We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Mango Magic”
Review of Blue Mango

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobago
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Mango
Ranked #52 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Tobago
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My friend & I stayed in Trinity's cottage. I cannot recommend highly enough. Rebecca can COOK!!! The apartment was gorgeous - my favourite place on the island - well equipped, clean, all you could want. The view from the hammock was amazing & Rebecca was a total star. We loved our stay here so much that we came for four nights & stayed for eight. Thank you Rebecca for your fantastic Tobagan hospitality, Clare x

Room Tip: Seascape is also fantastic, if you want the best ever view of the ocean. (I particularly loved the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clareisaacClareisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

We just came back from a wonderful week at Blue Mango in early February 2012, staying in Sea Steps Cottage. When we first entered our place, our son looked out the beautiful ocean from our balcony, and said, "This is Paradise, Dad." It was.

The cottage is charming, clean and spacious. The beds are comfortable and covered with mosquito netting (though we never saw a mosquito once on our trip in early February). There are lounge chairs on the deck overlooking Castara Bay, two easy chairs and a nice dining room table with chairs. The sounds of crashing waves from our own beach (you walk down the stairs from Sea Steps and you're on this little personal beach) lulled us to sleep at night. I had the best sleeps ever.

Rebecca has decorated Sea Steps in bright, cheery colours. She loves colour, and it's everywhere. Lying in bed one night, I counted 7 different cheerful bright colours on the walls, window trims, curtains, and ceiling. Very Caribbean.

There's a perfectly fine kitchen with basic utensils. We cooked fresh fish we bought from the fishermen in town, but recommend people buy some basic groceries at the Penny Saver near the airport before they come to Castara. Not many groceries in Castara, but make sure to find out the schedule that the elderly ladies in town make home-made bread in wood ovens. That will keep you going.

Our son had an asthma attack he was there and unfortunately, left his puffers back home. Rebecca, along with Colin the other proprietor of Blue Mango were absolutely helpful, warm and comforting during the crisis, and Rebecca took us to the hospital in Scarborough, stayed with us for hours, went to the market to find us breakfast, took us to the pharmacy, and was the great moral support we could have asked for. All with a smile and good humour.

Rebecca also cooks meals for at the Clay Room (I think that's the name) at Blue Mango, and her cooking is great. Check which days she's open.

We had a terrible, expensive meal on Music Night at the Banana Boat restaurant on Little Castara Bay, right near Blue Mango. I highly recommend you go hear the music, especially the drumming, but don't eat dinner. Stand up at the bar, if you have to and buy some drinks, but don't eat there!

I have read a report on this site that visitors at Blue Mango had some personal property stolen while at Blue Mango.. We had absolutely no problem ourselves (two weeks later), but it's true there have been some problems in Castara, even at Blue Mango, and Rebecca and Colin don't hide it (for which I think they're both honest and smart). They tell their guests in no uncertain terms that it's essential to lock your room and things up when you leave the apartment or cottage; don't bring locals back to your room, and don't take valuables with you to the beach. We had no problem whatsoever, but clearly, it's essential to follow these recommendations.

We loved our stay at Blue Mango, and highly recommend it. Rebecca and Colin (and darling daughter Trinity) were lovely hosts, helpful and warm.

The one other thing I think people should be aware of before booking, though, is this. As Tobago is extremely hilly, everything's built on the mountainside. Sea Steps Cottage is no different. There are a lot of steps to get down from Sea Steps from the main entrance to Blue Mango. Both my husband and I have creaky knees, but we were fine. If you have any serious problem with steps, you should probably consider something other than Sea Steps.

Room Tip: Sea Steps is lovely, overlooking the ocean, and with a small private beach when you walk down stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda18081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We spent 10 days at the Blue Mango in January 2012,staying in Lower Sweet Point apartment, clean , spacious, colourful and quirky. WE loved the waves on the rocks below our windows, the views of Castara little beach, the ocean beyond and beers on the balcony at sunset were the icing on the cake.
Rebekah is lovely, made us feel really welcome, picked us up from the airport and her cooking is amazing. She made us lots of interesting vegetarian dishes all with local ingredients and even gave away a few secret tips for us to try at home. Triniy, her daughter, always has a happy smile and makes you laugh.
We spent most of our days on Englishmans beach, an energetic 1 hours walk from Castara and we like being able to walk to the village and choose from lots of eateries in the evenings.
The relaxed atmosphere made for our perfect holiday, the Blue Mango is laid back, welcoming and we would recomend it to anyone looking for peace and quiet with a traditional, local feel.

Room Tip: All of the apartments looked great, we had a peek, Sea Steps is very close to the waves awesome.But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walcotwoollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We booked the three cottages at Sweet Point for five nights over New Year 2011 (or Old Year 2010 for Trinis!) for a group of five (two couples and a single traveller). The location is absolutely amazing, overlooking the Castara Bay on one side and Little Bay on the other. You fall asleep at night to the sound of the ocean and wake up to the sound of birds. The owner, Colin, a really nice and laid-back host, and Rebecca is the most incredible cook, surprising us with very generous local dishes (when you go, ask ahead of time for the crab and dumplings), and Trinity will always make you smile! The rooms are rustic but perfect for a relaxed vacation.
In the afternoon you buy fresh fish from the fishermen on the beach, you can walk to the little waterfall nearby, swim in the ocean or just relax in a hammock. There is some good snorkelling in Little Bay although you have to watch the surf.
Whilst Castara is a couple of hours drive from the airport, it's absolutely worth it to be able to get away from it all. Colin will also help to book tours of the rain forest and anything else that you might want.
We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We had a marriage ceremony at Blue mango and it was amazing. Rebecca was really personable and friendly. Colin was very easy going and nice to chat with, and plays a great game of "scrabble".The kids are very friendly and are lovely by nature. We really enjoyed the sound of the waves crashing on the shore and relaxing us in a gentle return to nature. The time spent there was nothing less than amazing and much love goes out to the Blue mango crew.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kinggabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

This place is great, we’d go back in a heartbeat! Me and my wife spend two glorious weeks at Blue Mango in October 2010, 5 nights in one of the Sweet Point Cottage apartments and 9 nights in the Sea Steps cottage. Sweet Point Cottage is nice, the views from the balcony is amazing and the place have all the amenities you need.

However, Sea Steps is the star of Blue Mango. The bedroom is good size, the bed is large and comfortable and the bathroom has a good shower with warm water and plenty of room. And still it’s the living room space that makes this place. Kitchen area, table and sun beds open to the ocean.
There were days we didn’t even leave the cottage. The ever present soothing noise from the surf breaking a few meters below you, the private stair down to your own little beach, the birds. If you are looking for peace and quiet you can’t do better than this.

The rooms are kept nice and clean. They are also very open to the elements, making it impossible for them to get stuffy but also enabling birds and the odd insect to find its way inside. It never bothered us, indeed it’s fun to watch the bananaquits fly around.

Rebecca is a great hostess and a talented cook, her simple yet tasty local fare is amazing. Even the crab and dumpling, although messy to eat. And she mixes a mean rum punch.

So we give this place all thumbs up, and recommend anyone seeking peace and quiet to go there, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Very quirky - great views but probably better in the dry season as sea very close and very noisy - could do with some maintenance & cleaner only turned up once at the beginnining of stay. Owners not around very much but lovely people.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tobago hotels
0 km away
Greenhaven Cottage Bed And Breakfast
0 km away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
0 km away
Bellissimo Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
652 reviews
0 km away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
0 km away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mango

Address: Castara Postal Agency | St David Parish, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Tobago
Price Range: $93 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Blue Mango Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing