We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fraud advisory”
Review of The Seagate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Providenciales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Seagate
Reviewed 23 February 2009

My husband and I booked a week stay at the Seagate after reading the many positive reviews online. We were hoping for a quite place to stay and relax on the beach. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed. We were notified 1 day before our vacation started that the owners would be out of the country for our stay. We arrived to find that the Seagate looks nothing like the photos online. The residence is outdated and dirty. The rooms are small and cramped with no views of the water. The room surfaces were filthy and I was physically covered with dirt when starting to unpack. Lights were not working, the bathroom made an odd ringing sound intermittently. The kitchen cabinets are faux and the covers come off when opening the cabinets. The appliances are dirty and outdated. Floors and walls are stained. We were extremely fortunate that we were able to book another room at very nice hotel within a few hours (occupancy is low currently due to the US recession) and did not spend even one night here. The owners are now stating they want to keep 2 nights deposit. In addition, they charged our credit card TWICE for the length of our stay. We are concerned that we have been taken advantage of and would like to warn others.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
47  Thank Atlanta037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2007

Nice place, but I wish the owners had mentioned the big construction project right next door. Every morning we awoke to dump trucks and jack hammers, and it went on all day long, even on the weekends. It looks like there is another big project coming soon on the other side... make sure you ask before booking.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank billstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluemoon369, Owner at The Seagate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2007

The Windsong project is very close to completion, the Seagate is no longer affected by any construction noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2006

Last February, for our first time to Turks and Caicos, we stayed at The Seagate for seven days and had the most wonderful week of snorkeling, relaxing at the private pool and the beach. The atmosphere at The Seagate is great and our host, Eva and Rahul, were so friendly and accomodating. They were always there to help and advise on restaurants and shopping. Our condo was perfect and had a wonderful view of the ocean and each evening the fantastic sunsets. It was also so easy to get to know the other guests staying at The Seagate because the layout facilitates those possiblities. In fact, one evening we all had a cook out by the pool. The Seagate is also reasonably close to restaurants and shopping.
We were so impressed and pleased with our first visit, we are going back again for three weeks in Jan and Feb. 07.

  • Stayed: January 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Seagate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Seagate for the second time in April 2006, and we absolutely loved it. For those of you looking for a low-key, well-priced, beautiful place in a great location on the island, this is it. The Seagate is basically a "villa" type complex with 4-5 units I believe, and a beautiful courtyard/garden area and pool. It is walking distance to one of the best stretches of Grace Bay Beach and one of the best in-shore snorkeling reefs on the whole island. We saw sea turtles on the grass flats every day, and the reef and tropical fish are breathtaking. The owners of Seagate are great hosts, very helpful and accomodating, and are a great resource of local knowledge, i.e., - car rental, good restaurants, stuff off the "beaten path". The Seagate is a short drive to the Turtle Cove marina area, and to the main "strip" of Grace Bay where most of the restaurants and shops are, which is nice, yet the Seagate is located on is quite quiet and doesn't get a lot of traffic.
I would definitely recommend the Seagate for those traveling to Providenciales who are not looking for the big resort experience.
John
Sarasota, FL

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jshamsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bellville, Ohio
14
Reviewed 31 May 2006

This was our second trip to Provo, we loved it so much in July 0f 05 that we came back with friends. Found the Seagate online, Eva and Rahul were wonderful from our first contact. Very helpful with info on the Seagate and the island. Also helped us with car rental and recommendations on tours. Our condo was very clean and comfortable with plenty of room for two couples. Just a short walk to the beach, which was mostly our own private area, most people stayed up around Beaches. Ate breakfast every morning on our balcony with a limited beach view, which was ok, since it made things more private. Loved it and hope to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2006

The Seagate is a ideal small condo hotel with large open and airy units,it feels as if your at your own sea side cottage only better. The units are up scale, modern and appointed to
ease your stay. The pool area and grounds are perfect for a young family or for some quiet
time.The beach and snorkeling reef are only 100 yds. from the front door, and the snorkeling is fantastic and close to shore for the little ones .The location makes it easy to get to the restaurants and to the grocery.The owners Rahul and Eva treat you like family
and will accomidate your needs to make it a great vacation. The units have daiky maid service, beach chairs, beach umbrella, coolers, and some beach toys for the kids. I espicially like staying in the upper two bedroom unit, the view and space make it the best.
I have stayed at the SeaGate five times in the last seven years and plan to return again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martypaul1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2006

We had the extreme pleasure to stay at the Seagate April, 2006. We stayed in a spacious condo with a big balconey. We were steps from beautiful Grace Bay Beach, where my daughters, 7 and 9 years, snorkeled the reef everyday. In the late afternoons we swam in the pool, surrounded by palm trees and fragrant flowers. The pool is private and relaxing, and we had it to our selves most of the week. At sunset, we walked back to the beach with a bottle of wine and watched the sunset and enjoyed our daughters playing in the sand. Eva is a fabulous host and a wealth of information. If you have the pleasure to stay in this tucked away gem, rent a car to tour the rest of the Island. If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay, a bit off the beaten path, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.0 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,489 reviews
0.0 km away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,058 reviews
0.0 km away
Caribbean Paradise Inn
Caribbean Paradise Inn
#25 of 44 in Providenciales
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,563 reviews
0.0 km away
The Lodgings
The Lodgings
#3 of 7 in Providenciales
17 reviews
0.0 km away
Alexandra Resort
Alexandra Resort
#3 of 4 in Grace Bay
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seagate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagate

Address: Penns Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Providenciales
Price Range: $180 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location, one minute walk from Provo's most popular snorkeling reef. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Seagate Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing