We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I want to keep this find a secret but it's unfair...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Manaros

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Front Elevation Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Living Room
Front Elevation
Kitchen
Bedroom
Aerial View of Manaros
Surroundings from the Air
Aberdaron Beach
Bardsey Island from the South Coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Aberdaron, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny E
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I want to keep this find a secret but it's unfair not to share it with you”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The key draw to Manaros for me was the availability of a 4x4 mobility scooter, which would enable me to get on a beach for the first time in 10 years. I was going to achieve this come rain (likely for Wales) or shine. Luck was on our side and the sun shone for the whole weekend, which was the icing on the cake for a perfect stay.
I am a wheelchair user and struggle to find good, accessible accommodation. Manaros exceeded my expectations for this. I cannot fault the accommodation for accessibility. Not only this, but the accommodation was of a high standard, well equipped and comfortable.
On an accessible note, all floors were level and bathrooms suitably equipped, key components of a successful stay . Then the added value touches; the scooter that I've already mentioned and a riser recliner in the lounge, which I don't have at home but now wish I do!
The bits that make Manaros accessible are not in your face, like so many places. This makes this place perfect, not only for wheelchair users but for the able bodied too. There were 6 of us staying (1 wheelchair user) and we all felt extremely comfortable and at home. The kitchen was well equipped, rooms were comfortable and it was within walking distance of the centre of the village, where there was the beautiful beach, a fantastic bakery and access to some very good food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennGene
Victor, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much space!”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This was booked for our last 3 nights of a 2 week vacation abroad. As you can imagine this area in Wales was a little sleepy in November but that worked great for us. We loved being the only tourists in town and didn't need anymore than the bakery and pub! The house offered an amazing kitchen and it was wonderful to cook meals and enjoy the great room. Plenty of space to all sit by fireplace and all have comfy spots to relax. The privacy of each bedroom with en suite bathrooms was something you rarely find when traveling. . We could walk in 5 minutes to visage center and endless choices of walking paths. Simon and Peter were easy to work with as we planned our travels and Simon greeted us upon arrival to go over house details. I would highly recommend this house for your next stay in Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedrooms with enuite bathrooms
Liked least: Stay was too short
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for this. We very much enjoyed having you here. You were our first visitors from Idaho!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil K
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant and comfortable”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Absolutely great. I am disabled and managed really well. The shower was so good and bed really comfy. The rise and recline chair in the lounge was great as well. The village is cool and I got to explore it on the 'Tramper' buggy that came with the property. I really loved the beach and on the buggy it was so accessible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Use of Tramper buggy, double doors, rise and recline chair.
Liked least: Little outside space.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We very much enjoyed having you here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petenac
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Came to Manaros as a group of 8 who regularly travel together, and have pretty high standards for where we go. General consensus was that Manaros was just superb. It is equipped with every conceivable piece of equipment, with plenty of (comfortable) seating.
Whilst obviously laid out in a way that helps people who are less mobile move easily around the property, this also helps to give a real sense of space.

Bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious, again well equipped (although the TV signal is awful but I suspect that isn't something the owners can do anything about), One bedroom is very large, and has a special shower for ease of access into it.

The high standard of equipment continues beyond the kitchen, with dryers, washing machines etc. all available. The property has extensive underfloor heating - don't be tempted to turn it up to max at first as it is very powerful and you will soon have toasted feet!! If that isn't enough there is a log-burner in the living room with logs and matches all provided!

The property is in a fairly small plot with not much grass, but a very pleasant conservatory and patio around the back that look onto fields beyond and will be a very nice place to sit in the summer!

Manaros is very easy to find on the road up out of Aberdaron (off the Whistling Sands road), and the village itself is 10 mins walk away (steep climb on way back!). The village has a number of eateries and we can recommend the Ship Hotel for an excellent meal. The beach here is huge, although mainly shale rather than sand.

So very enjoyable weekend had by all, and highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Level of equipment, space and comfort, log-burner
Liked least: Uncomfortable pillows, intermittent Wi-Fi, poor TV signal in bedrooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikki W
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I can't begin to describe just how fantastic Manaros is - it has every single amenity you can imagine....as we were there for Christmas, an extra-large turkey tray was also there for us!!!

The whole cottage is kept beautifully, as you enter you truly are in awe! From the extra wide hallways, massive lounge/diner (with lovely log burner and an electronic chair for those that need a little help to get up - which was brilliant for my Gran), huge conservatory, to the 4 big bedrooms all extra comfortable bed, with quality bedding and towels used, plus en-suites AND a separate shower room. There are washing and drying facilities too, which is a huge bonus.
You really don't need to take anything with you, they have thought of every kitchen item. The big fridge/freezer was a big bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything!! ;)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonshado...
chester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic bungalow for all ages”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here last week ,. A great bungalow for all family. One wheelchair ,all equipment provided for an easy time, well equipped disabled bathroom and shower. A child who has learning difficulties and poor sight, so long corridors with no obstacles were a bonus. Everything need in kitchen, lots of books for rainy days and DVDs. We had no rainy days.lovely sheltered patio , just right for G&T in evening after a hard day on the beach !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The beds were a bit hard for us. Also the mattress in the disabled bedroom had broken side springs. It needed replacing , we didn't see the owner. to tell him !! The bedding was of high quality no complaints there.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryP208
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This bungalow is spotless well equipped, even free cycles and mobility scooter. The bungalow has 4 spacious well appointed bedrooms, large lounge and plenty comfortable seats and very pleasant patio overlooking fields. Peter the owner is a font of local knowledge and give us detail of the local walks. If you want a night off from cooking, Peter will advise on local restaurants. Try the coastal walks and visit Whispering Sands. You will enjoy the let and the local walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Very modern and clean
Liked least: Slow wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing