We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal West Indies Resort
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This resort is owner rented properties and bottom line - you won't regret it. It's well run, amazing grounds with jungle-like foliage around the pools (2). There is a "quiet" pool and a "non-quiet" pool which has a great kids wading section - just off the pool. It's very well planned and designed and the restaurant/bar is just across the pool. Rooms are clean. Staff is well educated, nice and efficient. The beach is amazing - just a few steps away. The sail-boats are catamaran - well equipped for a 1/2 hours light sail. The staff on the beach will help you. The sand and water is surpassed by none! I say this having traveled many destinations in the caribbean, europe etc... The other note you'll see is that they have bikes with baskets to run to the market - close by. The market is very nice, well stocked with good foods so you can make your own light meals (breakfast/lunch), but you dine on property by al means. The restaurant/chef is excellent. One of the best burgers/fries I've ever had. Pizza is great. Salads are healthy and fresh. Good drinks on the beach.

We will return! already looking at schedule for next year!!

Room Tip: rooms on the ground of course are good for kids. There are several separate buildings, so rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,149 - 1,155 of 2,020 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Loved that the resort was full during spring break week but we never felt it was crowded. Had the 2 bedroom which was huge-1br suite attached to a studio. 2 patios, kitchens, bathrooms and wash/dryers. Loved the quiet pool and even the main pool was nice. The beach is along a great stretch where there are no high rises or mega resorts. Borrow the bikes and check out the area, stop at the grocery for some basics as the food is expensive. Loved being able to make our own breakfast and lunch and eat dinner out. The Pelican Bay restaurant is very good...heavily skewed to lobster which is the best! Lobster season ends March 31 but we were so glad it was extended a month! Happy hour every night is 2 for 1 from 5-7pm. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilove2travelandexplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I am sitting in a very well appointed 1 bed room studio on the third floor in building 7 with a great botanical view. The room has a separate bedroom with a nice size kitchen and a family room with a pull out sofa bed and a large outside balcony. The rooms are very clean and current. We headed out to church and left the room safe open by mistake. When we returned from mass we realized the room had been cleaned already. Much to my delight the safe that contained passports, credit cards, an iPad, cell phones, and cash which was untouched! Wow! The resort is absolutely beautiful, two pools great, and the beach is the nicest I have been to in all of the caribbean islands. My family and I highly recommend RWI and look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed: April 2012
7  Thank rcmtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The beach is wide and beautiful here, I would say one of the nicest parts of Grace Bay Beach. Grounds of the resort were also beautiful with lots of flowers and trees, all very well landscaped. Pools were very clean and not crowded during our stay. No ocean views from the pools, but areas around the pools have beautiful flowers and plants. Our studio beach front room was great. Fantastic views of the ocean from the window and balcony. Balcony had a small table and four chairs - just enough room for eating or reading while listening to the ocean. Studio room had a good size refridgerator, sink, microwave and coffee maker in the kitchenette as well as plates, silverware, glasses, etc. It also had a washer and dryer in the unit. Resort is within walking distance of a great bakery (right across the street), a few restaurants and grocery store. Very good location. We plan to return again!

Room Tip: Fantastic ocean views from Building One, but grounds all around the hotel were beautiful so even gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todd&Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Why are vacations always too short? Especially when you're in such a great location. This resort is for you if you are looking for a week of rest, relaxation, peace and quiet, all alongside a fabulous beach.

We booked an ocean-view studio room and weren't disappointed. On the second floor in Building #2, our room looked right out over Grace Bay. In the past we've had rooms that gave us a sliver of a view at the water, but getting a room in building #2 was all we could ask for.

We've seen other reviews of people complaining about slow or surly service. We found all of the staff to be friendly, from gardeners to wait staff, everyone said hello in greeting as we made our way around the resort. On the islands we expect service to be a bit slow and it was just what we expected around most of the island. But it wasn't too slow. We're on vacation and drinks or dinner we're not going to rush.

The resort, and Provo in general, is very quiet. We walked down the road to dinner a couple of nights and everything is locked up by dinner time. Very quiet, which is fine for us. After a long day on the beach and a good dinner, we're not looking to party into the wee hours. This place was just what the doctor ordered. My wife says it's her favorite. I loved it and would go back again, but feel there are more places to explore out there. I'd recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet week on the beach.

Food in the restaurant was very good. We ate breakfast the first morning, a couple lunches and dinners, so had a good sampling of what was offered. Some other reviews complain about high cost, but we're in the islands! Everything that comes here has to be flown in, or brought on a ship. Of course it's going to be more expensive than back home, but expect it. If you don't want to spend $100 for a dinner for two, then the islands aren't the place for you. Book an all-inclusive on Riviera Maya.

We shopped at the local IGA and found it to be a well-stocked store, like at home. Cheese was $7/lb. A whole pineapple $5, where it's $4 at home. Beer was twice what we pay at home. We stocked up on bottled water, beer, wine, some snack food, cheese, sausage and crackers, with plans to eat out each night. For breakfast we bought fresh pastries at the little bakery across the street.

Beware Mario's Rum Punch. They call it punch because it will punch you out if you aren't careful. 3 kinds of rum and it's so refreshing when you are hot on the beach.

The only complaint I have is one common to other places in the Caribbean or Mexico. The AC never seemed to work right. It quit a couple of times and we were able to turn the unit's fan speed down. I don't like sleeping with the wind blowing on me.

Overall, this is one of the nicest places we've stayed at.

Room Tip: If wanting a good view of the ocean, request Buildings 1 or 2 on the second or third floors. Garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bennetthdsrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We must say this resort was a treasure to find. We stayed in the botanical view, main floor, which overlooked the adult pool. It was wonderful to sit on our patio, read and just look at the beautiful gardens. The gardens thoughtout the property were very well maintained. The staff was very friendly - especialy the pool/beach team! We would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: 713 was perfect location, right in front of the adult pool and hot tub. Great location if you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkeeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed for a week in the Queen Ann Suite #211 at the Royal West Indies. We did a private rental from the owners and found it to be just perfect. The property manager was waiting for us by the bar for check-in. It literally took us just minutes and we were all set to enjoy our stay.

The condo had everything we needed. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and used the pullout couch for our daughter. The kitchen was fully stocked, the unit was clean, there were sand toys for the kids and we loved being on the ground floor in one of the closer buildings to the ocean. We could see the water from our patio and also looked onto the beautiful grounds.

The beach is absolutely gorgeous. Every morning the staff helped us setup chairs and an umbrella by the water. The sand is probably the whitest and thickest that we have been on. What a relaxing place to walk the beach and collect shells.

The resort has two pools. The main pool is by the restaurant and has a toddler pool and then there is a "quiet zone" pool further back for adults with a hot tub. We really like the pool area for an afternoon swim. The grounds surrounding the pool and resort are lush and beautiful.

We would recommend this condo unit and hotel to anyone. The room was very nice, the beach, grounds and location are great, the staff was always friendly and helpful, parking was easy and it has a convenient restaurant to eat at. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: Try to get in buildings one or two if you want to be close to the beach. Building one is probably t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank widivegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
2.3 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
540 reviews
0.7 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#21 of 44 in Providenciales
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,919 reviews
3.8 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
1,605 reviews
0.7 km away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#27 of 44 in Providenciales
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal West Indies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal West Indies Resort

Address: Grace Bay, PO Box 482, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $312 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal West Indies Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, West Indies, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal West Indies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal West Indies Hotel Providenciales
Royal West Indies Providenciales
Royal West Indies Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing