We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages By The Sea
Ranked #1 of 4 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Our visit was cut short because I came down with the flu, but we really enjoyed Cottages by the Sea. Very nice cottages on the beach w/ everything you need to have fun. Guest, employees, and owners are all very helpful and friendly. Need a car, especially on off season. Hope to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashvilleExplorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

I just stayed at Cottages by the Sea for 4 nights and just loved the stay there. The rooms were comfy and quaintly decorated. If you are looking to stay somewhere to relax and get away from the RAT RACE, this place is for you. There are several great places to eat in Fredricksted but if you are looking for the night life and party atmosphere then Fredricksted is pro ably not your ideal location. The staff at Cottages were fantastic and so very helpful. I plan to return soon and will be staying at Cottages by the Sea .

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murmayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Got to St. Croix and checked in with Paul. The first thing he did after checking us in was told us he would drive us to a local place where we could get dinner (since we didn't have our rental car yet), later he came back and picked us up. Where can you get that!?
Rooms were great, people there are the best! Enjoyed our time so much. They have what you need there for kayaking, snorkeling, biking and just relaxing.
The views are the best. Withing walking distance to food and drink. Great fish to see while snorkeling or just swimming, beautiful sunsets!
Went for our 50th birthdays and want to go back.
Love Cottages By The Sea!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzardmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

The cottage was cute the beach and water were beautiful! The vacation was ok. The whole island shuts down in the fall and many things were not open. The island was also considerably less developed then we hoped for. We felt uncomfortable whenever we left the cottages.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amandamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I highly recommend Cottages By The Sea....clean, quaint, and private with friendly staff and management! Great location by the beach and a great restaurant next door! A very unique one-of-a-kind slice of paradise by the sea! Looking forward to purchasing some gift certificates for family and a return visit! Loved, loved our cottage! No cookie cutter hotel experience here!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong... So unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justmeagrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Good evening!
I have to say, thanks to all of your wonderful staff for making Mark's and my wedding on July 7th picture perfect. From the gorgeous flower-and-conch-shell lined aisle to the glorious palm-front-and-flower covered arch, it was like a dream come true. All the hard work of all the staff, making our visiting friends and family feel so warmly welcomed, from the cute guys offering freshly cut coconuts for my giggling bridesmaids to drink from to the postcard sunsets you so thoughtfully provided every evening, paid off in ecstatic guests and lifelong Cottages fans. In fact, you helped make such a great impression of St. Croix that 2 of our wedding guests have already moved here!
You would never think from the incredibly affordable rates that you have one of the most well-appointed lodgings on the island, with new, freshly renovated, modern and comfortable rooms that those mere words say so little to really describe. I live here, but I did not want to go home! Cottages is beachfront, ocean-kissed perfection, and I hate telling anybody about it because I want to keep the secret all to myself! But I have to give you the props you so richly deserve, and I am posting this review on Trip Advisor tonight! I just hope they don't tell anyone....we want to keep Cottages our special, perfect secret.
Thanks again for everything! WE LOVE YOU!!!

Wendy (& Mark!) A.
PS- Don't forget the GREAT food at Blue Moon Cafe (plus GREAT desserts), Sandcastle on the Beach's Beachside Cafe and Polly's at the Pier!!! When you just don't want to grill another (sigh) perfect meal beside the cerulean sea, there is great food to be had close at hand. Had a great bachelorette party dinner at Blue Moon after amazing SURPRISE STAND-UP PADDLEBOARDING BACHELORETTE PARTY at Teres Vejo just past the pier by the Limin Cantina. SO FUN!!
Wedding week activities you will LOVE included a trip to Buck Island with Caribbean Sea Adventures, AMAZING bioluminescent night kayaking tour with Bush Tribe Eco Adventures, a Jump Up in Christiansted, PERFECT rehearsal dinner at Angry Nate's on the Christiansted Boardwalk and a mind-blowing Slow Down Dinner at the Ridge To Reef Farm in the rainforest. We wish we had gotten to do a Tan Tan Tour...maybe next year!!!

Room Tip: Chocolate was awesome- have not yet seen a "bad" cottage here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STXGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I don't have the words to describe how great of a vacation we had in St. Croix at Cottages by the Sea. Paul and his staff are fantastic and were so very accommodating from the evening we arrived until the morning we left (one week). The cottages are very clean and quaint and have excellent views of the water.

Don't hesitate to book your next vacation here. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Cruzan has an amazing patio!! Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lbkgal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksted
20.1 km away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
504 reviews
23.8 km away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.1 km away
The Inn on Strand Street
The Inn on Strand Street
#1 of 1 in Frederiksted
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,463 reviews
0 km away
Sand Castle on the Beach
Sand Castle on the Beach
#2 of 4 in Frederiksted
376 reviews
8.9 km away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages By The Sea

Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-4048, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range: $196 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. Our goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, friendly, relaxed, truly authentic Caribbean beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cottages By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing