We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As Good As It Gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“As Good As It Gets”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The staff, the facility and the location were everything we wished to find.

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor in teh middle building exiting right to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    174
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
237
331
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We just arrived home from our one week stay at Villa del Mar (Feb 28-Mar 6), this was me and my boyfriends first trip to the TCI. I was so happy to choose Villa del Mar as our hotel, which I chose after reading many wonderful reviews!! As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a friendly smile and some of the local rum punch(Great touch(!! All the grounds were clean and well landscaped. We chose a one bedroom with a den which was beautiful, better than all the pictures I had seen. We loved having a full kitchen, it was perfectly stocked with all the utensils we needed. We went to the local grocery store and bought eggs, meat, ect., which I warn you is extremely over priced because most of it is imported (believe it or not the locals pay the same prices!) We took a lot of snack stuff with us which came in handy while we were at the beach! Our room was on the third floor so it was super quiet and private with a great view of the pool. The beach was literally 5 minutes from our room. And as for the beach it was the most beautiful beach I've ever seen in my life!! The water is so aqua and clear...Heaven on earth!! Its truly a sight to see!!! The hotel has its own beach area with lounge chairs and umbrellas. The twin beach attendants Kerone and Lerone were so friendly, everyday they had smiles on their faces. They were so helpful to arrange water activities for us, bring lunch right to our beach chairs, and bring me my favorite strawberry/banana daquiri!! We absolutely loved the beach! We were there at least 5 hours everyday..lol Make sure to bring lots and lots of sun block! I learned my lesson one day when I got very sun burnt. The bartender on grounds was actually very helpful and went and cut some fresh aloe to help my sun burn (Don't listen to thyme8 she went out of her way to help me out!!) The internet connection was always great for us in the room....we were on vacation didnt need to really pay attention to getting on the net, it was relaxing time!! Villa del Mar truly over exceeded our expectations!! We cant wait to go back!! Don't over spend at the beach front properties when VDM is only a few step from heaven!! Thank you VDM!! :-)

Things you definitely have to do!
SNUBA- we had so much fun swimming with the fish! Since we don't have our scuba certification yet it was a perfect introduction! Jody was great!!

Island Vibes Boat Tour- This was an amazing 4 hour trip!! We got to snorkel, visit Iguana Island(which is the most amazing beach we saw on the island), See Conch caught and made into fresh ceviche and dive 15 feet off the top of the boat!! Ask for Captain Spike he was awesome!!

Parasail- This was our first time parasailing...it was amazing, definitely a must do it your into adventure!!

Room Tip: The one bedroom with the full kitchen comes in handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I agree with most of all the other reviews on this site. That’s why I booked this hotel. It had excellent reviews and it deserves them. It’s a beautiful property, with clean rooms, friendly staff and a perfect location. This hotel could be a top tier if a few things were addressed. These things were annoyances on our trip, but not enough for me to tell someone not to stay at VDM. These are things that I think are helpful to know and perhaps VDM can make some changes to address them.

Breakfast is adequate. But the attendant during our trip was either absent from her station, or on the phone the whole time. Many guests complained to each other that there was no one there to offer help. In addition, the supplies would run low and she wouldn’t refill them. Breakfast went from 7:30-9:30. We went at 7:32 one morning due to an early excursion and she said she wasn’t open yet. By 9:00am, many items are out of stock and she’s nowhere to be found to replenish. Tip: Go to breakfast around 8-8:30. She’ll definitely be open by then. She still won’t be available to help you, but at least stock shouldn’t be too low.

Treadmill still isn’t working. Gym is tiny, but adequate, if the treadmill worked. You can see from past reviews that the treadmill has been down for months. The gym only has 3-4 pieces of equipment, which again is adequate, if all three were working.

Internet connection is terrible. The staff at the desk helps you on the phone, but it’s not reliable and frankly, it’s annoying in this day and age to have to call so many times to get the thing working. There is a laptop in the lobby that is available for anyone to use and has a reliable connection.

The rooms were definitely clean, but not “deep clean.” Two areas stood out that could have been better. 1. The deck. They never swept the deck during our entire stay and they didn’t clean the glass on the sliding door. So the handprint that was there on day 2, was still there on day 9. We had enough sand on the deck to fill a small sandbox. 2. They didn’t clean the shower stall. I know this because a bit of shampoo was spilled and clearly visible on the floor of the shower. It was still there day after day. It just surprised me that a hotel of this caliber didn’t clean those two areas. But all other areas of the room were clean. The maid did the dishes each day, made beds, refreshed towels, etc.

There are a lot of beach toys available at the VDM desk at the hotel. I called the hotel before we left to check on certain things. Beach supplies were something I asked about. They said they didn’t offer those. Wrong. They have dozens of toys and boogies boards available.

They often run out of pool towels. When you see them out and folded, grab some so you won’t be without any later when they run out.

Tip! Bring salt, pepper, mustard, ketchup packets from home. The unit is stocked with the cookware and plates, but nothing else. No replenishable supplies at all in the kitchen. They do give you two small things of laundry soap. The washer/dryer is stackable. It does a large load in about 30 minutes. Another tip, bring handled grocery bags. The grocery story is an easy walk, but it’s hard to walk back holding your items with the slippery plastic bags they give you. Throw a handled bag or two into your luggage, then it’s an easy walk back with your groceries.

A few great things: cocktail party with the managers on Wednesday night, pool staff keeps the grounds gorgeous and clean, security staff visible at night, lots of hangers in the closet (30+), the fact that they offer breakfast at all. Many hotels don’t.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms open right onto the pool. Very convenient to keep the interior door locked and go i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Thyme8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadelmarGM, Director of Development and Operations at Villa del Mar, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear valued Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding you recent stay. We always appreciate any information that can help fine tune our operations and maintain our superior service our guests expect and receive. I would like to offer our apologies regarding the internet service during your stay. We were undergoing a major upgrade to our service and had informed our guests that the the internet service would be slow during the professional overview and upgrade. We are pleased to inform you that the glitch has been resolved with excellent results. We receive many compliments regarding our delux breakfast bar and the service offered. I discussed your concerns with our breakfast bar associate. Regarding our treadmill, parts are not available on island and it took 2.5 weeks to reciece the parts and repair the machine, not months.
Again, we greatly appreciate all the comments and reviews of our past guests and value your business. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the beautiful Turks and Caicos Islands.

Alan M. Lawley
Director of Development & Operations
alan@yourvilladelmar.com
1-877-238-4058
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Booked this hotel based on the reviews from Tripadvisor. It was a great choice. Close by to airport about a 15 mintue ride.
Hotel is located across the street from the ocean, only a 2 minute walk to the white sand!
Rooms are very nice and spacious. Rented a room with a kitchenette which was perfect for our stay. Hotel is in walking distance to the market and was able to get things for breakfast and lunch and the refrigerator, microwave and toaster was a big help.
Bathroom was big as well, the balcony was a good size with a table and chairs. It overlooked the pool area.
This is a small boutique hotel with a great swimming pool area and grounds. It is in walking distance to a lot of restaurants. We did rent a car for about $30/day. Taking taxis is about that each trip so it is well worth it and you are able to see more of the island that way. It was a bit windy on our visit and being able to drive to the other side of the island where there is less wind on the beach, was great.
I would highly recommend this hotel and be back to visit the VDM again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nepats11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We just got back from a week (February 11-18, 2012) in T&C staying at the Villa del Mar (VDM). We thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a complex of 3 buildings of condos.

Pros:
- The condo and premises were very clean
- We rented a condo with a full kitchen (there are some with just a kitchenette) and it was fully equipped. There is a grocery store within easy walking distance and communal BBQs on the premises so we ate in for several meals. The restaurants in the area are ridiculously expensive ($70 for lunch for two with no booze!) so being able to cook for ourselves was great.
- Our condo was very nicely decorated and spacious and we enjoyed our private patio (we were on the 2nd floor with a corner unit).
- 2 pools and 1 hot tub: It was nice having 2 pools because if there were a bunch of small children playing in one pool, we could go to the other one.
- helpful, nice staff
- very comfortable bed (king)
- 2 mins from the beach. Not being on the beach was not a problem at all. There is a designated area on the beach with towels, loungers and beverage service for VDM guests. Having walked the entire beach, we concluded that the VDM area was one of the nicest areas of Grace Bay.
- Close to all amenities including a plethora of restaurants, shops and the grocery store.
- suitable for couples looking for a romantic getaway or families with children


Cons:
- The wi fi internet connection was terrible. If we hooked up our computer directly to the modem then it was reliable. It seemed that all of the guests were having problems so this issue was not confined to our unit.
- There was no beach equipment (ie hobie cats, snorkeling gear, kayaks), but we were able to rent this from a neighbouring hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have private patios. Those on the ground floor are open to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKGSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at Villa Del Mar (VDM) from 22nd Jan - 06 Feb 2012. It provides beautiful high end, very well appointed spacious suites with Kitchen just seconds away from the beach. We also appreciated the large airy rooms, very high standard of cleanliness and abundance of towels. The charming courtyard is very welcoming with two pools plus lounge chairs, a hot tub to socialize and B-B-Qs to do your own steaks!.
Vdm's staff makes it outstanding! They were always smiling and friendly, helpful and very prompt with good advice and followup reservations. Their excursion and food recommendations were all very good. Beach service was very friendly, with ample umbrellas, chairs, drinking water and ready supply of towels.
Grocery Store, Pharmacy and excellent restaurants are within walking distance.
We would love to return to Turks & Caicos and Villa Del Mar!

Room Tip: Our preference is for suites on Ground floor with walk out access to Pool and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashok S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This place is not on the beach but the access to the beach is real near and easy. It's a 2 min walk and you're right on the white sandy and turquoise water of Turks and Caicos.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSquare805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.4 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
2,311 reviews
2.0 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
361 reviews
3.5 km away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 45 in Providenciales
1,904 reviews
2.1 km away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#17 of 45 in Providenciales
1,609 reviews
1.2 km away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#22 of 45 in Providenciales
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Property: Villa del Mar
Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing