We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
45
34
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
34
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner miss shirley short stay nice lady beautiful island rum punch hill taxi ms supper beaches convenience daytime buses caribbean peace roof
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 87 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2018

We were recommended to try this hotel for a good evening meal. We called ahead to book a table and were asked to make our meal choices whilst making the reservation. That caught us on the wrong foot but after a brief discussion everything was sorted satisfactorily.

The hotel really does have Grand View in daylight but there is little to admire after nightfall. It's high on a hillside so you'll need a taxi to take you there.

The meal - all local dishes - was excellent but we were the only guests dining that evening so it lacked any convivial atmosphere. The staff were attentive and friendly. We'll certainly be back on our next visit to Carriacou.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018

Shirley who owns hotel is a very nice lady,pleasant and helpful. Had a room on the third floor..rm 3....no one to help with bags(pack light)...sadly mattress was like sleeping on a Flintstone bed and pillows were hard and stuffed with foam pieces..bring your own pillow..plus the rm was quite small .moved to rm 1 mattresses were much better but per Shirley mattresses are the same throughout ...just check them out before accepting room..Breakfast and lunch served and if available(check with Shirley) supper.we enjoyed all the meals there.and the view,.constant breeze...probably the best place to stay in Carriacou..just up the hill from the Green Roof where my wife had a huge amazing hall lobster and I had tuna
Way cheaper than Grenada.If I went back I would stay here again.for sure just be sure to bring your own pillow. Tv kind of iffy..

Room tip: Best choice in Carriacou
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2018

I spent 3 nights here over the carnival period in February 2018.The hotel is located in the hills above Hillsborough, a 10 minute walk from the town centre, although a bus passes the door should you not wish to walk. The setting is really beautiful and the upper rooms in particular have a sweeping view of the bay. The hotel has a restaurant offering breakfast, lunch and dinner and a swimming pool as well as a library for the convenience of guests. Its rooms, equipped with a phone and tv are spotless and well maintained. Although it is so close to the town centre, there is an air of peace and tranquillity, perfect for relaxing. All the staff are very welcoming and the owner, Shirley is exceptionally hospitable and takes great care of her guests. She is also a real mine of information about the island itself and can advise you where to go, what to see and how to get there. I loved my 3 days here, a beautiful island was made all the more special by staying in this gem of a hotel. One day, I hope to return to Carriacou and if I do, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Room tip: Higher floors have best views of the bay
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marissa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile

Miss Shirley and her staff are warm and gracious. The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are clean and well appointed. Breakfast is delicious and the welcoming drink is to die for. I will go back often

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Sheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2017 via mobile

Shirley is a fabulous lady and showed us wonderful hospitality during our very short stay.
We had booked through Expedia and Shirley had never received our booking, however she was excellent in trying to rectify the situation quickly (we had also arrived early morning on a boat from Union Island) and even upgraded our room! Whilst the room was small it was very comfortable with all you need for an overnight stay.
The hotel is on a hill overlooking Hillsborough so the views are wonderful! The location is also very quiet and peaceful, slightly away from the downtown area but easy to reach.
Shirley's rum punch is fantastic, you absolutely must try it! And she is a wealth of information about her island, it's so refreshing coming to a place like this and feeling not only the relaxed Caribbean vibe but also the pride these people have for their country.
We also enjoyed a lovely breakfast -- we decided to add eggs and bacon onto our continental order, which also ended up coming with some fruit. A good hearty breakfast at the exceptionally good price of around 18EC (approx. $9AUD) per person.
Definitely a place we would highly recommend and return to in the future.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank jadetravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews