We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“.”
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here in late Jan/early Feb. After searching everywhere online, we found it was best to book directly through with them. We had an oceanfront studio and requested a king sized bed and a higher floor, and they were able to deliver on both. The way the resort is set up, the studios are set a bit further back from the beach, with the bigger rooms a bit closer. This causes the view to be cut in half from what you would see in a 1 or 2 bedroom unit. Still had a great view though.
They now beach service, bringing you drinks from 10-4. They always had enough lounge chairs for everyone on the beach, despite others' comments (their website says they added a lot more in December). I thought I saw somewhere that they had stand up paddle-boards available, but unfortunately they don't. Wifi in the room was very spotty, but on the balcony it was always very fast. Theres also an ethernet jack in the room.
The room was very clean and modern. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. On our last day we had a tire that was getting flat, one of the groundskeepers noticed us looking at it and directed us to the maintenance building, where they happily filled it for us.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Blanchov94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,755)
There are newer reviews for Alexandra Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

We just returned from our first trip to T&C and Alexandra was a great choice. We booked a Luxury Oceanview Studio, but upon our arrival, found we received an upgrade to a 1-bedroom Oceanfront Suite. The suite turned out to be perfect - there is a fridge, small stove, dishwasher. The suite has two flat panel TVs that were wall mounted - one in the living room and one in the bedroom. I would definitely recommend doing the suite - it was a large, spacious and relaxing.

Cleanliness: I'm picky about clean hotel rooms and the housekeeping staff did a fantastic job - no complaints.

Resort Amenities: Beach was nice and weather was perfect in early February. The resort had 2 single kayaks that you could borrow any time you wanted, which was nice. We did find that the beach chairs/umbrellas did get occupied quickly, but were able to find a spot each day with no problems. There are two beach attendants that take food orders and help with the beach chairs/umbrellas. The pool was often too cold for my taste, but the pool chairs were nice and relaxing after a day at the beach.

Location: We ate at Mango Reef for most meals, but did go out to Bay Bistro (short walk down the beach) one evening and Jimmy's Dive Bar for lunch. It is supposedly at 15-min walk to the grocery store by Seven Stars. Hemingway's is also walkable on the beach - just further down past Bay Bistro. If you want to try more restaurants or buy groceries, I would recommend getting a car.

Customer Service: This is the only reason why I'm not giving the resort 5 stars. We had some issues when requesting a corkscrew (took us 3 days to finally get one) from the front desk/housekeeping. Not a big deal, but thought it was odd that the front desk was not following through with requests. In addition, I felt like I got some attitude from a couple people at the Front Desk and Mango Reef. However, there were others that provided excellent service - Ramon, Al (concierge), Mae.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and I would definitely recommend the Alexandra!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aleeca17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This was our first trip to Turks & Caicos and we really loved the islands and the resort. We had a spacious 1 bedroom oceanfront apartment in the Lady Rose building with a fabulous view of the beach. The Mango reef restaurant was excellent for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We tried a variety of other restaurants and Mango Reef was in the top two. The pool area and the grounds are very pleasant . The check in process was a little chaotic but strangely fun and efficient (we were in our room within 20 minutes). We found all of the staff genuinely friendly and helpful. It was a great visit!!! We seldom go to the same place twice but we have put TCI and the Alexandra on our "return list". Highly reccommended!

Room Tip: Fet an oceanfront room, the view is worth the price
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamermil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Alexandra from Jan25th to Feb 4th and 10 days weren't enough!!We booked our trip with West Jet and all was fine with the flights, but, did have problems with the airport to resort transfer. West Jet has been notified of our problem and hopefully it will be corrected for the future. Apparently there is a lack of communication between WestJet and their supposed agent in Provo. We were told in writing that a West Jet representative would be at the airport to meet us and arrange our comped transfer to the resort. Well, we didn't see any representative at all, and my husband had to dig out our papers and show someone our papers showing the free transfer in order for us to get there. Coming back the Alexandra never did recieve notice from their West Jet rep to have us picked up and taken to the airport.
Enough about that. On arrival to our Studio Suite, we were pleasantly surprized to find a well stocked little kitchen, with small fridge, full size microwave, toaster, coffee maker, blender, and all necessary dishes and glassware. Edwin was out front and greeted us with a "Welcome Home" then took us inside and we were given cool cloths and yummy rum punch for our welcome in the lobby area.
We took the shuttle to the Graceway IGA grocery store and purchased our items for breakfasts and lunches and snacks. So nice to have a leisurely breakfast and coffee on our deck in the mornings before starting our day. Some grocery items are priced very high (yogurt 9.98 for 4 small cups) but most items were within our normal price range here in Canada.
Back to the room....it was clean and nicely decorated. Madelaine was our room cleaner and she was very friendly and efficient. Bed was comfortable and linens were not worn as some earlier TA reports suggested. Nice white sheets and bedding and I would hazard a guess that thread-count was at least 400 or better. Bathroom towels brilliant white and plenty of them.
Resort is beautiful and landscaping very well maintained. No need to play that awful, reserve a chair with your towel game....thank goodness, as that gets pretty old at some other resorts in the tropics. Always plenty of beach towels and always an employee at the beach to ensure you get the spot you want and place an umbrella there for you if not already there. That is a definate perk, as we are not early risers on holidays, and I don't like racing to the beach in the early am to reserve a lounger with a towel.
Beach is AMAZING!! White, powdery sand leading to the clearest aqua colored water you've ever seen!! Walk down the beach 15 mins and there is amazing snorkeling...we had our own snorkel gear and used it, but I think they may have some to use at the resort. Oh, and they have "noodles" and other beach toys for your use, sand pails etc., they only ask that you return it when you are finished using it.
Mango Reef restaurant at the resort has EXCELLANT food, and we ate there a lot. Evening dinners are a little pricey but not much worse than eating at Earl's or Moxie's here in Canada.If you want to save, eat a late lunch there instead of dinner, it's priced less.
Other restaurants we tried were Hemingway's, Bay Bistro, Bella Luna, and Magnolia, all good but favorite was Bella Luna Restaurante. Their food was so delish!! Best ravioli I've ever had and my husband really enjoyed his lasagne. If you go be sure to have the banana dessert, you won't be sorry!!
Shopping at the Regeant Village is fine, stores weren't busy when we were there. Mostly duty free items, like jewellry. perfume, liquor, cigars etc. Not good for clothing shopping as mostly just t-shirts and beach wraps, but I wasn't there to improove my wardrobe so that was fine.
Bikes can be rented for 18.00 for 24 hours, something we never fit into this holiday, but will next time.
I'm rambling on but really a great choice for location and resort, and didn't want to leave. Looking forward to going back next year. It's clean, modern, safe, quiet, and very,very beautiful!! This was our 12th tropical vacation (mexico and other caribbean islands) and Hawaii, and so far our favorite!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank browndak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I was really prepared to give this hotel four stars but by the end of our long weekend stay there were just too many problems. First of all, as stated in so many other reviews, if you want to have an Ocean view you really need to ask for Ocean Front. Otherwise you are placed in a building that is almost perpendicular to the water so that you can only see the water from your balcony at an angle. That said, we really didn't care. The view was pretty enough and although the hotel had plenty of rooms we didn't feel like changing. The room was very lovely, clean and well appointed, with a kitchen and washer/dryer which is great for long stays, and even for a short one like ours. I like having my own breakfast on my terrace.
The beach is gorgeous, and the pool is large and clean. The hotel is a bit smaller than the usual huge resort which was pleasant. However, some amenities were missing or misrepresented. For example, there was no snorkeling equipment, and only two single person kayaks despite the fact that they advertise water activities available. One has to go to another hotel for those things, which isn't a problem but misleading. The same with internet. They claim that it is available all over the property but it actually isn't. Some buildings have none and some rooms have dead spots.
None of these things would have mattered by themselves but the little things kept adding up. Then on the second night, we found that the a/c , although it continued to run, stopped cooling at night. It did, however, come on again during the day. When we spoke to the desk the next day they said they were having some electrical problems. The next night we had a total loss of electricity from about 8pm until the middle of the night...no a/c, no fan. When the power was restored we still had no cooling from the a/c. So, this might have just been bad luck but it made it hard to give more the 3 stars.

Room Tip: If you want ocean view you must ask for Ocean Front. What they call Ocean View is not.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeBee386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandraResort, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for your visit and your feedback from your stay at The Alexandra Resort. We take all comments seriously, so we wanted to respond to a few points in your review. We are sorry to hear that the water sport equipment was not available. We do offer snorkeling equipment, kayaks, paddle boats and other items, but they must have been signed out by other guests. We do our best to have equipment available for all that want it (we have 30 sets of snorkel gear), but this is our busiest season. The area did in fact lose power during your stay due to a serious problem with the cabling system. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this issue caused. We do very much hope you will return to see us again and have a true Alexandra experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Pack your bags and escape to the Alexandra Resort on the Turks and Caicos Island. Everyone speaks English, the staff is friendly, the pool is delightful, fun snorkeling nearby, and an incredible beach. Did I mention that the beach is gorgeous? Powdery white sand and a blue Caribbean Sea that you can watch for days and never grow bored. The restaurant is on Graced Bay with great views of the sunset. The hotel is clean and feels new. If mellowing out is your goal, the Alexandra Resort is your destination.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IndieGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at the Alexandra for 3 nights in early February 2012. Both of us are experienced travelers and have stayed at some of the more "luxury" resorts across the Caribbean.

We booked the Alexandra given past reviews and the perceived value relative to other resorts along Grace Bay. The Alexandra certainly exceeded our expectations. The location of the property is supurb, and is on one of the better stretches of beach and walkable to other beach-side resorts. The beach and ocean, by the way, are phenominal - certainly the best Caribbean beach we have been to.

The Alexandra staff were all very nice and helpful, check in/check out were a breeze, and the room was great. We did not have an "oceanfront" room (rather 'Oceanview'), but we spent the majority of our time by the beach, so it was not an issue for us. Despite the fact we arrived well before check-in time, our room was ready within an hour. The rooms themselves all have microwaves/toasters/silverware, which is nice. We went to the grocery story (Alexandra operates a shuttle daily) which is recommended; although prices are high, its nice having your own food for breakfast, etc. Some of the past reviews have critisized the rooms - we have zero complaints. I believe the rooms were cleaned everyday (hard to tell since i am not at all messy and we were never in the room), but at the least we had fresh towels & trash removal daily, and the room was never anything but clean.

We only ate at Mango Reef once for lunch. The food was good (not bad, not great - however we ordered a pizza), although others we met on the island praised their dinner. The bar is alongside the beach and was convenient - although there is not "poolside service" that you may expect from luxury hotels, someone came around a few times per day offering drinks and food.

Although the Alexandra may not the pizzaz or "sleekness" of some of the newer/more high-end resorts along Grace Bay (which can be more than 2x the cost and carry mixed reviews), it was perfect for what we wanted (and this is coming from someone that typically prefers luxury hotels). It was clean, convenient, and had an exceptional staff. Reviews can be summarized with the question "Will you return? and the answer from us is an overwhelming "yes."

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
5.5 km away
Blue Haven Resort
Blue Haven Resort
#13 of 44 in Providenciales
587 reviews
1.8 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,467 reviews
0.2 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Beach House Turks & Caicos
1.3 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,561 reviews
0.6 km away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Address: Princess Drive, Grace Bay | Turks and Caicos, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#20 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $651 - $1,565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, Alexandra Resort offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, and amazing oceanfront dining with the option to book all-inclusive reservations. Guests can also take our complimentary dining shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their restaurants facilities. Alexandra Resort provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including non-motorized water sports, tennis courts, bicycles, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing