We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
34
15
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
15
3
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 57 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Blue Mango in September 2007 for six nights. We had requested the Sweet Point cabin but Colin, the owner, asked if we'd like to stay in the Sea Steps cabin because he was remodeling Sweet Point during our visit. He was very professional about the whole thing and offered us Sea Steps at the same price as Sweet Point as long as we moved to Sweet Point for the last 2 days of our stay once it was finished.
Castara is about an hour drive from Crown Point and the trip involves navigation of pretty terrifying mountain roads. We got a taxi which was intense enough. I can't imagine actually driving that route.
The Blue Mango is situated in the center of Castara village on a cliff that juts out over the Sea. The property consists of the Blue Mango cottage which is on the main road with scant sea views but very comfortable accomodations, Sweet Point cottage which is a two apartment unit on the edge the cliff that looks out over Heavenly Bay and half of Castara, and Sea Steps which dramaticaly sticks out over its own beach and the ocean.
Sea Steps is heaven. Pure heaven. You walk down a steep flight of stairs to an open air apartment that is pretty much suspended over the Caribbean sea. If you don't like the the ocean, don't stay here!
Sweet Point was very nice as well. After Sea Steps it was a bit of a let down but if you can't drop $200 a night on a room it is well worth it.
Colin, Rebecca, and Bobby are amazing. They really made our stay in Tobago special and they are a big reason we will be going back to Tobago.
If you are expecting an all inclusive resort that caters to your every need DO NOT STAY HERE! PLEASE! Stay up the street at Castara Retreats or some other resort. The Blue Mango is for people who want to connect with Tobago on a personal level. Please don't bother with this place if you want every comfort of home. Stay here if you want to experiance a getaway like no other where bannanaquits wake you up shortly after sunrise by chirping loudly on your bedpost and the roar of the sea is a mere 20 feet away.
I will be staying here again and bringing friends!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmann18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Please check the dates of reviews before you book this accomodation. We checked out Trip Advisor and as there were quite a few good reviews on Blue Mango, we decided to give it a try. We were charged £100 per night and stayed here for 4 nights.

I had really been looking forward to our trip as we were staying on a few islands on our 2 week holiday, and Tobago was our last stop before heading home. We arrived at the airport in Tobago and upon arrival we had arranged with Blue Mango to be picked up. We had given them via email all relevant flight and arrival information and had confirmation, but when we stepped out to arrivals, there was no one there. We tried to find the number and call the accomodation a few times, we ended up not getting through to anyone at all. We had to then negotiate a fare with a taxi, and endure a pretty bumpy and uncomfortable 2.5 hours to our destination.

When we tried to find the place, our taxi driver spent some time driving around as there is no clear sign post. When we eventually found Blue Mango, there was no one around at all to even direct us to where we were staying! The people we did find didn't seem to know what was going on. When a person who actually worked there came to help us, we were thankfully taken to our accomodation which was Sea Steps.

Now this is why i say CHECK THE DATE OF REVIEW as everything within the accomodation was so outdated, I feared it was a major health and safety issue. We have done camping out in the wild in Africa and other such trips, and don't mind not having the home comforts, but this was beyond a joke. Feeling sick from the fact we paid £100 a night (and also from the nightmare taxi ride to Blue Mango) it felt as though we had paid for the best seats at a show but were given the most uncomfortable seats to watch the show.

We did have an amazing view, especially when the sun was setting, but this is all I can really positively say. The place has a massive potential to be a fantastic get away, if the owners would look around and do some proper renovation work to the place.

The kitchen facilities were old and worn, the decking for the kitchen and living space, and balcony (which I have to add you can look thorugh the cracks in the floor and see a 25ft drop below you onto rocks and sand) were worn with rot and damage, the steps down to the beach were broken and could possible do some serious damage to anyone not paying attention, the bathroom was make shift and outdated, oh and the private beach below was not great for sunbathing as the sea rose to the rocky edge.

My major complaint about this place was the noise. I love sleeping close to the sea and listening to relaxing waves, but this sounded like the brink of a tsunami! The waves would come in from all directions, left, right and centre, and crash against the rocks. So as I tried to sleep each night, if I wasn't scared to death about the crashing rocks, I was scared that we would wake up to find our bed had fallen through the bedroom floor in the night and we were on the rocks or swept out to sea!

Good luck anyone else who chooses this location before some serious work is completed to make this the fantastic place it should be.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SunSeekers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2007

We have just returned from our best holiday ever, staying first at Sweet Point Upper Level (just renovated) and then at Sea Steps (simply stunning) at the Blue Mango in Castara. Yes, it did take about a day to adjust to the pace of life (very very slow), the roar of the sea and the lack of anything to bother / distract you - apart from the absolutely amazing and constantly changing view. Who needs TV when you have birdlife, fishing boats, waves and sunsets?! Oh, yes and the occasional tropical storm!

Colin is running the place on his own at the moment and the Clay Kitchen is closed (as Rebecca is looking after Trinity a bit nearer her school), but that didn't detract from our experience - it probably made it all the more peaceful. We ate out at four great restaurants (no, they don't have menus, you just go with the flow) and we cooked some romantic meals in the Sea Steps kitchenette (once we'd worked out what we could buy in the local shops to make a cohesive meal). Shopping there was a fun and educational experience - some days there would be bread, other days you could buy eggs, etc. As I said earlier, a different pace of life - and also a real insight into how another culture lives!

Would we go back? Definitely! And that's the first time we've ever had that reaction to a holiday before. Other holidays have been made special by the people we have met or some specific experience. Blue Mango is special just by existing. If you're laid back, don't expect to be waited upon, can cope with being face to face with nature and the elements and can entertain yourselves then it's a perfect place to be. If you don't want these things, please don't book - and leave the place for us!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LizofLewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2007

We found Blue Mango in the Rough Guide which I think more aptly describes the cottages than the website. Booking was a very relaxed affair (pay when you get here). Before we left we had an email saying we would have to spend a night or two in Sweet Point, despite having been told on the telephone we could have Cliff Hanger Cottage for the whole week. An inauspicious start.
On arrival no sign of Colin or Rebecca, but a young girl showed us to Sweet Point Cottage. The shower room had a cut out so you could look out to sea - fabulous - and the cottage was more than adequate in a rustic fashion. We had booked, and eventually paid for bed and breakfast ,and did manage to persuade the young girl to get us breakfast on our first morning. However, on the second morning Colin told us that Rebecca was away, so to go and get breakfast at a beachfront cafe and he would reimburse us. When Rebecca returned ,we were told no it did not include breakfast (they had not updated the website was the excuse, as well as having a baby!). As the accommodation was relatively reasonably priced and the breakfast at the beachfront cafe very good and reasonably priced too, we could not be bothered to make an issue of this, but it did leave a slightly nasty taste in the mouth. I think the problem was that it was the end of the season and Rebecca, along with several of the other restaurant/cafe owners, just opened when they felt like it - very caribbean you might say, but still a bit frustrating when you have been promised otherwise.
The one night when Rebecca did decide to open her Clay Kitchen food was nice (although be prepared to get bitten to death by mozzies on that verandah) and Colin and Rebecca were charming hosts on that evening. Colin also showed us the recently refurbished Sea Steps cottage which was stunning. After a couple of days we were moved to the cottage we originally booked, Cliff Hanger, which was equally quirky. However because of all this we just could not quite relax and enjoy Tobago as much as we had hoped. Englishman's Bay is a must, and we took a bus to visit Fort George in the capital, Scarborough. My recommendation would be to hire a car. Whilst Mango Bay is get away from it all, paradise it is not quite. Don't expect too much or to be dealt with in a proper businesslike manner and you will probably love it.

  • Stayed: May 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scissorsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2007

We stayed at Blue Mango for 7 nights and had a great time. We stayed in Sea Steps. The dining/living area is open and looks right out to the sea. Whilst relaxing on the balcony we fed birds with bread and banana. In the evenings we fed bats by leaving banana on the balcony. The kitchen is well furnished with a large fridge and freezer, a large stove and oven, a toaster and pans, plates and cutlery. The bedroom has a comfortable bed and looks out over the sea.

A side door off the balcony takes you down some steps to your own little cove from which you can swim (and sometimes walk to two other beaches (one just to the left and one just to the right).

When snorkelling I saw some great stuff including large rays and cuttle fish. You can actually see rays from the balcony. My parents were staying in another of the spaces at Blue Mango "Sweet Point" which has an incredible view around the bay and has a spacious bedroom. There is little to pick between the two accommodations although they are very different in design. You can watch the sun set from both. Rebecca and Kellyann made us feel welcome and cooked Crab and Dumplings for us which was great.

Castara is a great place. I was surprised at how much there was to do there- probably around 5-6 restaurants which also act as bars. The food is good especially the fish and the service was generally excellent and always friendly. Most restaurants have an evening with a steel band playing once a week- we had a fantastic time at The Boat House and there was a great atmosphere on Wednesday night. It is also worth visiting Englishman’s Bay which is a stunning beach just a little further up the coast.

There are numerous small shops within walking distance to stock
up on groceries and drinks - wine is available although quite expensive. There are numerous tour guides and I think all probably offer good value for money with fishing, snorkelling and rain forest trips. The waterfall is a 20 minute walk from Blue Mango and is worth seeing.

One of the best things about Castara is that there is no hassle from any vendors. You wont feel pressured to do anything or buy anything. It's very relaxed and friendly.

We spent the last few nights around the Crown Point end of the island. It was a nice change of scenery and Pigeon Point is a good beach but I am glad we stayed in Castara and would recommend it and Blue Mango highly.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AndyBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews