We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Charlestown
from US$83.50
More Info
from US$48.00
More Info
from US$81.50
More Info
from US$49.00
More Info
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
24
43
39
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
43
39
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his life american history nevis history worth a visit small museum historical value piece of history entrance fee coast guard united states west indies island tour birthplace information death founding duel
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 113 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2017

We planned a trip to St. Kitts and Nevis with Alexander Hamilton's history in mind. Checked the hours and took the ferry over from St. Kitt's today. Everything is closed on Boxing Day- Tourism Office, shops, banks, and museums. We walked to find the house to look at the outside, and found construction crew repairing the roof. They let us peek inside, but I didn't linger when a just sawed board fell into the room.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

The exhibit consisted of panels describing history of Nevis followed by Hamilton’s life. Glad we stopped in but not worth a special trip.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank P3605ABmariaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2017

Interesting in an historical perspective, but somewhat disappointing in the presentation inside. Basically storyboards in a basement that looks like something out of a middle school history fair. The architecture is worth looking at but I think the government should invest more in what could be a very significant tourist attraction and national monument.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Island_Highlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

A small little museum close to the cruise port. We walked over in a few minutes and paid the $5 entrance fee (seemed steep considering its one room with some display, however I am sure the fees are going to go use and hopefully mean more in the future). Displays on Nevis history and Hamilton's life. Learned some things and glad we stopped. Small gift shop as well for a souviner for your Hamilton fan. Small yard outside where you can sit on benches and relax.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Connector522389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017

A big A. Hamilton fan this was a must on my list of things to do and did not disappoint. Very informative and gives insight into his life and the things that shaped him into the man that he was. Top thing for me on Nevis. Our great taxi driver Clayton was very patient as we spent a lengthy time here.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Dottie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews