We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal West Indies Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Really nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We weren't sure what to expect, but the one bedroom suite was huge! The kitchen was decent, not gourmet, but more than enough for a vacation. Full size appliances were great. We stayed in suite 635 and Ron and Claire (the owners) were extremely helpful. They answered emails very quickly and we didn't have any problems at all. It was great to rent through the hotel, but get the discounted price of VRBO - best of both worlds! There is no ocean view, but it was worth saving the money. We only heard Club Med once next door and not at all when we were inside with the door closed. This is probably the best stretch of beach on Grace Bay - wide, clean, calm. The restaurant here is okay - we went out for most lunch and dinners and ate breakfast in our room. The location is great, I'm really surprised we didn't see more about this before we went. You can definitely walk to all kinds of good restaurants and shops from here (Coco Bistro, Fresh, Graceway Gourmet, several shopping areas, etc.)

Only real annoyance: We were always able to find chairs at the pool or beach, but it was really annoying how people would "claim" chairs for hours. We'd walk by and see the same book sitting on a chair, clearly not moved for hours - this is obnoxious. If you're not going to be there for half the day there is no reason to claim a chair, there will be one available when you need it.

We'd definitely come back. It's not super-luxury, but it's a very nice resort with a great staff and an amazing location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kab1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    637
    119
    41
    27
See reviews for
316
1,033
62
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Quiet, beautiful beach and hotel. Staff kind and helpful. Do not listen to any of the bad reviews.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gersian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Room have a kitchenette, washer & dryer. Modern furnishings and very private layout, so you don't have to see any neighbors unless you choose to.

Beach is fantastic, very well kept grounds, helpful staff, good food at restaurant.

You would need a car of you plan to do anything outside of the hotel though.

All hotels should be like this. Not the fanciest I've stayed in, but definitely one of the best overall.

I stayed on business, but I will return with my family for a vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WestIndian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

First off, take the advice of many Turks travelers: more money less clothes.
The RWI Resort is a beautiful property. Most of the staff are incredible. Our stay was from 3/18-3/23 2012.
Here's my advice, stay on the highest floor possible. The flooring is all ceramic tile and occupants above will begin sliding chairs, dropping stuff, and running (wait stomping) laps around their room promptly at 7am. I was on the first floor in room 312. Staying on the upper level will allow you to avoid the staff activities involving walkie-talkies and maintanace. I would not stay at building 3 if I return. There is a sensor that goes off randomly (usually when you want to nap) that sounds like a smoke alarm. It involves the truck lift or something. It went off everyday we were there. The front desk is unaware until you call. Our phone was 90% static as well. The fridge was on it's last legs. The bed was great and made sleeping easy.
The beach is great. Get out there early (i.e. 5am) to stake your claim to a chair and umbrella. We had no problem getting the staff to move us or set up chairs away from the crowds. We had several 4 person NEW families with babies around us what seemed like everyday. While we like babies and families, we didn't care for the new mothers saying the babies' names 50 times a minute. Thanks "Owen's Mom". LOL. We had no issues really with getting a bit of quiet.
We didn't eat at the restuarant there. We had drinks at the bar the last night. Sammy is great.
I don't want anyone to think this resort is horrible as it is not. Just this particular building. I would suggest using VRBO to find a place here instead of Expedia or others. You can probably get a better deal and nicer place. Would have given a 5 star raiting but the noise and such caused the 4 stars.
Listen up and listen good: get to the airport 3-4 hours ahead. While flying in will be pleasant, departing will remind you of trying to evacuate a third world country during an invasion. It is horribly unorganized. We barely made our flight even while arriving 2.5 hours ahead. There are no signs or directions. Go in first and check-in. Then get back in the line that will wrap 2 times across the length of the front of the airport which is the security line. If you stand in line, you will have to check in and then get back in line at the end. Other travelers will help. Good luck.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible. Use VRBO. There are no true "beach front" there so do not waste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AtlantaJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We reserved an ocean view room but of we stood on our tiptoes we could see it over the trees. We moved to building two and had a better view but still not what we hoped for. Ask for Ocean front if u want view. The pools are lively the staff is great and it maintains a friendly laid back atmosphere. They are accomadating and helpful/ ESP the housekeeping staff. We got a one bedroom which had a corner balcony and that was nice. Live music water sports etc are available- movies and books in lobby -restraint is very good too. One negative is you have to walk a Long way from your car to room-but that leaves more oceanfront t space for the resort

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaroundtheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I would make a return visit to this resort. The landscaping is beautiful, the staff is well trained, it is quiet and very well maintained. The bikes provided by the resort, two hour limit, are very useful if one judges driving on the left as unnecessary and probably dangerous. The Graceway Gourmet grocery is within walking distance, probably 0.7 miles, but the bikes make resupply a lot easier. A trip out to lunch or seeing other parts of the island can be done in the two hour limit. Within easy walking distance from the resort is Fresh bakery. Salads and sandwiches are very good and reasonably priced, which is unusual for Provo. Baked goods are also high quality. The onsite restaurant, Pelican Bay, is okay, but there are so many very good to excellent restaurants one may want to limit oneself to breakfast, lunch and happy hour. The bartenders are very good and the 2 for 1 is the best. The extreme beauty of the beach and water can't be captured in a picture. It is considered to be one of the most beautiful beaches in the world for good reason. And RWI is located on a wonderful stretch of the beach. One can walk almost endlessly in either direction, snorkeling gear, catamarans, kayaks, beach chairs, and umbrellas are available to guests at no charge. The staff at the beach are very accommodating and friendly. The Provo Golf Club is within walking distance as are a number of excellent restaurants. One can pay a lot more to stay in neighboring resorts if a very high level of service is a necessity. If one is more independent and appreciates value, this resort is hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampsire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012 via mobile

We just spent a great week at RWI. This was our second year in a row and we have not returned to any other of our previous destinations. We had a studio garden view instead of the one bedrom suite last year which was just as nice, that was tastefully done. The gardens are one of kind, and that beach is to die for. The staff was very accommodating and the service excellent. Why stay any where else in Provo? Rent a car from Grace Bay rentals, it is worth the cost for the flexibility, go to Taylor Bay and the other beaches on the island. Don't forget it is an island, food is expensive! But you are vacation, live it up. We stopped at other resorts on this trip to compare, and there is no comparison, RWI is well worth the money!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ATH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 km away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#21 of 46 in Providenciales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.7 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#5 of 46 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#17 of 46 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 46 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.8 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#8 of 46 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
2.5 km away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#14 of 46 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Property: Royal West Indies Resort
Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing