We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner 23/7/18”

The Great House at Nisbet Plantation
Ranked #19 of 58 Restaurants in Nevis
Price range: US$25 - US$70
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Great House serves a variety of innovative island fare on a menu that changes daily. The beautifully restored Great House, which dates back to 1778, provides an elegant backdrop for an enjoyable evening meal at Nisbet Plantation. Dine indoors in one of the only air-conditioned restaurants on Nevis or al fresco under candlelight on the verandah.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Fantastic and well-presented Great House. Dining experience was a disappointment. After an effusive welcome at the door we were ignored for virtually an hour. Had to pester the completely-disinterested bar staff to get dinner menu, order food, go through to restaurant. Dinner was fine, lovely food and good table service, but the evening was already spoilt for us. Maybe we were unlucky and this was a one-off. Won't be going back any time soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim T, General Manager at The Great House at Nisbet Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear Andy S
If you are still on the island, I would welcome the opportunity to redeem ourselves: I am so sorry that we completely dropped the ball on this dinner: please accept my apologies: I would like to make it up to you.
Best
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2018

We visited The Great House for dinner on our last night. It's a little bit of a throw back to a gentle and gracious time. You are basically going to a beautiful home filled with large porches and tables to dine. Somehow is feels formal and relaxed at the same time and the host, who greets you at the door, is very warm and welcoming. There is a nice feeling of camaraderie where tables are chatting to each other and groups are sitting on the porch playing card games, backgammon, etc. The menu in not extensive but offers a few choices each night and the food was very good and fresh. Definitely a different feel to anywhere else I've been and we enjoyed our dinner here.

Thank samanthab195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim T, General Manager at The Great House at Nisbet Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

Dear samanthab195,
Firstly, thank you for coming. Secondly thank you for taking the time to review our Great House Restaurant. I think you have described the atmosphere and ambiance just right. The menu does grow in size and choice when 'in season': and it does change nightly; it is very social, with very good cuisine. Hope to see you again.
Best,
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018

First of all, yet another stunning view and atmosphere. This is lovely because it's on the Atlantic side with a great, cool breeze and spectacular waves and color to marvel at. My next observation was the friendliness and great service of the staff. The ladies waiting on tables were so nice and sweet.

The food is very good. I had the shrimp which was delicious. I have a hunch that dinner at the Great House would be on par with Montpelier, Coconut Grove, Goldenrock, ect. The Beach restaurant is meant to be less fancy but by all means come here for delicious food, spectacular views and friendly, welcoming staff.

As a side note, if one wanted to come to Nevis and seek out a gastronomic experience you could hit Goldenrock, Bananas, the Great House at Nisbet, Montpelier, Mango, Coral Grill, Coconut Grove, the Gin Trap and the Yachtsman. This is on top of some great casual island and ethnic restaurants like Indian Summer, Turtle Time, Bombay Bites and Sunshines.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim T, General Manager at The Great House at Nisbet Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Dear laabis,
Thank you so much! I am delighted that you enjoyed your Seabreeze experience. If you are still in Nevis, please do come by and try dinner in the Great House!
All the best,
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2018

Allthough we were guests at the hotel, we had dinner here every night. Great location on the veranda, good food, plenty of choices for all tastes.

Thank amosite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim T, General Manager at The Great House at Nisbet Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2018

Dear Amosite,
Thanks for staying, and for dining with us: and reporting good experiences!
Best,
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018

Nisbet is special. The history, the setting, the food, the beach, the staff - ALL are exceptional.
Never have I known more friendly & helpful staff - happy to chat over the bar, but still totally professional and on it!

We came for lunch and now can’t wait to come back for dinner at some point. the chowder was delish and the cocktails are just perfect.

Nisbet is a gem - go!

1  Thank randomfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim T, General Manager at The Great House at Nisbet Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Dear randomfairy,
We love out team too! Please do come again soon.
Best
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Great House at Nisbet Plantation also viewed

Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to The Great House at Nisbet Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing