We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian heaven in Tobago”
Review of La Tartaruga

La Tartaruga
Ranked #13 of 157 Restaurants in Tobago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Daytime: lunch, great coffees, teas & Francesca's dessert. Wine shop for home! Evening: fine dining, tasting menu', seafood and sicilian vegetarian recipes. Sunday: two courses lunch. Wine Spectator's Award wine cellar! Al fresco dining, teak floors, cupola and beautiful art work. Lush garden opposite the beach. Romantic. Great service. Reservations are recommended.
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

I was introduced to this restaurant by my friends who raved about the food especially the tiramisu.
The establishment was very homely and the staff and owner are very friendly. We were greeted immediately upon entry and seated promptly.
The wine choices were also from Italy and definitely worth to try and even take a bottle or two away.
The taste profiles of the food was robust and definitely left us pleased. It was the first time that I forgot to take a pic of my food for posting before digging into it. The food looked very appealing and the flavourful wafts has us salivating.
I would definitely recommended this establishment.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank pennilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 281 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

We found this authentic Italian restaurant in Tobago. Delicious food and they catered to my gluten and dairy free dietary needs. Going back tonight for a second time on our trip.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018

If we hadn't have chatted to a lovely English lady on Stonehaven beach we wouldn't have know about this fabulous place.
As we were at the end of our holiday we managed to visit for our final lunch before flying home. It was really really good.
Run by an Italian family, everything homemade and packed with flavour. A simple it was our last meal in Tobago we also went for a glass of wine that was really quite magnificent. The family import and sell wine and oil from Italy and are happy to talk to you about the best. Home made tiramisu and gelato too. I had the meatballs and polenta special of the day which a week later back home I can still recall vividly.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018

We ate out for almost every meal on our 2 week vacation and La Tartaruga was by far the best experience. We first tried to eat there on a Friday but didn't have reservations and it was packed. Me made a reservations and returned to find a surprisingly well stocked and curated Italian wine list. We asked for help choosing a good one and enjoyed a beautiful bottle. The antipasti tasting was exceptional and such a nice way to start. All of our mains (three of us) were delicious and authentic.

We met the chef and discovered how passionate he was about his business and creating exceptional food. He takes great care in bringing in very fine ingredients that make the difference. They also run a wine importing/selling business which explains the amazing selection of exceptional Italian wines (likely the best wine list in the country). We came back another night with friends then came back one last time on our way to the airport.

We owned and ran a restaurant at home for 9 years, until last summer and know how difficult it is to do something consistently great but Gabriele exceeds.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BiBONelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful hidden gem in Buccoo. We were transported to Italy where we sampled delicious food and wine on Valentines evening. The pasta was silky soft (homemade) and full of fresh fish. There is a wonderful expansive wine collection. We enjoyed a 2009 Umbrian white which was fresh yet elegant. Our hosts were caring and attentive. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend a lovely experience.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank es488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tartaruga also viewed

 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to La Tartaruga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing