We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
29
8
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
8
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small beach no hot water windward nets green bay carenage maid offshore hillsborough veranda
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 39 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2016

Firstly, as the title suggests, do not come here if you want to be pampered, told what to do or see or if you (or your children) need constant stimulation. Bayaleau is remote with only a Rum Shack and Small Snackette/shop within walking distance, so come prepared!! The cottages are functional and perhaps are ready for a little TLC, but this is part of the charm (we stayed in the blue cottage pictured), be prepared to meet some wildlife, some of which is friendly (cows, donkey,goats, frogs and birds) and some of which is not (mozzies and sandflies), but if you are prepared and put your mozzie killer on in the room, spray the mozzie net an hour before dark and use repellent, we found it was fine.

We left the doors and windows open all day and didn't have to worry about security. The little beach does need a bit of a tidy-up, but is really not intended as a sun bathing beach but more of access to the sea. Dave the owner was described by a Grenadian local as one of the few remaining pirates and I took this to be a complement. I found him to be very friendly with a great sense of humour and thoroughly recommend the Tobago Cays day trip on his boat (£90 each), which includes all drinks with enough punch to down an elephant.

Things to do:
Go on a boat trip (see the cays, sandy beach, palm island, union island, happy island, mayreau, PSV and PM)
Drink rum
Visit Maphsie and the locals in the rum shack (don't be put off as the locals are great fun)
Drink rum
Read a book whilst drinking rum
Decide to detox and drink beer instead of rum
Oh and did i mention that the local rum is Iron Jack (approx 90% ABV)

The only real negative is that the bed could have been a foot longer and wider.

Date of stay: April 2016
3  Thank PH3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I are just winding up our fantastic visit to Bayaleau Point Cottages. We were joined by our daughter and boy friend the first week.
Our 26 year old daughter had not been here for thirteen years and has been talking about returning for that long. Needless to say it hasn't changed much here in that time and that is precisely the charm of it. I had been back two times in those years and have always wished I could get here more frequently.
The cottages are rustic, charming and have an old world West Indian vibe. Dave, Ea and the staff made us feel like we were returning home.
We did three boat trips with Dave and crew.
The first boat trip was on Mostly Harmless, to Chatham Bay, We went snorkeling followed by grilled fish and lobster lunch, it was great.
Second boat trip was on New Moon. This is Dave's custom Carraicou wood sloop built right in Windward several years ago. A beautiful vessel that sails like a charm in these aqua blue waters. We sailed for a few hours in the steady breeze. What's great is that it is pure unadulterated sailing, no motor on New Moon.
Our third boat trip was once again on Mostly Harmless, this time to the Tobago Cays. This day trip is the iconic boaters paradise. Snorkeling on the colorful reefs then swim and snorkel with the turtles We then had a beachside fish and lobster meal also spectacular.
Cruising back to base we stopped at Mayreau, Salt Whistle Bay for liming, swimming or walking around. Our final stop was at Happy Island for the quintessential island style happy hour, no worries that day. This trip is a must when visiting Carriacou. All the boat guests clicked and we had a tremendous day.
All in all Carriacou is a very cool laid back island and Bayaleau Point Cottages a great place to call home when down here.
Cheers.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank flynsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2016

Please note that we travelled with two young children, for which we find this place not suitable.
The cottages are cute and the view is amazing, but here you will pay twice as much as an equal place right on a perfect beach on the other side of the island (Paradise Beach). In addition to paying a very high rate, you need a car to get around, unless you always want to walk 10-15 minutes to the next bus stop.
The place has its own beach, but this is not kept well and not a place you want to stay on. In fact, also the cottages require some work. The mosquito nets had holes, the toilet seat was broken and there were no mosquito screens on the windows! If this place would cost 50USD per night it would be understandable, but at 140USD per night you expect a higher standard.
The information on the website is out of date, and dinner is not usually offered and if it is, it will cost you over 100 EC (it think it was 115EC) per person, which is more than what you will pay in most nice restaurants. From the information on the website you are inclined to think that this place is child friendly, however since the cottages are on stilts and the kitchenette has gas stoves with easily accessible tubes, we were not comfortable letting our 1 year old crawl around inside.
If you are into kitesurfing, this is a great spot that you'll have all to yourself!
If you are travelling without kids and don't expect any service, you can have a very nice time here and we would have rated it higher, but it is still overpriced compared to what else you get on the island.
We paid a 50% deposit and asked for a refund on the remaining days since the place is not as advertised on the website , however we did not get anything back.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ellis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

Beautiful 4 cottages on the west coast of Carriacou. Others have spoken about the cottages (and there are perfect descriptions and photos on the website) so I won't repeat.

We stayed here for 4 days in December 2015 and it truly was wonderful. To get here take the number 11 bus (terminates Windward) from the bus station 2 minutes walk from the ferry (ask any local for directions) and in less than 10 minutes (3.50ec$) you arrive into the village of Dover. The bus drivers are so relaxed they will probably drive you to the door (for a few more $ but not a lot) or you can walk the 600m from the crossroads. Everyone knows the owner Dave who has been here for 30 years.

We had a superb few days taking local buses around the island (during daylight hours are very frequent, fun and very cheap, no need for taxis).

Each day I would got up and ran (currently training for a marathon) through breathtaking scenery and then we would both take the bus to Hillsborough and onto Paradise Beach (Off the hook our favourite bar) or onto Tyrell Bay.

If you are the type to love chilled old fashioned island life (and don't need air con) this place is an absolute must.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elliot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

If you are going to Carriacou, this is THE place to stay! Lovely, clean cottages on a beautifully maintained compound. Totally private - steps from the beach. Owner, Dave Goldhill, does his utmost to ensure your stay is all you want it to be. Want to go on a boat trip? Mostly Harmless is available to explore the islands and take you snorkeling with the turtles at Tobago Cays. Any other activities can be arranged with a simple request to Dave. Just watch out for the Jack Iron! Tell Dave that Angel sent you!

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank angelinejovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews