We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glandwr

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Aberdaron, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Seamus212...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed here at the end of August for a few nights with my wife, 2 teenage children and dog. The cottage was just what we wanted - right by the beach, the local shops and pubs. It might be small but the quaintness was exactly what made our stay so enjoyable - a real sense of getting away from it all. The cottage had all we needed to enjoy our stay and the owner has obviously stayed there a lot as it is very well equipped. Very good value. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very cosy and close tothe beach.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk_p...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dirty.”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived tired after a long journey. The owner’s agent was there by arrangement to show us in. While demonstrating that it was impossible for two people to be in the ‘kitchen’ at the same time, he opened the door of the dishwasher to reveal – to his evident surprise - that it was full of dirty dishes! He had clearly made no inspection of the property to check on the work of the cleaners, who the owner later assured us had spent two hours there, but whose existence subsequent discoveries led us to doubt.
He washed up, with a lot of clattering, and no apology, leaving the sink filthy. In the kitchen were shelves of half used jars of spices and pickles and so on. One of them had a best before date of 2007. We were later informed that this was intentional, to make the place more homely. The agent was off hand and his brusque manner made us keen for him to leave us in peace. Looking round the house we found: an unemptied waste bin in the main bedroom. Used tissues under the bed. Stained pillows. A tangle of electrical leads beneath a bunk bed. A bed side lamp with no shade in the main bedroom. Other lamps which didn’t work and were very dirty. A fire extinguisher with no safety inspection label. The whole place felt grubby.
The website states the dimensions of each room, so we should not have been surprised about the cramped accommodation. However, the design and layout made the kitchen and bathroom extremely uncomfortable to use, and in the case of the bathroom, positively dangerous if you were not nimble enough to climb out of the bath/shower while negotiating a toilet, a sink and a shower screen. The kitchen needed a major rethink and a clear-out. All the drawers were stuffed with ‘stuff’ and the electric kettle had to be balanced between the draining board and the cooker.
Though booked for a week, we left the next morning and found alternative accommodation – a clean one! We wrote to the owner, who promised to investigate; we sent photographs. (We are not the type who do this as a matter of course. We have been staying in Aberdaron for decades and have never experienced any problems with rental properties).
The owner, reasonably enough, said we should have made our complaints known to his agent. However, I maintain that having booked somewhere for 7 days, it is not unreasonable to expect it to be clean. Who wants to waste time arguing with people at the beginning of a very short and much needed holiday? We were tired, as stated, and my husband was quite ill and low on energy. The owner also accused us of fabricating the evidence contained in the photographs we had sent, and either ignored or brushed aside our other points. He also implied that we had returned home as my husband was ill. The owner refused us any refund. Legally, he is correct. Morally, he should be ashamed of himself.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
This couple were delighted with the cottage when it was shown to them. There was no suggestion of any complaint while they were here and they left the next morning for clear medical reasons. These subsequent complaints have no substance in fact which is why their unwarranted request for a refund had to be politely declined.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sianr
llanfairpwllgwyngyll
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Small!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Owner was very welcoming. Cottage clean and plenty of duvets and pillows [took our own bedding and towels]. View is lovely and parking just a 3 minute walk away for more than two cars.
Sorry to say though the cottage is very small. Stairs are very steep. Kitchen is minute; only accommodates 1 person at a time. If you have mobility problems you will not be able to step into the bath as the toilet and the fixed shower screen are in the way.
There is also no microwave which was an issue as we had a microwave steam steriliser for my daughter's 13 day old baby, therefore they only stayed one night.
The description states that the cottage sleeps 6; yes it does, but not 6 adults. In my opinion it is more suitable for 2 adults and 4 small children.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thank you for this fair review. We will attempt to incorporate a microwave.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing