We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moved to the Ritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Indiana
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Moved to the Ritz”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Marriott needs some serious help. Check in took over 30 minutes. I had pre-emailed about our stay with a request for an upgrade (my husband and I are both Platinum). We paid and used points for this stay but the Ritz would have been less expensive (and a far better experience, here now), with all of the associated fees at the Marriott. We clearly told them we had 3 in our party and were put in a regular room with one bed. After complaining, they brought in a cot (my son's back hurt after sleeping on it) and offered comped breakfasts--and of course, yes the breakfasts showed up on our check--even after a desk manager called the night before and I let her know we were offered this. They did remove the charges and there were 2 others dining charges on our bill we did not put there--but they were removed. I would carefully read your bill before check out.

Other....

We had a surly server at Coco Joe's, slow, non helpful and slow. We selected to dine out most nights and had great meals at Oceana and Thirteen--both exceptional. The one positive at the Marriott was the seafood buffet--amazing lobster, but at $60pp++ should have been!

Iguanas everywhere--they must clear them at the Ritz as we have seen none here but there were dozens at the Marriott and one even jumped in the pool. Many screaming children.

Lastly, some pockets where they are trying...but odd, sequestered feeling at this hotel. Will not plan to return. Again, 2 more nights at the Ritz and so glad we changed our plans to move to this hotel.

If you have mobility issues, do NOT stay here. Also, there was significant mold around the tub--none here at the Ritz.

Room Tip: Depending on the view you'd like--if you'd like to overlook the shopping area, cruise ships...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dibotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us and providing some details of your recent experience. From what I understand after reading your review, your main disappointments were caused by feeling there was a failure of communications at the resort level. For that, I apologize and would like to invite you to contact me at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com
so I may can work directly with you. On your next visit, we would love to have the opportunity to create an experience that exceeds your expectations! On a positive note, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our famous seafood buffet! Regarding your observation about our resident iguanas, they are a natural part of the island ecosystem. As protected wildlife, we do manage their numbers through our local "Department of Planning and Natural Resources" with relocation assistance. Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,603
    1,364
    720
    345
    194
See reviews for
1,165
1,808
81
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,567)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early April 2012 and though it was a little slow checking in everything went great after that. We stay at Marriotts often enough and Frenchman's Reef compares well. We were automatically upgraded to their beach front Morning Star Resort. Great views from the room. And what a great staff, everyone was so friendly. Q Dee, the concierge, was full of jokes and laughter and helped us out with all our questions and much more. After a walk on the beach, we had dinner, and our waitress, Heather was charming and what charisma. It's wonderful be around such friendly people so happy to help.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your outstanding review. We are happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed Morning Star and felt taken care of by Dee, Heather and the rest of our team! We sincerely appreciate the recommendation and hope to have you visit the island again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We are at Frenchman's right now. We will be here two more days. We have been to several other Marriott resorts due to my husband's platinum status. We stayed at the Casa Magna Marriott in Cancun twice and last year we were at Marco Island, FL. It is true that the upkeep of this hotel does not match the others. The grounds are cleaned in the am and then gradually disintegrate all day, it's not like Mexico where a crew is constantly cleaning and polishing. However, almost every employee we have interacted with has been pleasant and welcoming. I think some of the other posters that complain about the staff should perhaps step back, and examine their own attitudes. On check in day, I stood in line to check in and watched with mouth open as one after another middle class, middle aged white person would shamelessly ignore the line and sidle right up to the desk and jump in front. As a middle aged, middle class white person myself, it was really kind of depressing. The rooms are fine. Originally we were given a 5th floor resort view without even a full length door, pretty depressing. When I asked for a change, they moved us up two floors so at least we can lean out the door and see the water. No balcony, bummer - esp with our status but oh well.
So here's what you need to know - the Morning Star beach is nice, plenty big enough, free floats and padde boats and kayaks for guests. The pools here are ok. pretty, but small. however, here's the thing - you don't have to camp at the hotel. Get a car, for God's sake, and go explore the island. Go to Coki Beach - do it! the snorkeling is perfect for families with kids, since you can start right off the beach. You can bring your own gear. Go yourself, don't pay for a tour. Go to Magen's Bay, it's lovely.Be nice to the people working at the hotel, it's really not so hard.
Here's our one gripe - we haven't had a decent meal yet. We haven't really tried the hotel restaurants, we really wanted to find some local restaurant with fresh seafood, but every place we've tried so far, based on recommendations we've received from staff here, has been crappy tourist junk. Surely somewhere on this island is some wonderful, casual cheap food - where locals and ex-pats eat - we want fish tacos, or just fresh fish period. there's fish all over the place, why can't we find any to eat? if management sees this and wants to guide us, we're in room 1753. thanks.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LJEDRACHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for writing! I have left a message in your room and hope to connect and give you some great restaurant suggestions for the island. I also appreciate your comments, tips and astute observations of the resort as a whole and welcome any further discussion regarding your experience. Thank you again for the excellent satisfaction rating and I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown wv
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a September vacation and we were in off season. The pool was being renovated and half was shut down but it wasn't a big deal because there weren't that many people there and we ran into some NFL players from WV that were just released, which was kinda cool for us...not them. The location is a bit out of the way without a vehicle, which I highly recommend. The driving isn't bad and younget used to being on the lest side of the road quickly. We enjoyed watching the cruse ships come in and planes land on the water in the bay off the hotel balcony. Our first room was next to a huge AC unit and after we asked to move we were promptly moved to a GREAT room with a balcony and better view. Great place to stay and rent a car

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noah684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your excellent review! It must have been very exciting running into some professional athletes from your home state! We hope that you and your husband will visit the island again this year! Since the time of your September stay, we have completed a $48 million renovation of Frenchman’s Reef including room updates, new pools and spa and new lounge areas. We also updated most restaurants and common areas. This spring and summer, look for some great special offers here on Tripadvisor. Thank you again for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilton head island
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I loved staying at Marriott's Morning Star but mostly just because the beach was gorgeous. I have to be honest and let you know we are frequent Marriott customer's and are Platinum Marriott members which is the highest status in their loyalty program, that being said, our service was okay. Certainly not at the level we receive in the states. BUT, realizing it is the Caribbean, we learn to adjust those standards. (sad but true). We had a awesome room about 10 steps to the water down on the beach, and I have to tell you that was great! The room was on the small side, but it was very clean. The bed didn't feel like the usual super comfy Marriot mattress, but it was okay, not horrible. The beach chairs are a bit shabby, and weren't that comfortable. There wasn't any beach service, you had to walk up the beach bar and order for yourself, which was a bit of walk. The four star review is based on the location. If we weren't in this location, it would probably be a 2. We went over to Frenchmen's Reef (the views were awesome over the harbor) but it was very musty and smelled like wet carpet, it was very tired and worn. Seemed to be fairly clean but still the smell wasn't great.

Room Tip: Stay in the Morning Star section, NOT Frenchmen's Reef.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bugtussle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your compliments, suggestions and generous review rating. The photos you posted are beautiful! I am glad to hear your Morning Star room was sparkling clean and you enjoyed the location and close proximity to the beach. We are always seeking ways to improve our products and service, so I am discussing your maintenance comments with our management team. We’re grateful to have loyal members like yourselves stay with us and would like to earn your continued loyalty by resolving any issues as they present themselves. That is why these positive reviews with suggestions are so helpful. Thank you again and we hope that your next vacation brings you back to St. Thomas and to Frenchman’s Reef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We had a great time at Frenchmans Reef. Good food,great weather, sunny beachs, and RUM. Overall the property was nice. Everyone was really helpful. Definitly talk to Clint if you can. He helped us alot with dinner suggestions everynight and unique places to go during the day that were off the beaten path. it was a very fun 5 days. looking forward to coming back this fall. I fully recommend the hotel to anyone. If I had one suggestion its be patient, your own island time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raw5079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to post! We certainly do appreciate the compliment for our concierge team member Clint and will be sure to personally recognize him for this continued service excellence. We look forward to your next visit to show you the same or even greater level of satisfaction and fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My family has come to this hotel for many years. Just got back from a 7 day stay and found that the mid-management men behind the reception desk just could not be bothered to help out guests. If a female receptionist were present, I could request beach towels etc.at the front desk. If one of the male managers were present, they made me walk down to the pool area which was far from my room.
The worst was when I requested a one hour extension on our check out time. Now, after having spent thousands of dollars at this hotel, and I am an elite member with Marriott, I was repeatedly refused! The man in charge said that Marriott hotels have the option of honoring elite members with this perk and that my room would be cleaned as soon as I checked out at 11AM.
Well, since my flight did not leave until 3PM, I went back to my room at 12:30 PM and the maids had not cleaned it and he could have easily extended my checkout untill 12:00.
He just did not want to be bothered.
When I pay this much money, I expect to get the perks that I pay for by being an elite Marriott member.
Nice hotel...Lazy management.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayak4822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you had a very mixed experience on your most recent visit and I’d like to extend a personal apology for the inconveniences you mention here. One thing we strive for is consistency, so I appreciate you bringing the front desk issue to my attention to be resolved. Regarding your late check-out request, the decision process for granting a late check-out is the same as granting an early check-in and, like most hotels, is based primarily upon occupancy levels. We do our utmost to grant our members all the benefits of their Marriott status. In your case it sounds like we were unable to and again, I apologize. On a positive note, I am glad to hear you enjoyed the resort as a whole. We hope you will be so kind as to continue to choose Frenchman’s Reef as your hotel of choice in the future as we work towards resolving these issues. Thank you again for your comments and if you have any questions or would like to discuss this in more detail, feel free to reach out to me personally at sttfrexperienceteam@marriotthotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.5 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
6.9 km away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
6.6 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
2.9 km away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Kognitiv US Corp, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands - Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing