We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient small beach”
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Convenient small beach”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

After shopping in Christiansted, we took the ferry over just to go to the beach as we were told it was a nice beach. It was very small with just a bit of area to go in the water, but not ideal with boats so close by and the fact that there is no room if there is a crowd there as there was that day. You have to pay just a few dollars for the quick ferry ride, but then when you arrive, you pay for your chair, umbrella, etc. It's fine for a quick stop to feel sand, but there are so many great beaches on St. Croix, that this stop was disappointing. However, if you're looking for convenience, it's easy to get to and has a restaurant on the beach. The server came right up to us on the beach and was extremely friendly, but the burgers were just ok.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandjfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thanks for your review. Fortunately we are a small 53 room property and the beach does not tend to get busy. We're glad you made the decision to come over to our beach area as a visitor. As always, hotel guests ride our ferry boat at no charge. We do hope the next time that you are in St. Croix that you spend a night or two with us and enjoy all that private island life has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    216
    86
    39
    23
See reviews for
97
237
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holliston, MA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We enjoyed our visit to this hotel; the rooms were simple and clean. Service was good. The best part for us was the on-site beach-no waves, clear, aqua water for snorkeling and floating in. Great watersports manager, Michele. The ease of getting into Christiansted by ferry-shorter than a bus ride, and always availlable, and easy walking distance from ferry to all good restaurants and shops. Staff at the restaurant on site (Breakfast & lunch) was good. One night was a beach party BBQ with entertainment.

Room Tip: Ocean side was quiet and relaxing. The beach side faces the city and is busier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailordog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is a truly unique spot, on its own island right across from all the attractions of downtown Christiansted. It is an awesome place to stay if you're in Christiansted and want to stay close to the boardwalk where all the action is, but also on a beach with relaxation. This hotel got terrible reviews, which it simply does not deserve. The rooms are outdated, but just dont expect luxurious, newly renovated rooms and I doubt you'll be disappointed.

First of all, understand that this is not the Ritz. The rooms need updating, simply put. The entire hotel could use an update (based on rumors, the recent owner of the hotel screwed them over, so they are experiencing some hard times). Still, i found the rooms to be clean, and management took care of the surrounding premises. In the morning, workers groomed the sand and removed all seaweed and trash from the beach. Look at the pics above.

We experienced only 1 problem. The first night, the overhead AC unit dripped significant amounts of water on the floor. The constant drip sound ruined my sleep. The second night, we slept without AC, with the window open (there is a screen that prevents mosquitoes). The second night was an awesome night's sleep. If you are staying in room 112, just dont use the AC - instead, sleep with the window open with screen shut. The air was very cool and the breeze was awesome. If you are visiting in the summer months, ask about this issue as im sure you'll need AC.

I stayed in Room 112, which was an awesome layout. It adjoined with another room that had a couch, TV, and wrap-around bar. Both rooms together would sleep 6! I really cant believe we got it for $130/night in January. Amazing rate.

The bar and surrounding beach grounds are beautiful. We spent an entire day lounging at the beach in front of the hotel. Snorkeling and swimming is great - all sandy bottom. The bar makes great mixed drinks.

You can easily go to and from the Christiansted boardwalk. Of course, it is absolutely safe because it is on its own island :) The ferry is free for hotel guests, and I've never had to wait longer than 5 minutes to/from hotel. It takes 2-5 minutes travel. It runs until 12am, but if you are in Christiansted later than that, just call the hotel and someone will pick you up.

I would definitely stay here again. For the rate, surrounding environment, safety and proximity to downtown Christianted.

Room Tip: Room 112 adjoins with an extra living room/bar area. Ask about the AC issue, if you need AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emoskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We appreciate your review! The management works hard to ensure the upkeep of this tropical property. Our bathroom refurbishment project continues as occupancy allows. We are careful not to cause disruptions to a restful vacation.

I'm sorry to ready about the A/C in your room. I've made sure to follow-up with our maintenance staff so that other guests can have a restful nights sleep with it on.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac Falls
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

It's not "The Ritz", but it has all the charm that one would expect of a "Beach Club": a wonderful and spacious beach; clear and safe swimming area; a swimming pool; a beach "restraurant" and bar; charming way to cross the "harbor" (a water taxi) to the nearby boardwalk; beautiful views from the hotel balconies (either the bay or the city and harbor). The room and bed were clean and comfy; the partial kitchen was enough to make breakfast or a lite lunch. Spent a very relaxing week and would do so again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Hotel on the Cay is highly recommended! The rooms could use a makeover (the bathrooms are newly renovated, though, nice and sparkling clean), but the location and ocean view is absolutely unbeatable. We arrived by seaplane from St. Thomas, walked 5 minutes along the beautiful waterside, were picked up by the hotel boat in front of the Christiansted fort and next thing we lay down on what really feels like your own island and beach. This was so comfortable - the view on beautiful Christiansted, watching the seaplanes, boats, snorklers, pelicans, only few steps to the bar or the room - that we never wanted to get up again and both got sunburned... We had a room with ocean view where we heard nothing but wind and waves. We loved the always friendly boat service - when they don't see you waving at night, you just give them a quick call and they come over in no time. Nice even Sunday afternoons at the beach when the locals come over and there is live music at the bar.

This is so much more than a hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We appreciate the kind words. Your review really represents the essence of what we are all about... a private island experience unmatched by most! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is not the place to stay if you are expecting white glove service. However, if you are traveling with children, are a couple looking for a quiet relaxed beach vacation or don't want the hassle of needing a car, this is the place for you. The property is a five-acre island with about 50 rooms, each with a private entrance. There is a beach restaurant/bar which serves breakfast and lunch and each room has a kitchenette where a quick dinner can be made or heated. There are also a bbq grills which guests can share. The beach is steps from any room. We stayed for four weeks and there were days when we never left the island or wore shoes. When you feel the need to explore, there are some good restaurants in town or you can rent a car and tour the rest of the island. The hotel was once a five-star hotel; but was devastated by Hurricaine Hugo. It has slowly been coming back to it's original splendor with many renovations. There are hotels with better accomodations, but not location. It is definitely the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: There are no elevators; so, if you have a mobility problem, request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

After reading some of the demeaning ratings I have to speak up. This is/was converted into time shares and is run superbly. It is 60 years old and not 5 stars. This is a place to go to be away from the hassle and crowds. The tiny island has it's own great beaches, beautiful gardens and plenty of places to take a loved one for privacy. The rooms ARE tiny, old and need reconditioning. But, they are clean and pleasant. If you want your parties, BMOC's and flash stay on St John's and pay three times the price. St Croix is really for middle income families that need a beach and day trips for the kids. Geddy A., Santa Fe, NM, USA

Room Tip: Ask for an outside view/patio looking out to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
3.7 km away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.3 km away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
74 reviews
1.8 km away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
126 reviews
2.3 km away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,381 reviews
3.1 km away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Property: Hotel on the Cay
Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansted
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing