We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property Offering Options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Property Offering Options”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This complex offers a diversity of room choices depending on your desires and budget. We just stayed at the Morning Star which is a set of low rise buildings right on the beach. Our oceanfront room was good with a nice lanai and decent space and amenities. The bathrooms are smallish standard issue types. The benefit of these rooms is that they are relatively quiet and only steps from the beach. There is a good restaurant at Morning Star called Havana Blue that is worth a try and a small market for sundries. Another cafe, Coco Joe's provides lighter daily fare and a beach bar (try the crab omelette). The Morning Star pool is good and also a few steps from the buildings.

Frenchman's Reef is the main complex and they run shuttles every 15 minutes between there and Morning Star. The main hotel was recently renovated but since we didn't stay there, I'll just comment that all of the common areas are very nice. The main pool is great with endless views of the ocean and Charlotte Amalie harbor.

There are two separate buldings in addition to the main hotel; Harborview and Sea Cliff. The Harborview rooms appear to be very spacious (800 sq ft) with great views from what I read. They are a bit of a walk from the main hotel and a shuttle ride from the beach. We stayed at the Sea Cliff last June and enjoyed it. This building is between the main hotel and Morning Star overlooking the tennis courts and ocean. The rooms are similar in size to Morning Star, but a bit newer. You can walk from Sea Cliffs to either pool or the beach. The walk to the beach is scenic and offers a great opportunity to see a waterfall and the resident iguanas along the way.

There is a daily resort fee, but it includes amenities in the room and many at the beach. Most everything you want at the beach is free (lounges, umbrellas, snorkel sets, floats, boogie boards, etc) which can rack up the costs at other resorts. If you want a snorkel set, get there early (before 9AM) as they often run out early.

The service was very good and we had a great stay. The employees were always very nice and I never got an attitude as I have some other Carribean stays (namely the Bahamas). The onsite food is decent and we also enjoyed Room with a View (Bluebeards Castle), Virgilio's (Italian), and Bella Blu (Austrian).

Room Tip: For easy beach access and quiet nights, Morning Star is a solid choice. If staying in Sea Cliffs go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejbondar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for the review and descriptions of our resort. We’re glad to hear you’ve enjoyed staying at both Morning Star and Frenchman’s Reef. Great tips on our restaurants. We hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit to the islands!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,619
    1,379
    730
    348
    197
See reviews for
1,179
1,831
81
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,582)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

What an awesome place! If your looking for a place that has breath taking views, friendly people, good food, excitement if you want it, this is the place. The staff is hard working and friendly. Remember you are in the caribbean, so things will be a little slower and layed back. Everyone makes you feel comfortable and not rushed. From the pool staff, housekeeping, to hardest working manager (Peter O'Malley), you will be their focus. Thank you for making our 25th wedding anniversary special!!!!!!! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Facing the pool resort has breath taking views. Enjoyed watching the ships leaving port. Looked cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slider19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to celebrate your 26th with you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

We were upgraded at check-in, so we had to wait a few hours for our room to get ready. But that was a minor inconvenience as we had time to eat and explore the property. This was our first time here, but it is certainly on par w/ our experience at the Marco Island property... and the views from the pools are unmatched!!! The food is good at all of the restaurants, but the prices are certainly up there (a simple lunch is over $70 and dinner is never less than $150 for our 3-person family). The staff is gracious and I have no complaints about the service. I have no doubt we'll return!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank plezure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for the recommendation. We’re glad to hear your stay was a success from start to finish and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Although the resort was expensive, it was well worth the money. Beach was always nice and never too busy. Resort location was excellent, close enough to the heart of the city while still being far enough away to give it a resort feel. Avoid the hotel restaurants, they are too pricy. Queen Dee gave us excellent advice on what to do in the area. We wish we would have seen her sooner!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richman241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have been going to Frenchman's Reef for several years. Imagine our surprise when we returned in January to find a whole new hotel.The hotel has undergone a multi-million dollar renovation and it is obvious as soon as you step into the lobby The arrival process has been streamlined greatly. We were met in the lobby by Roberta who facilitated our check-in immediately.When we went to our room ,we were pleasantly surprised by the new decor which reflects the surrounding ocean.The colors of the walls and the paintings in the rooms create a peaceful space in which to relax.
The exercise room is quite large and has state of the art equipment and can acommodate many more people than in the past. There were no wait times for equipment.
The pool area has been completely renewed and is beautiful. The "infinity" pool is amazing.We really enjoyed the Manager"s Cocktail party. It gave us an opportunity to meet Jose ,the General Manager and Janna Harrigan,Front desk Supervisor. They made us feel especially welcome.
The biggest improvement is in the food. We ate at all of the restaurants in the hotel and were delighted with the food and the service.
Between the good food and delightful ambience ,there is no reason to leave the hotel. We can"t wait to go back and have already booked for January.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Harbor Side offer good day and night views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for giving us positive feedback on our new renovations at Frenchman’s Reef. I was delighted to read your lovely descriptions of the lobby, pools and exercise room. We appreciate the mention of Roberta (our resort ambassador), Jose and Janna by name as making a difference for you. I will certainly pass along all these compliments to Jose and the entire team, including the restaurants, for a job well done. Thank you again and we’ll see you next January!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The new renovation is awesome. I thought the pool area and the views were spectacular. Well they are even better now with the infinity pools. The spa area is over the top. They a private pool with relaxation music playing. It makes you feel like you are having a massage all day.

Room Tip: Views of the ocean or harbor are breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beechblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Great description of the new spa area! Thank you for your compliments and excellent satisfaction rating for both of your visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wever, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I spent a week here the first of March and had a perfect vacation! From check in to check out we enjoyed every minute of our time. A little pricey, but we knew to expect that. The grounds are beautiful and the pools are spectacular. The view is to die for! Room was very nice as well. Everyone was very kind and helpful and always had a smile for us. We loved our time here so much that we have already booked a return trip in August to celebrate our anniversary!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dayleschenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce G, Director of Sales at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for the wonderful news! A return trip is the best compliment we can receive and we look forward to celebrating your special occasion with you this August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
7.4 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
14.3 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
8.5 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
6.6 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
685 reviews
0.3 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 5 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie 00801, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded on three sides by stunning Caribbean ocean views, the Frenchman's Reef Resort combines modern luxury and the unique Virgin Island style of St. Thomas. The hotel features clean, crisp large guest rooms with flat screen 50"TVs. Experience new resort features including an infinity pool, children's splash zone, adult infinity pool with bar; and private spa pool. Our Lazule Sea Spa is now open featuring extensive treatment rooms, salon, state of the art fitness center, and private spa pool with cabanas. Aqua Terra is one of three restaurants at Frenchman's Reef which features spectacular views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor. Our mission is to host you brilliantly... To make your every event and stay with us unforgettable and effortless. Come visit us at Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morning Star Beach Resort and discover the most luxurious vacation destination in the US Virgin Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef & Morning Star Beach Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriott Frenchman`s Reef And Morning Star Beach Resort
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Charlotte Amalie Marriott
Marriott Frenchmans Reef
Frenchmans Reef St Thomas
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands - Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing