We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed at this time-share through a swap. First time on Grand Cayman. The unit was very nice: 2 bdrms, each with a full bath with soaps, shampoos, etc.; full kitchen, all major applns., etc; dining room with large table; flat scren tv in living room with sleeper sofa and 2 chairs; overall the unit was very nicely decorated and appeared to have undergone a total face-lift of just about everything; lovely screened in porch overlooking a very large pool with many lounge chairs and much shade; 2 large weber grills avail.; office staff extremely courteous and very helpful; office loans books, games, cards, dvd's etc.; beach umbrella provided for the asking; traveled with my wife, sister-in-law and my brother; we all had a thoroughly great time at 7 Mile and would definitely return. Also, we aaaall have traveled to most of the Caribbean, Mexico and South American beaches, and Grand Cayman has become one of all of our favorites. The people, the beaches, the food, the history, the culture, the attractions, the overall ambience, all were 2nd to none. Do go there!!!

Room Tip: With children, elderly, disabled-request ground floor.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frodo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

Our condo was a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit and was very nice inside. The outside is not anything to write home about but the inside is quite nice. We had a washer and dryer in our unit which was really nice to have. Several guests have commented on the beds being uncomfortable; I would not say they are horrible by any means but they certainly aren't the most comfortable beds ever.
Our refrigerator actually quit while we were there and the management staff was relatively helpful in getting it repaired. They did not exactly rush to get it done, but it did get done the same day we notified them of the issue. They brought us a huge bag of ice to help keep our perishable items cool while we were waiting on a repairman which was very nice.
The pool was very nice and was quiet most of the time.
The grills that are by the pool for guest use are very nice! It would be great if the guests would do the right thing and clean them the way they should, but that is certainly not the resorts fault.
The location of the resort was great, it was right across the street from Coconut Joe's which we thought was great; it was a decent walking distance from Georgetown. Mind you - its a LONG walk, but it is certainly do-able. What we did was walk one way and then take a bus the other way.
The beach was nice, pretty narrow, but clean and nice. They provide lounge chairs and umbrellas. The snorkeling near the resort was not that great while we were there, it was a bit rough and very rocky under the water. According to some braver people there were some things to see down near the Marriott but we did not venture out again after finding it a bit too rough.

Our one MAJOR gripe was that every morning during the week at about 5:00 in the morning the garbage truck would come to empty the dumpsters of this and other nearby resorts. It was VERY loud and VERY annoying. We were in the very back of the resort so I am sure that other units probably couldn't hear it but it was awful for us. Thankfully we are decently hard sleepers and would go back to sleep once he left. I dont' know if there is anything the resort could do about this but you might want to pack earplugs if you aren't a really hard sleeper.

The resort is working on getting the amenities that were ruined by the hurricane a few years ago up and going again but we didn't find anything that it was lacking really. Overall, We were very happy with our stay there.

Room Tip: I would imagine the rooms on the north side or to the center would avoid the noise from the alley th...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sriggsksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This was our fourth visit to the Cayman Island but our first stay at the 7 Mile Beach Resort. Prior, we stayed a couple times at the Marriott which is 2 building down the road and the Ramada Grand Cayman Resort on the other side of the island The 7 Mile Beach is not as beautiful as it use to be because a good portion has been washed away but we truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel even though it rained almost daily. The unit had appliances such as a washer and dryer and nicely decorated. The staff is friendly, polite, and responded to issues promptly. Thank you Vangie, Angel, and Garnet for all your assistance! Also, Angel does a great job with daily morning water aerobics!

We requested the ground floor after reading many reviews mentioning that there were no elevators, glad we did! The screen porch outside our unit was nice and relaxing. The pool was very nice and every unit had a pool view. With the great price and the nice unit right on 7 mile beach we definitely would return to this resort and would recommend it to friends and family but not in October!

P.S. During our visit, we checked out the Plantation Condos and were very glad we picked Seven Mile Beach Resort. The Plantation Condos were not updated and it was like a large Condo Complex with a plain pool.

Room Tip: Units 15, 16, or 17 first floor
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lintrvl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We traded our Marriott timeshare through Interval for the Seven Mile Beach Resort. The resort is relatively small - three, 3 - story buildings, no elevators. Upon arrival to check in we found the office is in one of the units on the second floor and there is no lobby. There is an extra charge government charge and utility charge ($70 & $75 US) that you have to pay at check in. There is no bell boy or anyone to help with the luggage so I chose a first floor unit.

The units appeared nice, stainless steel appliances and the stack washer dryer. The furnishings were fair and could be updated. There was free Wi-Fi and Dish TV although based on the weather conditions both were not reliable. We went through the inventory list to make sure we had everything we were supposed to have and made a list of the missing items and brought it to the office. This is important since they could charge you for items. We noted that a bedroom lamp didn't work and the range hood light was out. We were told that maintenance didn't work on the weekend and that we could get the bulbs on Monday. The lamp bulb was never replaced. The coffee cups are so tiny - they should have coffee mugs that hold 8 oz. They should also include plastic tumblers to take to the pool. The mattress was pretty hard.

Although the location of the resort is very good, the resort is not directly on the beach. It's confusing when you read about the resort. There is a building in front of it that is beachfront. They have an area on the beach reserved for the resort. All rooms face the pool.

The amenities leave something to be desired. They refer to a fitness center but it's not on the property - it's about 1/4 mile away and you have to pay for it. Hurricane Ivan damaged the resort in 1994 and the tennis courts have not been replaced and here is no bar or pool bar although I was told they still have a liquor license.

Upon reading their welcome book in the unit I noted that they want you to strip the beds before you leave. I have traveled quite a bit and stayed at a lot of timeshares and have never in my life heard of this. One other thing that is surprising is the office hours. They are open Sat. 9am-7pm, Sun. 9am - 3pm and Mon. - Fri. 9am-6pm. we met someone who arrived at 7:30pm on Sat. and I asked her how she checked in and she said they left the key to her unit in an envelope outside the office. We had an early flight and had to leave the resort at 6:30am. I inquired about check out and was told I needed to do that by 6pm the day before.

Unfortunately it rained and poured most of the time we were there and we were stuck in the unit way too much and there was not much else we could do. I would not return to this resort nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: There are no elevators and no bell boys to carry your luggage so choose the first floor if you can...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flbicycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Just returned from 7M Island Resort. Like many other reviews, I can attest, that from the outside, it strongly resembles a Howard Johnson's. IMO because of the aqua blue roof! However, the condo's are very nice inside. Clean and very comfortable excluding the bed. Not horrible but they need to be upgraded to a better quality and comfort level. Staff was very helpful when I requested a few things, such as taxi's or using a computer. We were missing the remotes for the TV's however they were brought to us within 5 minutes of requesting them. The only negative to the kitchen was that we had tiny sugar ants on the counters. We killed them daily but their relatives continued to show up for snacks.
The pool was very nice and never crowded...spent a lot of time in the pool since I couldn't snorkel off the beach. Beach was a block away. Resort is NOT on the beach w/no ocean view! However, nice pool view and nice screened in balcony to relax on. Other big plus was the washer/Dryer in the Unit. Sheets and towels were changed on Wednesday.
BTW...for those who want pool side drink service....there is none. However, there is a grill to use and you can bring your own drinks to the pool.

The beach was beautiful however not as wide as I had expected. Unfortunately, the water was very choppy and the visibility non existent for snorkeling . Big disappointment but hey...it's a chance one has to take when going in Oct. I had heard from a few owners this isn't the best time to visit GC.

You can walk into Georgetown for the shopping, it takes about 30 min if you casually stroll. I recommend stopping at the glass blowing place. Some awesome ornaments to buy as gifts or for yourself. Also went to Island Time and bought a beautiful watch there. Check when the cruise ships are coming in because most of the restaurants on the off season do not open till 11:30am. During the high season stay out of the Georgetown, when the ships are in. Way to many people to do any shopping.

I recommend Coconut Joe's across the street..however the biscuits and gravy aka Monkey Slop- is NOT what you get for breakfast down south in the US. It's more like a brown gravy and not very good. Other than that...most of the food was edible. Cimboca's was a great restaurant however, beware of the garlic if that isn't to your liking. We had an excellent dinner and I recommend the grilled shrimp risotto. My all time favorite was Blue at the Ritz Carlton! It really is worth the price and the service was impeccable. Matt was our waiter and he was just awesome! He really made this special for us. Including a tour of the kitchen to meet the chef's! It's very expensive but oh so worth it! (150 plus a person)

We also went to Eats for breakfast (30 min walk) and it was very tasty and well priced! Good biscuits and gravy!

I personally won't be going back to GC due to the beaches. I've been to St Thomas/John and IMO, their beaches surpass Grand Caymans. Furthermore I found it a bit to commercialized for my taste. 7 mile beach is lovely however, it's one resort and condo after another which IMO, takes away the beauty. However, to each their own.

*** For those like myself who don't read the confirmation letters from Interval International when trading, you may want to in the future. I found out upon check in that I had to pay 140 plus (USD) to cover the a/c and a few other expenses. Moral to the story...read the letter and the fine print!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EquineAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Hey this is no Ritz but a good place to stay.
The kitchen was nice… stainless steel appliances… big side by side refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and washer/dryer (Stacker unit) all the making of home… good supply of flatware, plates etc. Very small wine glasses, too many trip back to the bottle for more vino.
Bed rooms are OK… they have plenty storage for clothes… and good size for Cayman but the beds ugh… but my poor back… sore every morning… me, my wife and the other couple with us… this needs improvement ASAP… very good master bath… whirlpool tub!
Pool great 11 of the 14 days we stayed… the other 3 it looked like they forgot to turn on the filter… cloudy pool and spa… bummer!
They provide beach umbrellas… pick one up at the office right away… they did run out at one point I understand… beach chairs were good…
The beach… one of if not the best in the Caribbean… white sand, warm water, and soft waves… great sunsets and moon lite walks… it was only a 250 yards from our door to the sand!
The place has some wear and tear… pool umbrellas need replace now; the pool has some issues with water features at the pool (one is not working) and few tiles missing…
The grills are great! New Kitchen Aid gas grills! We used them 5 times while we were there… everyone shares them and only had to wait once about 15 minutes to use them.
Dive shop on site… our friend did two dives and loved it… another guest was not too happen… the regular guy was out and they sent some “kid” who was not too helpful…
Over all for the value I’d stay again and tell my friend to also.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pastorkenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed there last week of July. Great small resort with everything you need. The interiors are a little more impressive than the exterior - appliances all seem to be new or upgraded. Loved having the washer/dryer in the unit itself. Beds were a bit firm. Units are very quiet - we did not hear noises coming from other rooms which as nice. Very peaceful. We were two couples and the unit was spacious enough where we were not tripping over each other. We had unit 36, 3rd floor, west side/beach side. Master bedroom faces out to pool area, guest room faces beach (you can see the ocean betwee the two resorts which sit RIGHT on the beach. Short walking path to the beach - very convenient. Guys at the dive shop on site were great. We did seven dives with them. They were very accomodating and laid back - did whatever we needed whenever! A special thank you to James, Mac and Andy!. We did not rent a car - no need to. The buses stop for you wherever you are, no need to be standing at a designated bus stop. Had great weather - no hurricane threats! Great time of year to go - not crowded but not totally empty either. Coconut Joe's across stree was yummy - stay away from Gretchen, waitress from Cuba! Tim Buc Tuu was also great for local fare. Also recommend Yoshi Sushi. Deckers has all u can eat lobster on Tuesday night $50 Cayman. A lttle pricey but good food. Went to The Attic to shoot pool. Went to Georgetown for a couple of hours - nice shops, good place for souvenirs but prefer to spend time at beach! Snorkeling right off the beach was amazing. Lots to see and the water is clear.
Overall great week and would return.

Room Tip: no elevators but we did like being up top 3rd floor. Avoid street side rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonkeyWomanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,340 reviews
2.5 km away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,773 reviews
3.9 km away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
611 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,258 reviews
2.5 km away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club

Address: 19 D Piper Way West Bay Rd, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1200, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $218 - $824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your 7 Mile Beach Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Mile Beach Resort And Club Hotel Seven Mile Beach
7 Mile Beach Hotel
7 Mile Beach Cayman
Seven Mile Beach Resort
7 Mile Beach Resort And Club Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing