We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property and meal”
Review of Golden Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charlestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2017

I was on a cruise ship and stopped by at Golden Rock for a lunch meal. Fantastic and artistically done property.

Its the caribbean so expect a lot of greenery. I found out that the place was a former plantation mill. I wandered about and saw detached single rooms scattered across, providing much needed peace and privacy.

The lobster salad was wonderful. Cant wait to some day go back and stay at the place.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Archana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2017

We went to golden rock for both breakfast and dinner. The breakfast choices were very good and the food was excellent. Plus the scenery is relaxing and beautiful in the morning. We were so happy with our breakfast we decided to return for dinner another night. We had lobster tail that was perfectly cooked. Over all we were very happy with our dining experience

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank hspinweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

A little hard to get to, but very worth the trip.
Six of us went for dinner and sat in a beautiful gazebo surrounded by fish ponds and lovely walkways.
We were greeted and served by friendly staff who knew the menu and answered questions accurately.
My crab cake appetizer was attractive and delicious. The caprese salads were high quality and tasty. Even the chicken soup was really good.
Main courses of spiny lobster tail were happily customized with our requested sides and we all loved our meals. The pasta and vegetarian main courses were enjoyed as much as the lobster.
Everything was so good, we ordered desserts, and took them to go because we didn’t have enough room after the meal but didn’t want to miss out.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank aStarduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Bit of a drive from four seasons but worth it. An old sugar mill that has been renovated to a very high standard. The manageress was warm and welcoming and the staff lovely with much knowledge on the history of the mill. Would like to go back to experience the views during the day, but a special place to go in the evening.
I had the crab cakes and lobster which was delicious , husband had the coconut shrimp curry which he really enjoyed

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RippedOff144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We had lunch there and everything was delicious. The setting was so beautiful and you could see the ocean from where we sat. The gardens and buildings were stunning. We were on a day tour and stopped there for lunch. We wished we could've stayed overnight. It looked like a great place to get away and relax away from the crowds.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank nursebrendaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Visited while touring Nevis. Looks like a very nice place to stay. It's an old converted sugar plantation. They have a very nice pool for the few people that stay at this neat boutique hot err l. You can even sleep I n old windmill. The grounds are beautiful as is the view. The flowers and trees were spectacular It's a bit of a hike (by car) to beach but probably very nice for a couples weekend away. T h e food and menu looked great

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

It was a long taxi ride from the Four Seasons but worth it! Be prepared to climb some stairs but you wont be disappointed. Dinner here is a magical experience. Perfect for romance. We had our 6 year old and they were very accommodating to him as well.

Menu is somewhat limited but everything was very good. Just a lovely dinner all around.

A note on customer service and how much care they take for their guests... I had a bit of a rough cough and the waitress brought me some Nevisian honey, some lime and a little spoon and told me to squeeze the lime on the honey and eat it. By the time dinner was over my cough was gone. The honey was so aromatic!

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank GromitVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
3.4 km away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
6.5 km away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
202 reviews
6.9 km away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
7.9 km away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
406 reviews
6.8 km away
Paradise Beach Nevis
Paradise Beach Nevis
#5 of 7 in Nevis
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Inn

Address: Golden Rock | Gingerland, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price Range: $303 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Rock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentle trade winds and dramatic Caribbean vistas set the stage for a visit to Golden Rock Inn. A former sugar estate dating back to the early 1800's, the property has been thoughtfully restored through the eyes of New York artists Helen and Brice Marden. Set on 100 acres stretching up the slopes of Nevis Peak, this boutique property has eleven guest rooms and private cottages, including the unique Sugar Mill Suite. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens designed by the owners with Miami landscape architect Raymond Jungles, the inn is an escape embraced with birds' songs and the rustling of bamboo. Guest rooms have either king or twin beds, which can be joined together to create a king. The unique Sugar Mill Suite has an oversized king bed upstairs, with full bath, and 2 twins downstairs with full bath. This accomodation is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Rock Plantation Hotel Charlestown
Golden Rock Inn Nevis, St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing