We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fitzroy

The tour was our first of many on the island if Tobago and was definitely one of the best. We... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Stuarty1090
via mobile
You are alone....in the jungle.....

...and that's the story. Goinf´g on the Gilpin Trail, you will find a bit muddy way for the first... read more

Reviewed August 30, 2018
bogi1995
,
Moehrendorf, Germany
Read all 230 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Tobago
from US$60.00
More Info
from US$110.00
More Info
from US$98.00
More Info
from US$50.00
More Info
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
167
51
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
51
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews newton george junior thomas wonderful hike rubber boots land crabs walking boots hour walk wellington boots excellent guide island history bloody bay bird watchers birds including mot mots different species flip flops argyle falls
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 230 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

Tobago has a reputation of being of of the most laid back islands of the Caribbean and it certainly seems to live up to its reputation. Arriving in Scarborough yes, named after the infamous one in Yorkshire! It appeared neither as modern as Curaçao or as bustling as Barbados. On driving through the island towards the rainforest, our destination for a trek this morning, we could see how laid back the people seemed to be. Although being a public holiday most things were closed so it was a bit of a ghost town. The villages we passed were small and a variety of buildings, from elaborate to shacks. Goats grazed by the side of the roads, we also saw some keeping the football field under control too.
Having been devastated by a hurricane in the 60s the main industry of providing produce for other islands ceased and you can still see where places have been affected.
We were warned by our guide that the trek would be muddy and we should hire welly boots when we got there. Well of course most people were averse to this preferring their own footwear. However once one or two of us started getting boots, everyone eventually did, and after collecting our bamboo walking poles off we set. Warm and humid but with a fresh wind blowing occasionally we found our guide was correct in the track being muddy, and as we progressed we became more and more thankful we had left our walking shoes in the bus! Walking through thick mud often a few inches deep, we began to realise the $4 each we had paid, thinking we were being ripped off, was actually the best $4 we had spent in a long time!! The forest was beautiful and we found the trek easy enough, unlike many of our fellow travellers who must have thought they were out for a Sunday afternoon stroll in the park until faced with the mud, running water, rocky steps along the way! Then the tropical rain started!! Fortunately we were prepared with our rain macs but even they are not designed for the tropical rainstorms which are like someone turning on a power shower full blast. The paths became rivers, the mud deeper and more slippy, and all i could hear was a voice being me saying ‘oooh i love it!!’ At which point I nearly shoved him down the steep side of the path. A tree had fallen over the path blocking our way, however we climbed over it - some of the group now decided to return to the bus! - as our aim was to get to a waterfall. Well if I had realised we wouldn’t be able to see it properly due to a dilapidated bridge , from another tree fall, I may not have been as keen to climb over the darn thing.
The rain having eased slightly, I decided to remove my rain mac as I was as wet inside from a sauna effect in the heat as from the rain outside. Bad move!! The rain started again in earnest and we all ended up soaked to the skin as we made our way back along the trail which was now a flowing river! Arriving back at the bus the guys were able to strip off their wet shirts, didn’t think it was a good idea for the girls though!! Having said all this, we really enjoyed our walk!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank 702catherines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018

Had a wonderful hike through this gorgeous rainforest with Fitzroy. Great fun!! Enjoyed his relaxed, trustworthy, and knowledgeable vibe. He also supplied us with rubber boots so we could get through the mud and waterfall tributaries. We saw loads of plants, vines, parrots, trapdoor spider holes, termite nests, breathtaking stands of bamboo, old cedar, massive ferns, jungle lilies, and so much more. Enjoyed a delicious lunch by Shurland James afterward in her Hummingbird Garden... where we spotted 4 different species. Really great day. Would recommend!!

Date of experience: January 2018
3  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2017 via mobile

I was glad to see Fitzroy Quamina has received such good reviews, because he was a great guide. He picked us up in Parlatuvier, and took us down the Gilpin Trail, a muddy but only slightly rough hike. We saw 5 species of hummingbirds, two of tanagers, plus the usual motmots and jacamars, an elaenia, tropical hummingbird, orange winged parrots, manikins, and a banded antshrike, plus a great black hawk, soaring overhead. Also trapdoor spiders, a mirasou crab, and all manner of plants and trees, and too many waterfalls to count. Truly a wonderful 3 hour walk. He was a congenial companion, patient with my wife (who hates hiking steep downhills) and a mother lode of information.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2017

We drove up to the Forest Visitor Centre from Bloody Bay and, unbeknownst to us, Shurland followed us and then invited us to come back to her hummingbird centre, where we spent an hour or so photographing birds. She found a blue-backed manakin in the forest, which we would never have seen. We also saw a large tree boa and a green iguana near her house.

She then took us a short distance along the Gilpin Trail, where we saw a blue-crowned motmot. It was very slippery underfoot and, as usual in the rain forest, extremely humid.

She is a very knowledgeable guide and her hummingbird ‘park’ is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank PETRA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017

We trekked into the rainforest a few times during our stay, once was guided which is definitely recommended as you get to see things like the blood tree! and it is great to know exactly what you are looking at and not miss all of the interesting things.

The second time, we parked up near Castara and walked up through the forest to the waterfall. Nice easy trek with the kids and the waterfall and pool are fantastic to swim in when you get up to them.

Nearly forgot the parrots. Seeing flocks of parrots fly over your head is still something quite amazing to me. They are everywhere.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews