We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

First off, take the advice of many Turks travelers: more money less clothes.
The RWI Resort is a beautiful property. Most of the staff are incredible. Our stay was from 3/18-3/23 2012.
Here's my advice, stay on the highest floor possible. The flooring is all ceramic tile and occupants above will begin sliding chairs, dropping stuff, and running (wait stomping) laps around their room promptly at 7am. I was on the first floor in room 312. Staying on the upper level will allow you to avoid the staff activities involving walkie-talkies and maintanace. I would not stay at building 3 if I return. There is a sensor that goes off randomly (usually when you want to nap) that sounds like a smoke alarm. It involves the truck lift or something. It went off everyday we were there. The front desk is unaware until you call. Our phone was 90% static as well. The fridge was on it's last legs. The bed was great and made sleeping easy.
The beach is great. Get out there early (i.e. 5am) to stake your claim to a chair and umbrella. We had no problem getting the staff to move us or set up chairs away from the crowds. We had several 4 person NEW families with babies around us what seemed like everyday. While we like babies and families, we didn't care for the new mothers saying the babies' names 50 times a minute. Thanks "Owen's Mom". LOL. We had no issues really with getting a bit of quiet.
We didn't eat at the restuarant there. We had drinks at the bar the last night. Sammy is great.
I don't want anyone to think this resort is horrible as it is not. Just this particular building. I would suggest using VRBO to find a place here instead of Expedia or others. You can probably get a better deal and nicer place. Would have given a 5 star raiting but the noise and such caused the 4 stars.
Listen up and listen good: get to the airport 3-4 hours ahead. While flying in will be pleasant, departing will remind you of trying to evacuate a third world country during an invasion. It is horribly unorganized. We barely made our flight even while arriving 2.5 hours ahead. There are no signs or directions. Go in first and check-in. Then get back in the line that will wrap 2 times across the length of the front of the airport which is the security line. If you stand in line, you will have to check in and then get back in line at the end. Other travelers will help. Good luck.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible. Use VRBO. There are no true "beach front" there so do not waste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AtlantaJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 2,017 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

We reserved an ocean view room but of we stood on our tiptoes we could see it over the trees. We moved to building two and had a better view but still not what we hoped for. Ask for Ocean front if u want view. The pools are lively the staff is great and it maintains a friendly laid back atmosphere. They are accomadating and helpful/ ESP the housekeeping staff. We got a one bedroom which had a corner balcony and that was nice. Live music water sports etc are available- movies and books in lobby -restraint is very good too. One negative is you have to walk a Long way from your car to room-but that leaves more oceanfront t space for the resort

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beenaroundtheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I would make a return visit to this resort. The landscaping is beautiful, the staff is well trained, it is quiet and very well maintained. The bikes provided by the resort, two hour limit, are very useful if one judges driving on the left as unnecessary and probably dangerous. The Graceway Gourmet grocery is within walking distance, probably 0.7 miles, but the bikes make resupply a lot easier. A trip out to lunch or seeing other parts of the island can be done in the two hour limit. Within easy walking distance from the resort is Fresh bakery. Salads and sandwiches are very good and reasonably priced, which is unusual for Provo. Baked goods are also high quality. The onsite restaurant, Pelican Bay, is okay, but there are so many very good to excellent restaurants one may want to limit oneself to breakfast, lunch and happy hour. The bartenders are very good and the 2 for 1 is the best. The extreme beauty of the beach and water can't be captured in a picture. It is considered to be one of the most beautiful beaches in the world for good reason. And RWI is located on a wonderful stretch of the beach. One can walk almost endlessly in either direction, snorkeling gear, catamarans, kayaks, beach chairs, and umbrellas are available to guests at no charge. The staff at the beach are very accommodating and friendly. The Provo Golf Club is within walking distance as are a number of excellent restaurants. One can pay a lot more to stay in neighboring resorts if a very high level of service is a necessity. If one is more independent and appreciates value, this resort is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We just spent a great week at RWI. This was our second year in a row and we have not returned to any other of our previous destinations. We had a studio garden view instead of the one bedrom suite last year which was just as nice, that was tastefully done. The gardens are one of kind, and that beach is to die for. The staff was very accommodating and the service excellent. Why stay any where else in Provo? Rent a car from Grace Bay rentals, it is worth the cost for the flexibility, go to Taylor Bay and the other beaches on the island. Don't forget it is an island, food is expensive! But you are vacation, live it up. We stopped at other resorts on this trip to compare, and there is no comparison, RWI is well worth the money!

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank ATH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Recommended this hotel by a travel agent specializing in scuba holidays and was pleased with the resort. We had a unit with 2 bedrooms and some shared living space which was clean, well equipped and well maintained. The pool areas were nicely landscaped and there was easy access to the beach, though a long walk from some units. Color of the sea was gloriously turquoise and the beach staff were helpful, setting up new umbrellas when all the rest were taken. The beach is very built up though with a solid line of hotels and resorts. Not the place to go if you were hoping to get away from people, particularly families with small children. Main disappointment was the restaurant which was very average at best and extremely overpriced, particularly for breakfast. Luckily there is a grocery store less than 10mins walk ( or 5 mins on the free bicycles) and we used our kitchen to make breakfast. Although we had no problem in this area, there were many days when people seemed to be hanging around waiting to get into their room ( check in seems to be way later than one major flight arrives) so make sure your bathing suit is in your hand luggage and if you have small children who do not do well with waiting, aim to take the later US airways flight to T&C arriving at the hotel after 3. RWI is near the end of the Grace Bay strip so many restarants and shops were a fair distance. Free hotel bikes not allowed out at night. Taxi easily arranged by hotel staff and was $20 per ride for 4 of us; taxi to and from the airport $15 per person in a minivan that accomodated all our luggage easily

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Terrible experience. I had to arrive a day later because of a strike at the Turks & Caicos airports, I called the hotel in advance to notify this, but they did charge me for that first night anyway! I have lost more than USD 300 because of this and they did not even agree to credit my account to at least spend the money in the restaurant! they just stole the money from me! and the Operations Manager even told me that the hotel did not care about my late arrival, even after acknowledging that it was a generalized problem in Turks & Caicos. They did not even care that I was travelling with my 6-month preganant wife. This experienced ruined my stayed in Provo. DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL, THEY DO NOT TREAT THE GUESTS AS THEY SHOULD (AND THAT'S THE ESSENCE OF THE WHOLE HOSPITALITY BUSINESS!!!). This is no exageration, see my other reviews and you will see that I have been lucky enough to travel around the globe. This hotel made me feel as bad as never before.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
23  Thank JorgeLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey B, General Manager at Royal West Indies Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Jorge LD

Thank you for the response regarding your stay at Royal West Indies Resort. Firstly, as a "Senior Contributor on Trip Advisor" I find your claim that "we" stole one night from you absolutely inaccurate and completely incorrect. The strike at the local Providenciales airport was unfortunate and beyond the control of the resort. The room category that you booked was reserved for your specific dates. As a result, a last minute cancellation either in full or for part of the nights would incur a charge as we cannot resale that room for that lost night.

Our website clearly states our cancellation policy/period in which charges would apply. In your review you state that you called the day before, however, that is not within our cancellation period, therefore a charge was applied. This policy is similar or common to all global hotels, resorts, airline, tour companies, etc. This is the primary reason why TRAVEL & TRIP CANCELLATION INSURANCE is highly recommended.

I am sorry you did not have a good experience. Royal West Indies Resort has received several accolades since its inception and continues to outperform several other resorts in the region. The resort management company that operates the property prides itself "on the essence of the hospitality business".

We wish you all the best in your future insured travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I absolutely loved this hotel. My girlfriend and I stayed in Provo for 2 nights in the Alexandria hotel and were supposed to go to Grand Turk for 2 nights when our flight was cancelled due to firemen striking at the airport. We stayed in Provo and chose the Royal West Indies as a change. What a difference. The entire grounds is full of lush, colorful gardens that really make you feel like you're in a tropical paradise. We stayed on the 2nd floor with an ocean view and watched the sun set over Provo for the next two nights. Great 2 pools and hot tub. Friendly staff. Good restaurant and cool bar. Really big difference to the Alexandria which we both found to be incredibly bland, or as another hotel guest put it, sterile. There are a couple of things I should point out that are missing IF you need them: 1) an elevator to get to the 2nd and 3rd floor (might be tough for the elderly), 2) a restaurant on the beach (in my opinion the point is to walk down the beach and choose a restaurant outside of your hotel). Make sure you check out Malcolm's beach and Pelican beach if you go.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 222 and 223 in building 2 - AMAZING VIEWS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GatorNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
2.3 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
539 reviews
0.7 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,918 reviews
3.8 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#7 of 44 in Providenciales
1,605 reviews
0.7 km away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#24 of 44 in Providenciales
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $312 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, West Indies, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing