We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
175
26
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
26
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster sandwich sugar mill spring fed pool flora and fauna lush gardens excellent lunch beautiful gazebo served by friendly staff jungle feel indoor seating worth the trip rum punch absolutely breath taking plantation ruins very special place four seasons nice pool
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 205 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This property is exquisite. Naturally landscaped grounds surround little cabanas nestled on the side of the mountain. The restaurant is in part of the old sugar plantation ruins and overlooks terraced pools of goldfish, and a view to die for. Flowers are everywhere. The pool is nestled next to a terrace that is shaded by a beautiful canopy of flowering vines. If Monet had seen this garden he never would have left. It is incredibly beautiful. Everyday we saw monkeys and one morning I awoke to one standing on our deck rail, peering in our door. The restaurant is one of the best on the island, along with Montpelier, which doesn't have the same heady, Garden of Eden feel, Bananas, and the little local natural foods snackette (Amazing fresh juice) just past the round-a-bout. It's a short hike to the path that will take you to the source of their water in the rainforest. The rooms are decorated simply, with a few antiques, in the old plantation style. Bathrooms are nothing special, but the shower was hot and large, and the view off our deck incredible. Without a doubt, the most beautiful accommodations on the island.

Room Tip: The cabanas highest on the hill get the best breeze. There isn't any air conditioning, but you probably won't miss it. A couple rooms are located near the drive, which could be noisy in the high season. First choice would be somewhere above the restaurant.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FindAnIsland4theGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Golden Rock for a week and cannot rave enough about the property and the setting. The large garden is a masterpiece of form and of ravishing beauty. It is equal to any unique garden settings in the world, be it resorts or performing arts centers or summer festivals in Europe. The menu, while somewhat limited for dinner is among the very best we tasted on the island. Add to it the attentive and caring staff, who go way out in a very genuine and open manner, plus the unique beauty of the island as witnessed from the hotel vistas, and you have a rounded prescription for a very relaxing holiday.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank danchikbrooklyn_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We went for lunch while on an island tour. The grounds were incredibly beautiful. The food was served outdoors and was very good with excellent service. I would definitely recommend this to anyone on Nevis. We did not stay here but I am certain that it must be great based upon what we experienced

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We went to Golden Rock and I must say it is very special and will take your breath away. We went 7 years ago and only had lunch. They now have a new owner and have made significant changes to the property and the restaurant is now in my opinion not to be missed! Stunning outdoor patio area with tranquil views of the lush tropical gardens and views of the sea. The multiple terraced outdoor terrace is one of the finest I have ever been to and that includes Europe. The service and food were fantastic along with the best rum punches on the Island!! My wife and family were impressed and look forward to going again on our next trip to Nevis!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This has to be one of the most soothing, relaxing spots in the Caribbean. The views are worth the hotel price alone. This hotel is up on the hills of Mount Nevis and the grounds are a gardener's dream. We stayed in "Mount Pleasant" and although the room was simply furnished, it was spotless and very comfortable. The days here are meant for quiet: read by the pool, or hilke around the property. What's interesting is that the hotel is transformed at night into a very chic bar and restaurant -- the food is very good. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Scarborough and Mount Pleasant have great views and are close to the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews