We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
559
127
18
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
559
127
18
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive shop valet diving beach resort bloody bay wall dive staff top notch buffet style trivia night grouper each meal the wait staff night dive dive gear great dive sites per day boat captain nurse sharks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 709 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2018

This place is all about the diving, and the dive op is very well set up. The area where you check your Nitrox tanks is beautifully arranged, with 4 stations. You can rinse and hang up your wetsuit in a nicely arranged shed at the end of the pier. Our boat had about 13 divers and 2 DMs, and there was plenty of room. The pre-dive briefing with hand drawn maps was very helpful, the best dive orientation I have ever seen. You can follow the DM for the first 30 minutes, or take off on your own with your buddy. I was a bit concerned at first about the DM getting out of the water before the end of the dive, but it turned out to be fine. The DM takes you back to the boat after the guided tour, and then you have about 20 minutes to explore the area right around the boat with your buddy. The boat was always in about 30 feet or less of water, so you could see well. There are other divers around, so you're not completely alone. There is a long chain hanging off the boat you can hold onto during your safety stop, if you want to. There was also respirator on the chain, if you were to need it. There is a banner on the chain with the name of the boat, so you won't get on the wrong one. The DMs were top notch - most seemed to hail from the UK.

The room was clean and comfortable, if not luxurious. The food was decent - there was always a crisp salad, and a number of entree choices. The roasted chicken was phenomenal - the roast beef not so much. The dining room was loud and sort of ordinary, but they're building a new one that should be done next spring. The bartenders were very good (shout out to Tamara!).

At least during our visit, the road going by the resort had a number of very large trucks carrying rocks from the quarry down the road. I noticed none of them were out on the Sunday when we left, so that might be a good day to explore the island by bike. Or just be careful until you get past the quarry.

PS If you want to check out the wind conditions - since wind can make the boat trip choppy, use windfinder.com. They have a station right on Little Cayman.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank divefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Little Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2018

We thank you for your visit and for taking time to post a review, divefan. We're pleased you had a good time and want you to know that our new dining room will reopen in February. Because dining isn't an ideal experience right now, we have been providing complimentary wine with dinner that hopefully you enjoyed.

We hope we see you again here or at one of our other resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2018

Amazing place for divers & snorkelers, with outstanding staff. Comfortable, relaxing and unpretentious. We went with a group and very much enjoyed our stay. Husband went diving all week with Reef Divers, who are some of the best he's encountered--Capt. Jon & Josh! Dive briefings were outstanding. We had a shower leak in the room that was addressed immediately by the Resort Manager Mick and the maintenance staff. The food was very good (all meals served buffet style). It can get quite loud in the dinning room, so we would head over to the bar to linger & relax rather than stay in the dinning room.

I would definitely recommend for divers & snorkelers and I would definitely take a 2nd trip to Little Cayman Beach Resort!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WELCHMR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Little Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Thank you for your visit, WELCHMR68. We are assuming you were at our resort during our dining room remodel so you actually dined in our conference room. We expect to have our new, larger diving room with outdoor screened dining area completed in February. If you want quiet - al fresco dining is always better. Guests at LCBR traditionally "storm" the dining room at each meal when the dinner bell sounds. So if you plan on coming to dinner a bit later, there are normally fewer people and therefore the noise level is lower.

We also thank you for taking the time to provide a review and we all hope to see you agian!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2018

A very comfortable and enjoyable stay. It was very quiet when we were there, but I can imagine it getting pretty loud if there is a large group. Try to get the ocean front room which book up early. These rooms, aside from being ocean front, come with a small private patio where you can chill out or dry your bathing suits, while everyone else in pool view rooms must share a communal drying area behind the building. There’s nowhere to dry wet clothing in your room. This is our only minor complaint. Otherwise, our pool view room was reasonably spacious, albeit a little dark, with a small frig, a coffee maker, a TV and a very comfy bed. The bathroom is also spacious with soap, shampoo, conditioner and hair dryer. The dining room is buffet style, but food was excellent. Each meal offered 3 or 4 main dishes with several sides and salads plus assortment of deserts, all prepared expertly. There is a separate open air bar with very friendly and attentive staff, which was the highlight of our evening after a day of diving. The entire staff, from dining room, housekeeping to the bar, are the friendliest and most courteous bunch we’ve ever encountered. I'm writing a separate review for the dive operator (superb).

Room tip: Ocean front room is a must. There are very few of them and they book early.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank X S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Little Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

We're happy you were happy, X S. As our first dive resort we built and opened 25 years ago, we are in the process of doing some upgrades which you probably experienced. Our new spacious lobby area makes checking in and out much more pleasant for guests. Our old lobby and dining room are in the process of being remodeled into a new, much larger and much nicer dining area for our guests - expected to open in February. We are also adding a new screened, outdoor area for those who prefer to dine al fresco (our personal choice). And in early 2019 we are opening a Photo Center with in-house expert trained by Backscatter Underwater Photo & Video, which will give guests a place to get some help on their photos or equipment or rent an undewater camera.

We thank you for your visit and for your review and will look forward to seeing you agian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2018

We first visited Little Cayman 29 years ago aboard the Little Cayman Diver. This was our first trip back. We normally avoid all inclusive resorts. However, on Little Cayman, an all inclusive resort makes sense as there are very few hotels, restaurants or dive operators on the island.

Given the limited competition and difficulty getting supplies and services on the island, one might expect Little Cayman Beach Resort to be mediocre. But that is not the case. Both the resort and dive operations at LCBR are first class operations than run like clockwork.

The hotel room was well appointed with a comfortable king bed, plenty of storage space, a fridge, a flat screen TV and a spacious bathroom. The windows in the room had heavy duty wooden shutters that could be closed at night to block out almost all the light. That made for very comfortable sleeping. The air conditioning seemed to struggle some with the humidity, but it was sufficient to keep the room comfortable.

Our LCBR package included three meals a day. They were all served buffet style with a nice variety of soups, salads, entrees and desert choices. The regular dining room was being renovated during our stay so a large conference room was used as a temporary dining room. It would have been fine except the air conditioning was really cold and the room was loud when full of people. Fortunately, for most meals, we were able to get a table on the screened front porch, which was delightful. To compensate everyone for the alternate dining arrangements, complementary wine was served every night. That was a nice treat.

LCBR has a large bar which is the center of the social scene when people are not diving. They have evening activities (e.g., trivia, karaoke, etc.) most nights for those who enjoy that sort of thing. Fortunately, It quiets down early as most people at the resort are serious divers who know better than to over do it the night before diving. At first, I was concerned that noise from the bar might prevent us from turning in early, but we hardly noticed any noise in our room, which pretty much overlooked the bar.

The resort offers complementary beach cruiser style bikes and kayaks. The bikes were badly rusted. Nevertheless, we still managed to explore most of the island by bike. There is one convenience/grocery store and a couple of restaurants. The store seemed well stocked, but expensive. We did not try the restaurants as all our meals were included in our LCBR package.

For such a remote place, the WIFI worked surprisingly well in our room and in most outdoor lounging areas. Speaking of outdoor lounging areas, there are many options - a large pool deck with hot tub, a deck overlooking the beach and, of course, the sand beach, complete with lounge chairs and shaded hammocks. We really enjoyed our downtime. There were some pesky no-see-ums at dusk, but they were not too bad.

LCBR is first and foremost all about diving. Most days there are five Newton dive boats going out. The boats are all well maintained and, as we have come to expect from Newtons, set up for serious diving. The boats all have a full complement of safety gear, tools, spares and fish identification guides. Surface interval snacks include fruit and various types of chips.

LCBR assign divers to the boats so that the boats are well utilized but not overloaded. There was always plenty of space available and its was easy to move around the boat. The daily dive schedule is a two tank trip before lunch and a one tank afternoon trip. There are also night dives some nights and a once a week trip to dive Cayman Brac. There are modest additional fees for the night dives and the Brac trip. We did not do any of the night dives or the Brac trip as three dives a day was enough for us.

LCBR assigns divers to a boat upon arrival and, for the most part, guests dive with that same boat all week. Our boat was crewed by Romel from the Bay Islands of Honduras and Phil from England. These guys were not kids taking a year or two off from something else. Rather, they are serious dive professionals. We were told that LCBR requires all its dive masters to have five years experience, be certified as an instructor and be capable of captaining the Newtons. Having such qualified staff really makes a difference. Romel and Phil took turns captaining our boat and leading dives. One of them always remained on the boat.

Romel and Phil took turns drawing detailed pictures of the dive sites. Their explanations were equally detailed, but they kept things interesting and even entertaining. And they were effective. We never saw anyone come up anywhere other than the stern of the boat even though many divers were diving on their own rather than staying with Romel or Phil.

Romel and Phil obviously love to dive and it showed. They were also very service oriented. LCBR bills its dive operation as “valet diving.” They aren’t kidding. In fact, being relatively independent, it took some time to get used to such a high level of service. For example, on Newtons we are used to gearing up at the tank ranks and then awkwardly waddling back to the stern for a giant stride entry. Not at LCBR. The Newtons have specials seats on both the port and starboard sides of the stern. When the diver is ready, he or she sits on one of stern seats and the crew brings the diver’s rig to the diver and helps the diver put it on. From there, the diver simply stands up and makes a giant stride entry. The process reverses at the end of the dive. Each diver comes up one of the two ladders and immediately sits on one of the stern seats where the crew helps the diver take off his or her rig. The crew then takes care of each diver’s rig from there, including swapping out tanks if the diver is making another dive.

Either Romel or Phil “led” each dive. By led, I mean they guided anyone who wanted to be guided. On the other hand, buddy pairs are free to dive on their own if that is their preference. We really liked the flexibility as we are tired of trips were we are required to follow the guide around on every dive. That said, on most dives we stayed in sight of Romel or Phil as they know the sites well and were able to make sure that we saw all the good stuff.

We made 17 dives, all in Bloody Bay, which is about a 25 minute boat ride from the resort dock. Bloody Bay has over 20 mooring balls. We only repeated two dive sites all week and that was because we made a couple of dives from a different boat a couple of afternoons.

Bloody Bay is a protected marine reserve and it shows. The variety and size of the fish is impressive. The fish do not seem to be afraid of divers, especially the large groupers who sometime came over to check us out. Like the rest of the world, the reefs in Bloody Bay are showing signs of stress with very little stag horn coral remaining and plenty of strap and leaf algae on the reefs. That said, there is still plenty of other healthy hard and soft coral. We were told by a marine biologist on the island that Little Cayman is one of only three places in the Caribbean area where the corals are still growing - the other two being Bonaire and Flower Garden Banks. I’m not sure exactly what that means but I my take away is that Bloody Bay is still one of the healthiest reefs in the Caribbean.

As it turns out, the reefs on Little Cayman get a lot of attention from the marine science world because the Central Caribbean Marine Institute is located on Little Cayman. CCMI regularly attracts researchers from other prestigious research groups, including Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute and the Smithsonian Marine Station. All those scientists monitoring the health of Little Cayman’s reefs can’t hurt. We toured the CCMI facility while on Little Cayman and were so impressed that we purchased memberships on the spot.

Most dive sites in Bloody Bay offer a combination of steep walls and shallower patch reefs. That means there is a nice variety and something for everyone, especially given that we were permitted to dive our own profile. Most sites also offer swim throughs. Some are quite extensive. Romel or Phil led anyone who wanted to follow them through the best swim throughs. I generally enjoy swim throughs but a few were a bit tight for me. There is always an option to skip any swim through and follow the divers’ bubbles across the top. If you like swim throughs, bring a small light as there are often interesting things to see in the swim throughs.

The biggest problem with LCBR is we are now spoiled. The island is very easy to get to (at least from south Florida) and relatively inexpensive. There are very few mosquitos. There is virtually no crime. The reef is comparatively healthy. And, perhaps most important, the dive operation and resort are extremely well run and reasonably priced.

We have explored much of the Caribbean over the last 35+ years and while there are still many great places to dive in the Caribbean, Little Cayman in general and Little Cayman Beach Resort in particular are hard to beat.

Room tip: We liked room 213. It was dark and quiet.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 27hugha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Little Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2018

You make us feel so good, Hugh A! Thanks for enjoying your visit with us and taking the time to do such an extensive review. We are celebrating our 25th anniversary in 2018. Little Cayman Beach Resort was opened 25 years ago and our own Reef Divers operation began that same year. Now you'll find the same high level of service and similar experiences at our 2 other resorts: Cayman Brac Beach Resort (island is literally just 5 miles tip-to-tip with Little Cayman) and our newest acquisition - Cobalt Coast Resort on Grand Cayman in the West Bay Area.

Starting in 2019 all our packages will include the trip to dive off Cayman Brac one day a week, where you can explore one of the finest, shallow wrecks in the Caribbean - the MV Captain Keith Tibbetts. It's a 350-foot long Russian frigate that was purchased and purposely sunk for diving adventure. It was actually named for our founters' brother who was responsible for saving the family from the 1932 hurricane that killed about 30% of Cayman Brac's inhabitants. So next time you should take advantage. It's not extra dives but instead your morning dives that day. You do 2 dives off the Brac, go ashore at Cayman Brac Beach Resort for lunch (provided if you are on a meal plan that includes lunches - otherwise it's self-pay), and then you do your fhird tank off LIttle Cayman on your way back to the resort.

Thanks again for your visit and your detailed review. We will look forward to hosting you again and adding to your dive memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2018 via mobile

Came her to do some diving and loved the diving company located on the property! The island is very small with cows on the airfield sometimes. Road signs warn you about not running over any iguanas ! Not much of a nightlife but the resort does have a bar that many locals visit. Not a bad place to visit after a morning of diving. The food is plentiful and covers many ethnicities. You can usually find something you are interested in. Loved the hammock by the ocean. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. We rented the bikes on our last day and toured the island. Beautiful but not a place to visit if you are wanting a bustling night life. I enjoyed the laid back feel to the island. The resort was excellent. I spent a week diving so I can’t address what the mornings are like. The coral is pristine but not as diverting in fish as I had hoped.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank O9464YPangelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dive_and_Resort_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Little Cayman Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2018

You've uncovered ALL our "secrets," O9464YPangelaw! Our goal is you guests to have relaxing vacation, do some fabulous diving, and feel pampered by our staff and services. Seems like we achieved that with you. We thank you for your visit and taking the time to write a review. And although you probably know this, the marine life you encounter depends on the time of year you visit. Come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews