We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Cove
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Villas(Little Cayman)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
36
18
4
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
18
4
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 65 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

Had a fantastic couple of days at sunset cove with the family. Beautiful location and amazing sunset views. David the owner is great and his passion for the place is obvious. Chef Ken cooks the most delicious home cooked foods. Would highly recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank JHenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2015

We have just spent 12 days at Sunset Cove. This was the most idyllic place to totally relax and forget about the "real world" If you are looking for chrome taps, sunken baths, turned down sheets and chocolates on your pillow, Sunset Cove is not for you. However, if you want to meet the most gracious, helpful and friendly people who cannot do enough to make you feel special, look no further. We have spent day after day just chilling out, we have used the available bikes and kayaks to do a little exploring, as well as renting scooters to see the whole island. Little Cayman is a beautiful and unspoilt island which we just loved being on, but each time we ventured out, our favourite part was returning to Sunset Cove.
The place is "off the beaten track" and yeas the rooms are "hotel suites" but this is exactly the type of place we like to be, no fuss, no frills and no pretence, The resort is very well named, as we spent many evenings just sitting on the beach watching the most spectacular sunsets, chatting and laughing with all of the other guests. The atmosphere created by the resort manager David, really makes it impossible for people not to relax and enjoy each others company. It was our great pleasure to have met David, and we sincerely hope to meet up with him again.
I cannot recommend this resort highly enough and would return tomorrow if I could.
To David, Ken and Hannah, thank you all so much for making our "special occasion" so utterly memorable, we are missing you already, Gary and Di

Room Tip: Any room facing the sea gives you a stunning view
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gary147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2015

First off! I have to Scream and Shout!!! about Tim the Innkeeper! He was the Most Accommodating and Caring person I have ever met on a vacation he checked on us all at the proper time to make sure we were OK and if we needed anything, He was Fantastic! Fabulous! Can't say enough! Tim Was very Attentive but knew when not to join the party if you know what I mean!
I already did a review on the Beach Bum Cafe that is Awesome! Chef Ken was Above and Beyond making our meals anyway we liked he was like having a personal chef he cooked and prepared anything we wanted breakfast lunch and dinner, and if he has fresh tuna GET IT! one day he jerked some chicken for us "Just for us" how about that for service!

Now unfortunately the facilities were very very bad !
I have read the reviews and the responses from the owners!
Sounds like the owners thoughts are you get what you pay for and that's it! Poor excuse!
when we arrived we thought we were being "Punked" we were waiting for the cameras to show up but guess we were not that lucky!
first thing we tried to turn on the TV and I got Nothing! tracked the Inn Keeper down and was informed there is No TV but there is a TV in the room with a DVD player, Now there is Wi Fi but no cable TV? HUH?
absolutely no housekeeping seriously! 10 days same sheets! OMG!
no ice maker you have to get it from the chef which he has to buy himself out of his pocket!
lets talk about the bike rentals! I had to fix the bike I rode the chain kept coming off flat tires the seats are broke Really l!!!!! Go buy 6 new bikes!
we thought they (the owners) just leased sunset cove as a new business venture and were short on capital so we gave them a pass to find out later the cheapskates have been doing this crap for 4 years! really put some money in this dump! and fix it up to a level of average would be a huge step up!
Maybe a beach towel that's a new concept at a resort???
Your Staff is Awesome now its the owners turn to Step up! If it wasn't for Tim and Ken we would have checked out in the first 24 hours and went to another Resort on the Island!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
11  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2015

We returned to Sunset Cove and were impressed with the improvements. Beach Bum Cafe was amazing and chef Ken was so friendly and obliging, taking time to find out exactly what we liked and didn't like. Sunset Cove is so tranquil, with just the sound of lapping water to soothe you off to sleep. There are 4 hammocks to choose from and sun loungers for long lazy days. Winston (the Iguana) and his friends come out in the afternoon to say hello, Winston even let's you stroke him.
Tim picked us up at the airport and sorted us with his best bikes so we could cycle to Point of Sand, a must see place on Little Cayman. After a fantastic snorkel (right of the dock) we then did a beach clean, which was so much fun. There are bags available at the picnic area, just fill one and leave it for collection. Unfortunately rubbish is washed ashore in this beautiful place, we felt it was our duty to give something back and had fun doing it. We loved our time on Little Cayman and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We had a room with Queen bed plus single, also a kitchenette. You can take a cool box full of food from Grand Cayman.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Hollie029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2015

We stayed two days/one night at Sunset Cove. First of all...kudos to Chef Ken for his excellent, made-to-order meals. Breakfast and dinner were awesome. Also thanks to Tim for driving us to/from the airport and giving us the lay of the land regarding Little Cayman. The resort is - in a nutshell - very basic. The rooms are rather spartan and, along with the property in general, could use a little TLC. On the positive side - very quiet and laid back experience. We rented a kayak and paddled out to Owen Island (an adventure not to be missed.) Owen gives you that true "Castaway" feeling. The sunset was amazing - best we've experienced in the Cayman Islands. The three local resident iguanas are great; "Winston" enjoys having his head and body rubbed. Little Cayman is sparsely populated - only about 120 residents we're told. There is a single grocery/general store and liquor store, located quite a distance from Sunset Cove. The Southern Cross Club is the nearest resort to Sunset Cove -- and also the nearest bar, as the Beach Bum Cafe at S.C. has no liquor license (something they really should consider obtaining.) To get around the island it's easy to walk (very little traffic); however, best to rent bicycles or a scooter to see everything.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Budsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews