We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a tropical garden paradise”
Review of Golden Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charlestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We stayed for 7 days/nights and enjoyed every minute. Excellent food/service.
Pam and her staff are incredible. Grounds are gorgeous and Inn is continuing to upgrade them. Meals are set on multiple level terraces around sugar plantation to provide wide variety of views, plants and birds. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2009

We spent 8 days in this beautifull Old Plantation Hotel, located on mids of the beautifull Volcano, temperature was cool, 80's in the day and 70's in the afternoon. A retreat for the soul , no tv, phones, or AC, (you dont need it there) " It remind the way I felt when I go to visit my grand mother house" the aroma of the delicious disshes emergen from Janice's kitchen. Nice swimming pool , nice view of the caribean sea and the Islands of Monserrat and Antigua from our bed. Surrounded by lush vegetation and beautifull gardens make it a good place for romantic gateaways or friends and family vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EliDavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

My partner and I stayed at the GRPI in June of 1991 for two weeks. Pam Barry was the sole owner at the time. I can still remember the hedge of poinsettias lining the driveway. The cool, spring fed pool with its fantastic soul searching views of the caribbean. The garden vegetation running rampant. The exquisite breakfasts. The big room and an even bigger dog that came to sleep on our patio every evening! FAT DOG!
Id like to go back there sometime. I wonder if the new part-owners have added anything to the feel of the place? My partner and I were in Nevis almost twenty years ago, and back then a gay couple showing up at an inn like this was a bit awkward. We were made to feel at home, however, it was a bit uncomfortable at times. The house cleaning women giggled at us, the hotel had a wedding party our first week there. the couple lived in new york and the bride was from puerto rico. The wedding couple liked us. However, the grooms family was openly hostile. We were kind of unfortunately, trapped at their wedding reception and ended up sitting with the Nevisian photographer and the Nevisian wedding planner. I understand that times change. I felt that my partner and I were pioneers. Staying at the Golden Rock was a very pleasant time spent in a strange situation. Nevis cannot be missed. The Golden Rock Inn was very nice. Pam booked us a dinner one night at Miss Junes. We found out later from Miss June, that Pam had told her we were gay beforehand. Miss June didnt know if we were going to be of her liking, so she invited the Yarwoods over also for a buffer. The Yarwoods, Miss June, my partner and I had the best time! We ended up hugging and kissing Miss June goodbye after our wonderful meal. So the moral of the story is: that'ss what traveling is all about. Meeting new people and experiencing things out of your realm of comfort and control. Hopefully everyone will end up accepting one another and enjoy the company while you stay......

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevenelliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We did not stay at Golden Rock, but if their accomodations are as good as the restaurant, I'm sure it is spectacular. We had lunch at Golden Rock one day because that is where we were meeting our hike guide. It turned out to be my favorite restaurant on the island. We went back a second day during our stay for lunch again. One the 2nd day, the hostess recognized us and welcomed us back. The waitresses we had could have been a bit more "on their toes", but the food was great and the atmosphere beautiful. We not return for dinner as the selections for the day were not to my taste, but I'm sure the quality was great. Plus, our dinner was included at The Hermitage where we were staying.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinnyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

"Hardworking Pam," as a local put it, is an outstanding host. We were greeted warmly and introduced to the grounds and our cottage. The cottage was comfortable and clean. The grounds and views are spectacular. The food and service were excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flora6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

My husband and I just got back from our honey moon which we spent on the island of Nevis at the Golden Rock Hotel (I guess they dropped the "plantation" name?) It was exactly what we were hoping for! It was secluded and quiet, with beautiful views and an incredibly romantic ambiance. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the owner Pam was pleasantly warm and accommodating. The new renovations to the kitchen and dining area look incredible, every spot is a new view! Every morning we enjoyed a cup of coffee on our private veranda watching the monkeys play in the trees, and every evening we ate like kings in the castle-like dining room. Between the excellent food, service and location, this hotel has all the amenities of a five star hotel without the pretentiousness, which is exactly why we will come back again!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Golden Rock in November of 2007. We stayed in the sugar mill and had an excellent time. I honestly cannot think of a better location to have your honeymoon!

The grounds were beautiful and Pam was always incredibly helpful. Also, the reviews about the lobster sandwich were completely accurate! I am a New England native and I'll even say it was superb. The only drawback is that it is a fairly long ride from the beach. Overall, a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCRunnerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
3.4 km away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
6.5 km away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
201 reviews
6.9 km away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
7.9 km away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
405 reviews
7.2 km away
The Hamilton Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Inn

Address: Golden Rock | Gingerland, Charlestown, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price Range: $306 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Rock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentle trade winds and dramatic Caribbean vistas set the stage for a visit to Golden Rock Inn. A former sugar estate dating back to the early 1800's, the property has been thoughtfully restored through the eyes of New York artists Helen and Brice Marden. Set on 100 acres stretching up the slopes of Nevis Peak, this boutique property has eleven guest rooms and private cottages, including the unique Sugar Mill Suite. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens designed by the owners with Miami landscape architect Raymond Jungles, the inn is an escape embraced with birds' songs and the rustling of bamboo. Guest rooms have either king or twin beds, which can be joined together to create a king. The unique Sugar Mill Suite has an oversized king bed upstairs, with full bath, and 2 twins downstairs with full bath. This accomodation is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Rock Plantation Hotel Charlestown
Golden Rock Inn Nevis, St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing