We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
50
18
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
18
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstucked awayrainbow beachnature soundsoff the beaten pathcell phoneexplore the islandgingerbutlervilladeckrainforestmilesbeachesleappropertysunsetcroix
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 72 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2015

This February I spent 2 magical weeks at Northside Valley eco-villa's on the west end of St. Croix, USVI. There are several cottages, up a long dirt driveway, situated in the rain forest, surrounded by lush gardens. Each villa is actually a small house. The three I toured were all clean, with open floor plans and ocean views. We stayed in the Shepard's Hut,a private, large stone house with a magnificent great room, huge porch and patio with an ocean view. There are no windows, only screens, so the delightful blend of surf/frogs/insects/birds created a nightly symphony. I miss laying in the very comfortable bed there and looking out at flowers and hummingbirds.Our really sweet gardener picked us a papaya from the tree next to our porch.The night sky is fantastic.

Ginger Vanderveer, the owner of Northside Valley is friendly and wonderful. She went beyond the
call of duty to make us feel welcome and to help us plan our activities, I made a new friend who I look forward to seeing again soon! I would recommend these villas to anyone who loves nature. It's best to rent a car, but there is a lovely beach ( with good snorkeling) less than a 5 min walk away, as well as some great hikes in the rain forest ( an easy walk from Northside).

My vacation there was such a welcome break from this long winter in the north east. I will definitely return & highly recommend!!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2015

AMAZING FABULOUS EXPERIENCE!!!! CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!! We stayed at Leah's Leap, GREAT views over the tops of the palms trees with the Carribean in the background.
FABULOUS SANDY BEACHES IN SHORT WALKING DISTANCE. You can walk down the hill through beautiful, rainforest vegetation to your own private beach where there is some OF THE BEST SNORKELLING on the island. ( NOT A CROWDED BEACH like St. Thomas etc.) COMFORTABLE MATTRESSES!!! These wonderful "Polynesian style" cottages ALL WITH GRAND DECKS are spacious and nestled into several acres on a hillside over looking the sea. Our house was quite private, AND TROPICAL birds would perch on our drinks while we were sunbathing on the deck. The cool island breezes were spectacular and the house screened in so it felt like OUTDOOR LIVING and was nicely appointed and VERY COMFORTABLE ALL AROUND, EVEN THE OUTDOOR FURNITURE. (We are sixty and very picky about comfort.) Large kitchens and living rooms. This whole section of the island is the least developed and near Frederickstead which has great restaurants and many more lovely, less crowded beaches to choose from. Just a mile or so from the cottage there were really great restaurant/bars situated on the beach where you could get great fish and salad and drinks steps from the sea. The staff at northside was delightful and went above and beyond our expectations. I can't wait to go back. In fact, I really missed waking up to the sounds of the rainforest and the views and breezes. Laying in bed looking out at the vista from all directions is GREAT.

Room Tip: wI fI WAS on the deck at the main house where the proprietor lives. All the Cottages seemed to have good views and were spacious.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sidney j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2015

Staying at Northside Valley was an amazing way to be at one with the island. We (mom & two daughters) stayed for a week in the Ginger Thomas villa. There is a great view of the ocean and sunsets from the large porch and the villa is surrounded by rainforest vegetation, giving us plenty of privacy. (The outdoor shower is wonderful after days at the beach!) The villa is spacious with large bedrooms and a full kitchen which we used often for cooking dinner. The screened windows give lots of air flow and keep the house from being stuffy without an AC. We had plenty of hot water for showers, comfortable beds, and extra towels. The beach across the street is beautiful but rocky, so most days we drove a short way down the street to Rainbow Beach, an amazing stretch of beach for swimming, snorkeling and walking (and never crowded). We also highly recommend Estate Mt Washington, a gorgeous plantation ruin just around the corner & up the hill from Northside.

We cannot say enough about how wonderful Ginger (the owner) was during our stay! She lent us beach towels and snorkel gear so that we did not have to purchase any, and gave us fresh sour oranges from her trees (which made the best orange-aid!) She was always eager to give out recommendations for things to do & see, and provided us with anything we needed to be happy and comfortable.

The villas are a great way to experience nature and feel like glorified camping. Being in the midst of the rainforest, you are apt to have a symphony of tree frogs at night (a few on your windowsill) and some sudden morning downpours. The insects were a bit larger than the ones we were used to in New England, but the bug-sparys used in the villas keeps their presence down to a manageable amount. Lizards and hummingbirds are some of the more friendly visitors you will see often. As long as you are a friend to nature, you will love your stay at Northside.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2015

We had a wonderful stay here at the Eco-village. I think this property is most suited to those who love nature and have done some light camping since it combines many comforts with a somewhat campy natural feel. We stayed in Shepherds Hut and it was so spacious it seemed like the size of the main floor of a ranch house. It had two porches! The kitchen with stove and frig and utensils and wine opener was a huge plus. Ginger is the absolutely perfect host and goes out of her way to deliver! The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because of its location at the far west end of the island which is of no fault to the property itself. Since it takes some skill navigating back to the villa with a rental car we made an effort to be back by sundown, which in Feb was about 6 pm-ish, which some of you may not mind. I got to a level of relaxation and casualness that I haven't felt in a very long time. USVI tourism is trying to address the poorly marked (unmarked) road signs and potholed roads. The 4 laner from the airport is great, though. Funfilled days of endless beautiful turquoise beaches, Cruzan rum tour ($8 includes lots of drinks), food, visiting fancy hotels such as the Buccaneer for lunch and sunbathing on the public beach there. Wifi at the owner's "Internet cafe" on her deck. She even made me some tea.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed with Ginger and the 3rd time on the island. She was so accommodating with our 12+ person group and 3 Villa rentals. Everything we needed, even my many emails (and multiple changes) beforehand were taken care of. Ginger always goes above and beyond and we love supporting the locals. The property is beautiful as you will read in other reviews. Ginger set up a Turtle Watch tour for us, included us in the goings on around the property, took us on a hike up to Hamm's Bluff and had her intern take us out snorkeling! Can it get much better? If you are look for a local natural setting that feels like a home away from home instead of the more commercial resort, you've found your place! Make sure to check out Villa Morales, Rowdy Joes and Domino Club!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mallory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews