We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased every time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2018

We live on island and We've stayed several times. Weve booked stays for family when they visit and my wife and I stayed 5-6 weeks post Hurracaine Maria. The front desk staff and the room accommodations have always been good. The value and location are good for families, couples, or those looking to party.

Room Tip: Restaurant on site and several other restaurants and stores within very short walk
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dondada365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you dondada365 for taking the time to tell others about your experiences with us.
We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

What an incredible place! With everything they are dealing with after the hurricane it never interfered with the service or the kindness. Our room was fantastic, great view and the service was second to none! Thank you for making a difficult trip so wonderful!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you Connie W

We are doing what we can and thank you for letting others know we try our best!
we hope to be back to "normal" soon...
looking forward to seeing you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This hotel sits right along the boardwalk so access to dive shops and restaurants is great. The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly. The only drawbacks are that the hotel does not have an elevator so you have to haul your luggage up one or two flights of stairs and parking is a couple of blocks away. However they have staff to assist with the luggage and parking is not onsite because they are adding an elevator. There is a cart that will shuttle you back and forth to your car.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrisjC6689ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you chrisjC6689ST

We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about you stay. Please come and visit us again we are aiming to have the elevator completed soon. However, Hurricane Maria clean up has halted construction. But we are hopeful to resume construction in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here. The room was newly renovated and the view was spectacular. Everyone was so helpful and pleasant. It is right on a boardwalk that some very good restaurants. That includes Rum Runners in the the hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wmartin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you wmartin09,

We appreciate travelers taking the time to let others know how wonderful their stay was.
We hope you come and visit us again soon!
And By The Way.... St Croix was not damaged by Hurricane Irma so you can plan your return trip sooner rather than later =)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Nice, clean, good location for access to restaurants (e.g.: Rum Runners, Angry Nates, Shupes, You Are Here), gift shops & dive boats (e.g.: S.C.U.B.A.'s dive shop & boat Reliance), tours (e.g.: Big Beards), and a 5 minute walk from the ferry you can take to enjoy the beach over at Hotel on the Cay ($5/person, free kids under 12, round trip). Pool is decent-sized & 3-8 feet deep. Onsite ATM was handy; $3 charge on top of whatever your bank charges. Casino was separate so we had no issues with our little girl pushing to play.

Minor things can take awhile to fix; soda machine ran out of diet coke for at least 3 days. Tropical storm dumped over 5 inches of rain & threw off the pool chemistry, shutting the pool down 3 days, but the hotel spontaneously provided us $15 to use to take our little girl via ferry to the beach at Hotel on the Cay.

Due to renovation they had us park at an off-site parking lot a block or so away. That should be short term. Air conditioning worked fine. We had a safe and mini-fridge but no microwave. The bathroom had a sliding door, and anyone sitting on the toilet almost directly faced it (at least in room 211). Needs a bigger table or desk, but there was decent closet & a lot of drawer space. Soda machine accepted credit cards but snack machine didn't.

We stayed 8 days. The 2 queen beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you Richard L for such an in-depth review.

We are happy to hear all of your thoughts. I still remember the look in your daughters face when she came down to swim, we are happy you were able to take the ferry to the beach to let her play in the water.

Hope to have you and your family return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 4 days in St. Croix. We chose the Caravelle hotel because of its location to the dive shop we were diving with (SCUBA) and because the Caravelle was one of the hotels participating in the USVI's Centennial $300 promotion. Turns out that you had to book the reservation directly on the USVI Tourism website to get the $300 (a little detail they failed to mention), but that wasn't the hotel's fault.
Our dissatisfaction with the hotel began with the fact that the nearest parking was a dirt parking lot 2 blocks away. The hotel has reserved 20+ spots of on-site parking for employees and executives while their guest have to tote their luggage and walk 2 blocks. (See photo) and the irony is they weren't even using the parking spots. The elevator was under construction so we got to tote the same luggage up three flights of steps. The "newly renovated" rooms were poorly done. (See photo of AC drainage running down bathroom wall). Worst if all, there was a street concert sponsored by the hotel Saturday night. The hotel placed the band in the room next to us. Before the performance the band was "gearing up" aka drinking and partying - very loud and the walls were so thin it was like they were in our room. The music from the street party was so loud it was impossible to sleep and we were diving early the next morning. The band finished playing at 1AM and we got to listen to them "whind down" until 2AM.
Definitely not a first class experience. Only pluses were location.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBacchus, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Marcia M,
Thanks for sharing your comments and concerns. Your feedback is very important and we appreciate you taking the time to review our property so we can continue to improve the guest experience we provide. We take all our guest comments and reviews seriously and are sorry that your stay was not to your liking. We are currently working on a more efficient way to shuttle our guests to and from our extended parking lot while our elevator is being installed. To bring “life” back into Christiansted, the hotel often participates in block parties to offer guests some entertainment during their stay. We do apologize that this was more of a bother than a fun activity for you. We hope this will not deter you from returning and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

My girlfriends & I returned to St. Croix for our 40 CHS class reunion and stayed from June 30 - July 11, 2017. We were greeted and treated like family. From our first encounter we met Ms. Christina (front desk) and Ms. Maria (house keeping) they were welcoming, warm and friendly throughout out stay. The hotel is in a great location on the water with nice view and easy access to the boardwalk and restaurants. It's in walking distance to some of the island's must visit, as Thomas bakery. Totally enjoyed our stay, the staff, the hotel, the area and would love to do it again. The location provides entertainment (concert, block party, jump up) until about midnightish if you are an early sleeper bring some ear plugs. If you have questions, Ms. Christina will help! Love you Ms Christina and Ms Maria.

Room Tip: Be able to use stairs, currently no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqulene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you Jacqulene P

We love to see such great reviews from our happy guests!
Good news, our elevator will be here and running by your return trip.
We hope you join us again soon =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
506 reviews
0.1 km away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
131 reviews
4 km away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
218 reviews
0.1 km away
Holger Danske Hotel
Holger Danske Hotel
#9 of 14 in Christiansted
105 reviews
2.7 km away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix

Address: 44A Queen Cross St, Christiansted 00820-5020, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range: C$211 - C$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Hotel & Casino, which was completely renovated in 2016, is located on the waterfront of historic Christiansted, St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. The 42-room three-story hotel blends casual elegance with friendly service and modern amenities including a casino, complimentary Wi-Fi, an outdoor swimming pool and sun decks, an award-winning restaurant, and easy access to land and sea adventures, shopping, tours, and dining. Caravelle Hotel & Casino is walking distance to historic sites including Fort Christiansvearn and the Scale House; boutique shops including clothing, home goods and local, hand-made jewelry stores; art galleries featuring local photographers, painters and artists; and award-winning independently-owned restaurants. Sailing charters island tours, Scuba diving trips and guided walking tours depart in front of the hotel. The courtyard garden of Caravelle Hotel features live entertainment. RumRunners Bar & Restaurant is a waterfront, open-air restaurant located in the lobby level of the hotel and serving three meals a day with a focus on fresh local seafood Caribbean inspired dishes and classic American favorites. The casino, which opened April 2016, offers slot machines and a service bar where drinks are complimentary to players. Valet parking is free of charge. The casino is open from 11 am until 12 am Monday through Wednesday, 10 am to 12 midnight Thursday - Saturday and 12 noon- 1 am on Sunday. Caravelle Hotel’s $2.5 million renovation started in September 2015 and was completed in February 2016. Renovations were made in all guest rooms and in the public spaces including the lobby, front desk, pool area, as well as with the exterior and structure of the historic hotel. All 42 guestrooms feature new furnishings including beds, mattresses, pillows, linens, art, windows, lighting, flooring, paint, and amenities. The waterfront hotel reveals a new fresh look with natural stone flooring, brighter open spaces, colorful flowing textile art, and a bright yellow exterior. The redesign adds a contemporary, tropical feel to the hotels welcoming and friendly personality. The local culture is showcased with artwork. Digital photography by Don Diddams is featured in the lobby and in guest rooms. The ceiling of the lobby features a flowing colorful print by local textile artist Debbie Sun. Sun’s creations are also featured in guest rooms where the crisp cotton linens are complimented with a bed sash and accent pillows and in the casino. The overall color scheme of the hotels interiors is natural, calming and subtle with bright accents. The exterior of the hotel is a bright yellow to pay a special nod to the other historic buildings in Christiansted that are also yellow. Caravelle Hotel is walking distance from the seaplanes of Seaborne Airlines and 20 minutes from the airport, which welcomes direct flights from Atlanta, Miami, Charlotte and neighboring islands including Puerto Rico, St. Thomas, and Anguilla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caravelle On St. Croix Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing