you need a car for better restaurants.

-

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moregolftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We spent five days at The Avalon in November of 2010. We stayed in unit #19 with our two teenage daughters. We all loved the condo. It was beautifully decorated, modern, spacious. The staff does an excellent job of maintaining the place and keeping it clean. I would highly recommend The Avalon to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nbsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We just returned from Grand Cayman and stayed at Avalon on Seven Mile Beach.

The condo was unit #26 and was very clean and nice. The property managers were nice and helpful. It was a tad pricey, but it was just as advertised... a few notes in general about the location:

- if you do not see a wireless access point in the unit, ask the office. For a day I kept trying to connect to a different unit's and it never worked... I asked about it, they put one in our unit, and it worked great.
- the crowds from the cruise ships rarely made it up the beach that far
- the public beach is ~200 yards to the north, but the locals pretty much stayed there
- the beach was never busy even though everyone said it was the busy season... maybe ~10 people on that small stretch of beach at the most. A lot of time we had it all to ourselves
- they have busses that continuously travel the road along seven mile beach (West Bay?) (if you walk along the road they will honk to see if you want a ride). I believe it was 2 CI per passenger per trip.
- there are a few restaurants in walking distance, but everything is accessible with the busses
- one oddity we noticed in our short trip... I like to eat local places, but most locals just told us all the touristy spots. We did try a couple of places and we were the only caucasians the entire time. At all the other places, it was all caucasians. Not sure why or if we just did not find places where locals and tourists ate together... just seemed a little odd.
- there is a grocery store (Fosters Food Fair) as well as a bulk store (Cost U Less)
- there are almost no people bugging you trying to sell you things like most Caribbean resorts
- we found a great taxi driver, Ralston. He was nice and a had lived there his whole life and was a wealth of information: (345) 929-9825

If we can get reasonable flight prices... we would definitely go back.
Great time.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

This was our fifth trip to Grand Cayman and our third stay at the Avalon. The location of this complex is perfect, the beach is as beautiful as you will ever find, the water reminds you of an infinity pool, the island residents are friendly, the restaurant options are plentiful, the sunsets are unbelievable, and the water sports are outstanding. The accommodations are spacious, clean, comfortable, well kept and current (technology). The Avalon has become our family's favorite place to visit and we hope to return year after year.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimGre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.8 km away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
607 reviews
4.0 km away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
409 reviews
2.5 km away
Villas of the Galleon
Villas of the Galleon
#10 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Silver Sands
Silver Sands
#12 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
126 reviews
0.3 km away
Regal Beach Club
Regal Beach Club
#9 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
170 reviews
2.1 km away
Coral Stone Club
Coral Stone Club
#5 of 36 in Seven Mile Beach
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon

Property: The Avalon
Address: West Bay Rd., Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Avalon 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of the most luxurious Grand Cayman condo complexes on Seven Mile Beach. The Avalon Condominiums offers tranquility to all guests, with its spacious and private condos all facing the crystal clear water of one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Each of our elegant, oceanfront villas features 3 beds, 3 baths, gourmet kitchen, screened dining terrace, and stunning beach views. Amenities include a fitness center, swimming pool, tennis court, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Seven Mile Beach
The Avalon Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing