We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Simply Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Renaissance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Renaissance
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
westchester, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We have stayed at Villa Renaissance since it opened, about 7 years ago. Much of the staff has been there since that beginning and those who have joined over the years stay. This makes for an incredibly comfortable experience, especially returning year after year, which we do. The beach and water are unparalleled but that is true because of nature. The fact that the service at this property is top notch is what makes us come back and what makes each of our stays so special. The concierge service (thank you Celo and Shereen! No stone left unturned by these ladies at the front desk!) is always taking it that extra mile - getting you a reservation you need at the last minute, smiling and saying hello every time you pass the desk, responding by sending housekeeping or maintenance any time you need them (these staff members are equally professional and great) and basically making it seem like your are the only people staying at the resort by treating you with such care. Really everyone at Villa Renaissance adds a little something to make the experience unique. Allain, who has the beach chairs and umbrellas ready every day will also cut open a coconut with your five year old, laughing all the way. Skip the bartender will remember your favorite ingredients in your rum drink and name it after you! Junior the manager will be sure that your breakfast arrives on time every day and that you are happy and satisfied throughout your stay. And the housekeeping keeps your room immaculate (which is just not true of other properties on the island, where we stayed before VR opened). Of course, we tell everyone we know, go to Grace Bay beach for the beauty and simplicity of it but go to Villa Renaissance if you want to experience the peaceful pleasure of the best property down there.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    64
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
165
282
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

This is one of the prettiest hotels on T and C, and one of the best locations. We loved how quiet and peaceful it was, and you could walk to almost any of the best restaurants. My only complaint is that they had promised us a specific unit, and had promised that we would be next door to our other family members. When we checked in, however, we were put in a different unit than what we booked, and our other family members were on a different floor. When I complained that we had booked a different unit, they said someone else was already in it - not much we could do about it! If you are hoping for a specific unit GET IT IN WRITING. The unit our other family member stayed in was amazing - just what we hoped for, but our unit was decorated in a very simple fashion that was not up to our standards. Also, there were no blankets on our beds, and no comforters - just a light thin spread with no duvet inside - thank goodness the beds were comfy! All things considered though, this place is a much better deal than the pricier hotels on the island. The views are amazing and the rooms are laid out nicely. The two bedrooms are much more spacious than the 3 bedrooms though - at least regarding the deluxe suites. Be aware though that the hot tub does not work at the VR, so you will have to walk next door to the Regent Grand if you want to use a hot tub. Also, eat at Coco Bistro - it is lovely, as are most of the restaurants on the island.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

My husband and I visited Provo for the first time in September 2010 for our honeymoon. It was an absolutely perfect honeymoon. We couldn’t have asked for more! Our goal was complete relaxation and romance and that is exactly what we got when we arrived. Turks and Caicos is overall a more expensive island to visit, however, it is not as touristy as other Caribbean Islands and the locals are extremely nice and welcoming. One important thing to note is that Villa Renaissance does not offer the kind of service you would get at a Ritz Carlton because it’s a condo style boutique resort; however we were not disappointed with the service we received and thought it was more than accommodating during our stay.

Since we stayed during the hurricane season (September) it was a low time. This was great for us and we were the only ones staying at Villa Renaissance. We had the entire resort to ourselves. This was fantastic for a relaxing honeymoon! Many of the restaurant and hotels were closed, but we loved the fact that it wasn’t crowded on the island. We were still able to go to many of the best restaurants on the island. When we arrived at the hotel we were pleasantly greeted by the resort staff and taken to our upgraded two bedroom suite. It was gorgeous, nicely decorated, and had amazing views. The entire front wall of sliding glass doors opened up to a beautiful balcony with a table and chairs and two chaise lounges. The resort is great, but the best part about TCI is the white sand beaches of Grace Bay and the turquoise waters. Our beach chairs and umbrellas were set up every money and there were always clean towels available for us to use. The resort staff booked restaurant and excursion reservations and were always available if we needed anything. We ate at Coco Bistro, Pizza Pizza, Saltmills Diner, The Vix, Hemmingway’s, and Parallel 23, and a few others. By far the best restaurant in turns of ambiance and food is Coco Bistro. It was a perfect romantic setting and our food was fantastic. Also don’t be surprised when you see how expensive the food is on Provo. The restaurants are all expensive, but most are very good and the grocery store is also more expensive. Our least favorite was Hemmingway’s. It’s beach front but the food wasn’t that good. We did save a little money by going to the grocery store and eating lunch on our balcony every day.

We also enjoyed two excursions while we were there. One was the Caicos Dream Tour which was fantastic. They pick you up and drop you off right in front of the hotel. We got to snorkel, go to Iguana Island, try a fresh conch salad, etc. We also did a guided jet ski tour which was a great way to see other parts of the island. It was just us and our tour guide. I also enjoyed a great massage at resort, which was 1 ½ hours and reasonably priced.

We can’t wait to come back to TCI and experience more of what the island has to offer!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAB0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

Our first visits to Villa Renaissance were in March 2003 and December 2007 (Read previous review at http://bit.ly/dFKVfq). We just returned last night from our third stay in Provo at VR.

We knew that December is often windy on the island and that the weather is in the high 70's to low 80's, but all that mattered was that we were away from cold Wisconsin weather with temps in the teens and together with extended family to celebrate Christmas in a beautiful location! The sand and water are beautiful at any time of the year. We had sun nearly every day of our stay and didn't find the ocean water too cold. In fact we snorkeled or scuba dived nearly every day of our eight-night visit.

Here are some additional insights about Villa Renaissance since my last review:
- This was the first time we stayed at the resort with a child. VR provided a nice crib, high chair and beach stroller for my 15-month-old son.
- There's a new grocery store within walking distance of VR, as another reviewer mentioned. We did most of our shopping there instead of at the IGA because it was so convenient. We've found most of the prices on the island are higher than at home, regardless of where you shop.
- The resort staff has added some nice touches, like coming down to the beach to offer bottled water. Given we were staying during the holiday season they did some things in the spirit of the season, like serving eggnog by the pool and having a Santa visit.
- Our favorite condo at VR, unit 204, has been nicely upgraded and it can now be rented through VRBO: http://www.vrbo.com/325879

Here are some additional insights about Provo since my last review:
- We've previously gone on boat excursions through Sail Provo. This time we used Caicos Dream Tours for a snorkeling and conch diving trip. We really liked that they picked us up from the beach right in front of the resort and our guides, Jay and Del Roy, were great!
- Grace Bay Car Rentals was excellent. They said they would provide us with a car seat. I was nervous about the quality of it, but figured we wouldn't be driving much so we decided to trust that they would offer a good one and didn't drag ours along. They did in fact provide us with a brand new car seat for my son that was up to par (e.g. five point harness). We also liked that at the end of our stay, we could drive ourselves to the airport and leave the car there for them to pick up.
- We still like Coco Bistro as one of our favorite restaurants on the island. Da Conch Shack has made some notable improvements. We knew we shouldn't have given Calico Jack's a second chance. It was just as disappointing this time as it was in 2007. We tried Mango Reef for the first time. The service and food were great, though the ambience wasn't fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

My wife and I decided to stay at the Villa Renaissance for our 5th year anniversary and were very disappointed with the level of service and accommodations. This resort claims to be a luxury resort but is actually more like a Comfort Inn. It's self service from the moment you check in until you check out..

The staff are friendly but have no training in luxury service and no ability to anticipate needs. They don't serve food or drinks on the beach or pool.

For the price we were expecting a real luxury hotel experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank carlos enrique c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

First off, let me say that if you are looking for a hot destination in December...head further south. Unfortunately, this island is quite cool during December by Caribbean standards (unlike St. John or Anguilla). However, it was still 40 degrees colder at home... This is the wet/cool time of year for T&C and many locals are walking around wearing jeans and jackets. Although we stayed 7 days...only 4 were warm or dry enough to be laying on the beach or attempting to swim in the sea...most people opted for laying by the pool instead. I would estimate the sea water temp to be about mid 70's.

Hotel - we used VRBO instead of booking directly with the hotel. Probably a mistake this time since our unit was not up to par (which affects the rating given for the property) with the ones managed by the hotel directly. Plus during out stay the hotel was having a 40% off sale and provided daily continental breakfast with golf/spa vouchers as well. There are some great deals right now in Provo...bookings are low...so shop around. VR has nice size units, well appointed with adequate kitchen space, nice baths, etc. Our unit was outdated, musty, dusty, and did not have an adequately stocked kitchen. Units do not seem very sound proof. I could hear the tenants using the bathroom in the unit above us...don't ask...just not quiet. Also we could hear them dragging chairs or furniture across the floor....or just walking around for that matter. Overall, not a bad place, laid back, decent property. This is one of the smaller properties...if you don't want a crowd...stay here. Would consider staying here again if the price was right....and I was on the top floor! ;*)

All sea front units have a large glass wall across the back that slides open. Most have a screen that lowers and looks most enjoyble. Unfortunately, ours was inoperable...if we left open the doors we had an issue with mosquitos. However, if this screen works...it seems to be a great feature. Also, VR allows you to borrow bikes for free...another thing we enjoyed. VR also has a nice beach in front of the property...they have a few floats and a boogie board for the tenants to use.

Pool and jacuzzi are very nice but not heated. I found the sea to be warmer.

Management on the property is friendly and responsive. Our private managers (Nicola and Mel of Allied Management) were also very hospitable.

If you want to snorkle...you need to walk about 20 minutes down the beach past the Beaches property near the Coral Gardens or Windsong resorts . The coral is really close to the shore. We saw quite a bit of different fish. Unfortunately, during this time of year the sea can be a little rough due to wind/storms. You will need a clear calm day to really enjoy the snorkling along the coast line.

The beach is really beautiful and is very long. You can take long walks both directions.

Restaurants - great options within walking distance to VR. We ate at the Salt Mill Diner for breakfast (good value and friendly service)...Danny Bouys (Irish Pub with good prices...broadcasts football games on Sundays), Pizza Pizza (decent prices and pretty good pizza), Coco Bistro (great ambiance and food...but be prepared to spend some money...awesome grilled lobster tail), Coyaba (also great but pricey...husband said he had the best seared ahi tuna ever!). We tried to eat at Hemmingway's - even made a reservation but they were rude and weren't seating us on time so we left...no big loss...there are so many great dining options here. Know this though...many of these restaurants (Hemmingways, Coco Bistro, Grace's Cottage, Grill Rouge, etc.,)...are mostly open air or even water front dining. So you can imagine on rainy/windy nights (we had three of them) your dining options may be limited. Expect a high end restaurant to be $40 for entree, $12 for appetizer, $8 for dessert.

There is a small grocery store within walking distance. Some prices are outrageous (fruit, chips, spaghetti sauce, ice cream) and some were pretty comparable to home (milk, bread, eggs, cooking oil, mustard). You may want to pack a few items and bring them down with you. It is possible to cook meals in your unit and save quite a bit of money. If you can swing a stop by the larger grocery store (IGA) on the way in from the airport...do so. I heard the prices are much lower there.

Shopping - I was not impressed nor motivated to buy stuff. Grace Bay is not on par with a cruise ship destination.

Night life - at this time of year...none. We did not visit the local casinos. During our stay we found things low-key and quiet. There weren't any crowds. I am sure this is different situation in the spring/summer.

Other condos in the area worth checking out. We viewed other properties...The Sands (a little older but great screen porches), Villa Del Mar (not directly on the water but looked like a great value), Seven Stars (heard that travel agents were offering good packages at this property), Point Grace, etc. There are so many...and some are outrageously priced. Shop around. Unfortunately, high season is starting so I am sure the prices will rise a bit.

Would I return? Yes, but probably in April when things are warmer. Next year in December I will be headed south of Puerto Rico! ;*) If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank suelivesinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

Travelled with friends in Nov 2010 to kitesurf. We stayed at VR, which is very nice. My friends shouldered most of the expense. Without them, I would have been unable to stay there. Grace Bay, which I have heard a lot about, is not as mind blowing as everyone makes it out to be. The kiteboarding in Long Bay, however, was epic!

As a note, when we returned each day, we all agreed a sit in the hot tub would be perfect as the water had started to turn cold. However, we were informed that, although the circular tub at the end of the pool looks like a hot tub- it is not. I am pretty sure that they just didn't want to turn it on, which is ridiculous considering the prices of the rooms.

The island is on the dollar and you will find grocery store items to be slightly higher than in the US. The restaurants near the hotel are pretty expensive. We ate at "Sharkbait" or "Sharkbite" twice. It was a good value in a funky waterside restaurant.

I have no idea how the diving is/was as we only kiteboarded there. As far as kiteboarding, we spoke to the couple that runs the local shop (Terry and Mike), they were great. We saw them with students every day. I can say that, although they don't use a boat or ski, I have not seen a better place to learn, EVER. The entirety of Long Bay is waist deep white sand. You simply could not get into trouble there if you tried. That said, we booked the day prior to leaving in order to hit the wind right. If you are going just to kite, you may get skunked.

If you have no agenda and are open to whatever the day gives you: diving, kiting, or beachin it, you will have an amazing time in Provo.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridakiteboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.5 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#4 of 47 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
3.3 km away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#5 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
3.0 km away
Beach House Turks & Caicos
Beach House Turks & Caicos
#3 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Point Grace
Point Grace
#26 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 km away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#10 of 47 in Providenciales
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.0 km away
The Somerset on Grace Bay
The Somerset on Grace Bay
#6 of 47 in Providenciales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Renaissance

Property: Villa Renaissance
Address: Ventura Drive, BWI, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Renaissance 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the Grand Villas of the Italian and French Riviera, Villa Renaissance is a beautiful, beachfront Hotel located directly on internationally renowned Grace Bay beach in the Turks and Caicos Islands With 28 luxurious one, two and three bedroom beachfront suites and 4 charming and equally luxuriously appointed poolside cottages, Villa Renaissance offers its relaxed elegance at surprisingly accessible rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Villa Renaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Renaissance Hotel Providenciales
Renaissance Hotel Providenciales
Renaissance Providenciales
Providenciales Renaissance
Villa Renaissance Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing