We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
285
61
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
285
61
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant next doorchart houselaid backfull kitchenthe crow's nestbottle of rumyour feetown mealsbeach toysother guestsrented a carfew stepsbeautiful beachst croixgrocery storesandy pointcalm waters
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 353 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at Cottages by the Sea for ten nights in December as we did one year ago. Another excellent stay. We realize we won't go anywhere else in St. Croix since staying at the Cottages 100% assures a great Caribbean getaway. It works so well to be right there on the water, in a very clean cottage with anything you might need - including some adventures - a short drive away. And it is so convenient to have an excellent restaurant right night door at the Sandcastle. The whole island is magical, and I highly recommend Cottages for anyone, including young families like ours, who seeks peace and quiet and an incredible beach location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADKWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We recently returned to the mainland from our latest stay at Cottages by the Sea. Obviously we are happy there and truly consider it a second home. During our month-long stay we spent time with other folks who are repeat visitors and met several who were enjoying their first stay. It was great to be withThe Benedict family, Carmen, Rose, Francisco, Elvis, Lyndie too. The weather brought continuing changes in the beach landscape, more than usual for Nov/Dec, but made for something to new to enjoy every few days. It was great to see cruise passengers in greater numbers enjoying their visit, even met a few of them from all over the world on the beach and in town.
Improvements in the Cottages continue. The only downside we noticed was that the landscaping needs more attention.
As so many of the reviews indicate, the people, location, and overall ambiance is truly the perfect antidote to mainland stress, made for those who wish to make their own fun and enjoy an authentic island experience.
One final word, for those like me to who like swimming in a pool, Sandcastles on the Beach right next door offers a "beach club membership" that among other things offers access to both of their pools.
Last but not least, you positively cannot beat the everyday show of sunsets. Being on the west end of the island Cottages is perfectly located to enjoy, make sure you are on one of the patios or settled into one of the beach lounges and enjoy the show each afternoon. Even the "bad" sunsets are awesome and a time of joy!

Room Tip: All of the cottages are within a only a few yards of the beach. If you need to save on room rate, you won't lose much in terms of beach proximity.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stxvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for christmas in one of the cottages and really enjoyed the location. The cottages have access to and are on one of the nicest snorkeling beaches I have seen. the cotages are well equipped and you only need to bring the usual things for a vacation rental (good knives, specific kitchen tools, etc). There is daily maid service with towel replacement and general clean up. The common areas are pleasant and well maintained. The staff is exceptional. Without a doubt the nicest caribbean rental I have stayed at. I normally give no 5 star reviews but this place does its thing really well. Only nit would be a wireless router booster to reach far corners of the property, I had to walk up to the office for a connection, really a major struggle (not)

Room Tip: pick a cottage that meets your needs, we looked at several while we were there
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chet_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We will be going back this spring for our third year in a row the the loveliest spot in the world. We can't wait to see our family away from family. Paul, Ruth, and Donovan always welcome us with open arms, and Carmen, Lynda, and the lovely Rose take wonderful care of us while we escape to this perfect cottage on the beaches of St. Croix. We stayed in Carnival, the stand alone cottage, the first two years and will be in one of the second floor cottages overlooking the beach this year, just for a change. If you are looking for the ideal, quite, peaceful, and warm (emotionally as well as physical) vacation spot, this is the place for you. We love to spend hours under a palm tree or on the porch watching the day go by, and then frequently taking time out from rest to go snorkeling just steps from our porch. We have seen some of the best Caribbean water creatures right in front of Cottages By the Sea. We hope to visit every year, and once we retire completely, to be able to come for multiple stays.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in the biggest one bedroom apartment. It was pretty and airy room with everything we needed. We cooked a few meals. The beach in front of the hotel is nice for swimming and has great lounge chairs. We took a walk to the Sandy Point to the south. It was gorgeous. Loved being close to Frederiksted. We ate yummy rotis at one lunch place. Also heard awesome jazz/calypso music at Blue Moon restaurant - viable only one Friday per month. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: They are all close to the beach. Mine was not on the beach but it was bigger.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casadekathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews