We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
US$179
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
US$299
US$265
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$1,124
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
39
40
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
40
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationhotel is newly renovatedangry natesdowntown hotelchef's specialsbig bathroomboard walkdive shopreasonable ratesrooms are comfortablesliding doorbuck islandst croixcruzan rumseaplanerunnerselevator
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 93 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

What an incredible place! With everything they are dealing with after the hurricane it never interfered with the service or the kindness. Our room was fantastic, great view and the service was second to none! Thank you for making a difficult trip so wonderful!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Thank you Connie W

We are doing what we can and thank you for letting others know we try our best!
we hope to be back to "normal" soon...
looking forward to seeing you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

This hotel sits right along the boardwalk so access to dive shops and restaurants is great. The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly. The only drawbacks are that the hotel does not have an elevator so you have to haul your luggage up one or two flights of stairs and parking is a couple of blocks away. However they have staff to assist with the luggage and parking is not onsite because they are adding an elevator. There is a cart that will shuttle you back and forth to your car.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrisjC6689ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Thank you chrisjC6689ST

We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about you stay. Please come and visit us again we are aiming to have the elevator completed soon. However, Hurricane Maria clean up has halted construction. But we are hopeful to resume construction in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here. The room was newly renovated and the view was spectacular. Everyone was so helpful and pleasant. It is right on a boardwalk that some very good restaurants. That includes Rum Runners in the the hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wmartin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you wmartin09,

We appreciate travelers taking the time to let others know how wonderful their stay was.
We hope you come and visit us again soon!
And By The Way.... St Croix was not damaged by Hurricane Irma so you can plan your return trip sooner rather than later =)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Nice, clean, good location for access to restaurants (e.g.: Rum Runners, Angry Nates, Shupes, You Are Here), gift shops & dive boats (e.g.: S.C.U.B.A.'s dive shop & boat Reliance), tours (e.g.: Big Beards), and a 5 minute walk from the ferry you can take to enjoy the beach over at Hotel on the Cay ($5/person, free kids under 12, round trip). Pool is decent-sized & 3-8 feet deep. Onsite ATM was handy; $3 charge on top of whatever your bank charges. Casino was separate so we had no issues with our little girl pushing to play.

Minor things can take awhile to fix; soda machine ran out of diet coke for at least 3 days. Tropical storm dumped over 5 inches of rain & threw off the pool chemistry, shutting the pool down 3 days, but the hotel spontaneously provided us $15 to use to take our little girl via ferry to the beach at Hotel on the Cay.

Due to renovation they had us park at an off-site parking lot a block or so away. That should be short term. Air conditioning worked fine. We had a safe and mini-fridge but no microwave. The bathroom had a sliding door, and anyone sitting on the toilet almost directly faced it (at least in room 211). Needs a bigger table or desk, but there was decent closet & a lot of drawer space. Soda machine accepted credit cards but snack machine didn't.

We stayed 8 days. The 2 queen beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Thank you Richard L for such an in-depth review.

We are happy to hear all of your thoughts. I still remember the look in your daughters face when she came down to swim, we are happy you were able to take the ferry to the beach to let her play in the water.

Hope to have you and your family return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 4 days in St. Croix. We chose the Caravelle hotel because of its location to the dive shop we were diving with (SCUBA) and because the Caravelle was one of the hotels participating in the USVI's Centennial $300 promotion. Turns out that you had to book the reservation directly on the USVI Tourism website to get the $300 (a little detail they failed to mention), but that wasn't the hotel's fault.
Our dissatisfaction with the hotel began with the fact that the nearest parking was a dirt parking lot 2 blocks away. The hotel has reserved 20+ spots of on-site parking for employees and executives while their guest have to tote their luggage and walk 2 blocks. (See photo) and the irony is they weren't even using the parking spots. The elevator was under construction so we got to tote the same luggage up three flights of steps. The "newly renovated" rooms were poorly done. (See photo of AC drainage running down bathroom wall). Worst if all, there was a street concert sponsored by the hotel Saturday night. The hotel placed the band in the room next to us. Before the performance the band was "gearing up" aka drinking and partying - very loud and the walls were so thin it was like they were in our room. The music from the street party was so loud it was impossible to sleep and we were diving early the next morning. The band finished playing at 1AM and we got to listen to them "whind down" until 2AM.
Definitely not a first class experience. Only pluses were location.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBacchus, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Dear Marcia M,
Thanks for sharing your comments and concerns. Your feedback is very important and we appreciate you taking the time to review our property so we can continue to improve the guest experience we provide. We take all our guest comments and reviews seriously and are sorry that your stay was not to your liking. We are currently working on a more efficient way to shuttle our guests to and from our extended parking lot while our elevator is being installed. To bring “life” back into Christiansted, the hotel often participates in block parties to offer guests some entertainment during their stay. We do apologize that this was more of a bother than a fun activity for you. We hope this will not deter you from returning and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews