We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very strange experience ”

Bella Vista Restaurant @ The Mount Nevis Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Charlestown
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

Last time we went here we enjoyed our meal but it has since turned into an
Indian restaurant which is not made clear on the website and no menus are available. The service was disappointing from the start. The table wasn’t laid and in fact we had to lay it ourselves. We ordered still and sparkling water but they didn’t have any sparkling water; we were then given 4 bottles of water and no glasses! I ordered a mixed grilled vegetable platter but the waitress put me off saying it was large and would take a long time. It really was as if she didn’t want me to order it. Our plates were also cleared as soon as we had finished eating even though not everyone on our table had finished. The food and drink were equally disappointing. Our cocktails were not like anything we’d tasted before, the samosas rock hard and the curries very average. There was no atmosphere as we were the only diners except for one table of men having a private party at the other end of the restaurant.

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank Alimorris33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountNevisHotelMgmt, Owner at Bella Vista Restaurant @ The Mount Nevis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. The restaurant recently changed management and it is now called Happinezz Restaurant. A month ago, during your visit, the new team had just begun its operations. We share your disappointment in the performance during those early days of operation. The new management team has been working hard and has improved since its inception. The transition time definitely had its bumps in the road. We look forward to the experience improving for future restaurant guests and we thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant and look forward to your return visit being a much more positive experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 70 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful afternoon at Mt. Nevis Hotel. With lunch you can sit by the pool which overlooks the sea and St. Kitts. The lunch was good, and the service, although seemed to be inexperienced, was thoughtful and very gracious. The staff in general were very professional and seemed to really enjoy their positions at Mt. Nevis.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank jeanbean0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique_Jacob, Manager at Bella Vista Restaurant @ The Mount Nevis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Greetings from The Mount Nevis Hotel

Thank you for your feedback. We aim to continue to provide excellent food and improving the guest service and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.

Warmest Regards,

Monique Jacob
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

Stopped here whilst touring the island. The views are spectacular.... overlooking st Kitts with mt Nevis behind. We had a drink here... the mango smoothie wasn't great as it separated out. Worth it for the view though.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Blesjka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

We went to take a dip in the pool followed by lunch. They make a small charge of 40EC for the pool which they offset against cost of lunch. Great service. Lovely pool and amazing views and lovely leisurely lunch of lobster rolls, fish sandwich and fish and chips. Will definitely come back

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Hummingbird H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2017 via mobile

This is our second visit to the hotel for business. I read one review that said the service was slow, but in the atmosphere of the island, I would call it "laid back". Staff, such as Marion and Mo are always pleasant and attentive. Just plan that your meal, breakfast or supper, and allow more time to sit and visit while waiting, and that, my friends, is an enjoyable experience. It is not a fast food restaurant and if you're looking for the McDonalds drive-through speed, then I'd suggest you need another vacation. The rooms are well kept and the grounds are well maintained.

Do not pet the mongoose or monkeys, but feel free to feed the black cat with half an ear missing.

I can never get the TV to work properly, but Mo is always polite as he points out that I can't push a button properly. :-). Even then he fixes my problem.

The staff are polite and accommodating with warm hearts.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank nevisgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bella Vista Restaurant @ The Mount Nevis Hotel also viewed

Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 
Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis
 

Been to Bella Vista Restaurant @ The Mount Nevis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing