We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what u expect” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miller's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Miller's Guest House
Ranked #8 of 92 Tobago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not what u expect”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The 'superior' double rooms are really small, the tv is a 13'', there is no wash sink in the bathroom (it is in the room), the wifi does not work, and the beach is for fishing not bathing. Lots of local fishermen carrying out their business, cleaning (scaling and gutting) and selling fish in the water where the guests are expected to swim/bathe. I would never go back there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nickwill876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mghvibe, Owner at Miller's Guest House, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
It is quite unfortunate when the customer's expectation and resultant opinion are intertwined as this would lead to a less than objective review as noted in this respective assessment.
(1)The customer omitted the fact that he/she was refunded 75% of the total cost of the room.
(2)The customer omitted the fact that he/she was appraised of the superior's amenities prior to arrival.
(3) The customer makes the point that the sink is not in the bathroom but in the room, if the goodly client looked or {had looked} @ the pics on this respective site{Tripadvisor} as well as Miller's Guesthouse site he/she would realize that the room he/she booked is well documented with pics reflecting the unit's amenities and design/size.
(4)As far as I know most if not all beaches in Tobago have a dual purpose for swimming and fishing activities, though in this case it was recommended to the client that he/she can access the larger beach area located on the other side of the bay {again documented on this site}, hence by him/her saying they were expected to bathe where the fishermen were cleaning their catch is not only erroneous but entirely misleading.
(5) It has been my observation that the WiFi signal tends to be more accessible via laptops rather than tablets, the client had a tablet, also WiFi signals tend to increase and decrease based on the server 's capacity {which is a situation I have no direct control over}.
(6)The customer checked out the same day he/she arrived, additionally they were refunded the monies deposited and paid on arrival,less 25%, in this case all protocols were observed and courtesies extended so I am indeed in a quandary as to the reasoning behind this scathing review which has no direct relation to the client's stay or room quality.
(7) Upon further review of the client's other submissions via this site I noted he/she also reviewed the Buccoo Reef, of which he/she gave a thumbs down as well, it seems passing strange that Bucoo or anything with that respective sobriquet {operative word Buccoo} would be in for a very hypercritical assessment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    61
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
20
52
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

I stayed for one week. Winston was a wonderful host and the location is great. It's right by the Buccoo village pier with a wonderful view of the fishermen coming in with fresh Mahi Mahi every day. The room (I stayed in the dorm) was very clean and I met some wonderful people there. My only complaint was that the wi-fi was quite weak and it was hard to get a signal.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have kitchens but most do not. The dorm accommodation has a kitchen and the beds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayenne
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed there about 2 weeks. The rooms were clean and we met wonderful people there. The restaurant has a very nice view over the sea and the food is fantastic, so is the cook! These people made our Christmas holidays a memorable moment. I would be so pleased to go back there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesscayenne973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I have stayed at Miller's Guest House on two seperate occasions now. The location is great. Miller's is located right on Buccoo Bay. The bay and dock are just feet from your room. The bay is gorgeous and it is fun to watch the fisherman bring in their catches every night. The most fun party in Tobago "Sunday School" takes place right up the road from Miller's. Miller's is the perfect location to walk to the party and enjoy the music/food. I have never once felt unsafe at Miller's and the accomadations are great for the value. The room is clean, simple and all you need for a fun trip to the island. The restaurant on site at Miller's has wonderful food and service as well. Miller's gives you a great cultural experience overall. Mt Irvine is just up the road as well and is the best place to surf on the island. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Really good communication and value for money. Really nice little town, with good links to Scarborough (once you have worked out how the taxi come bus system works).

Tried to do same communication with Fish (other hostel in the town) and had very poor replies, Winston was spot on. When we got there it was clear we had made the right choice as Miller's is right on the sea front where as Fish is up in the town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in the apartment at Millers which has a 'Juliet' balcony which overlooks the quay where the boats arrive and depart from and the fisherman deliver their catch.

Winston, the owner/manager could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The restaurant close to the accommodation offers a good breakfast and lunch in a shady area overlooking the sea.

I certainly would visit again.

Room Tip: I only had experience of the apartment, I could not advise on the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMH301146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at these premises. The management and staff were very friendly, accommodating and helpful. I felt safe being in the neighborhood and the location in Buccoo village is ideal. There is excellent value in staying at Miller's Guest House and I definitely look forward to my return for my next vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tobago hotels
5.0 km away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.4 km away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
3.9 km away
Candles in the Wind
Candles in the Wind
#2 of 20 in Crown Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
1.6 km away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.6 km away
Fish Tobago Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller's Guest House

Property: Miller's Guest House
Address: #14 Miller's Street | Buccoo, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Tobago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Miller's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miller's Guesthouse is situated in the rustic fishing village of Buccoo Point, the property overlooks Buccoo Bay official departure point to the world famous Buccoo Reef. Buccoo Point is located 6.5 miles West of the main ferry terminal {Scarborough} and 3.5 miles North of the A.N.R International airport. The accommodation offered is varied in nature with emphasis being placed on affordability,convenience&functionality.Located on the Southern end of the property is the restaurant El Pescador, the cuisine is themed after a Latin/Caribbean food fusion that is a gastronomic delight and served in an ambient atmosphere with the picturesque backdrop of Buccoo bay completing the exhilarating experience.We here at Miller's give our professional guarantee that your holiday will not only be affordable but memorable as well!! We look forward to serving you....God Bless!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Miller's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller's Guest House Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing