We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,430)
Filter reviews
4,430 results
Traveller rating
1,693
1,416
758
359
204
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,693
1,416
758
359
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviews morning star frenchman's reef aqua terra coco joes the main hotel harbor wing sunset grill rum bar swim up bar adventure center main pool sea cliff infinity pool night kayaking garden view st thomas tennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
614 - 619 of 4,430 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2016

We spent 4 days at the Marriott Beach Resort. The location and scenery are absolutely gorgeous but the building itself can use some maintenance. Our room was not very well "kept up with" and some things needed attention. Half of the smoke detector was missing and the bathroom was less than desirable (the shower curtain was old and moldy)
Our room did not get cleaned at all the first day of our stay and when we addressed it with that staff and asked that our room gets cleaned the next days, nobody seemed to be too concerned about it, we definitely felt like the customer service skills were lacking there.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank motolinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Dear Motolinka,

Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to review! While happy to hear you enjoyed our stunning scenery, I apologize for the room issues. While I look into situation further, I can say that it sounds like the room was not properly readied for arrival. Although we are not a new property, this is not our normal standard. We take pride in keeping our rooms fresh for each guest. I hope you won’t let this deter you from visiting again. Please feel free to call ahead of your stay so we can personalize your room selection and arrival experience.

Enjoy the autumn season and keep traveling BRILLIANTLY!

Sincerely,
Harmeet Chugh, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2016

We had a great time with our guides Austin & Amanda #frenchmansreef while night kayaking. Huge tarpons, two varieties of sting rays, turtles, gar fish and more. Austin led the way & we suggest you do it, too!

Room tip: high floors for great views.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SharonB2559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Dear Sharon B.,

Thank you for the recommendation. This is our most popular tour and a favorite by guests. It’s tailored for beginners and interesting to seasoned kayakers. We will make sure Austin and Amanda receive recognition for being excellent hosts.

Sincerely,
Harmeet Chugh, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2016

I booked this trip as a shore excursion through our cruise line and I can say it was by far the best part of our trip! My family has taken catamaran and snorkel tours on other port stops but this was by far the best! Jodi, Fernando, and the captain Ryan were so friendly and also very knowledgeable about the turtles and coral reef. It was an amazing experience to swim so close to turtles and I appreciated the fact that Fernando was in the water with us guiding us and pointing out different things in the water to see. We had just the right amount of time in the water and then had a fun trip back with music, drinks, and snacks. Aside from the once in a lifetime experience of snorkeling with sea turtles, the great crew is really what makes this tour so special.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Corey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Dear Corey J.,

Great tip! Thank you for your review and helpful ideas for future travelers. Sounds like you had a fantastic tour! I will pass along the kudos to Capt. Ryan and his crew. They do a great job showing our guests how amazing the Caribbean waters are. For the benefit of those planning travel, these were booked through our Adventure Center on property. You can either make reservations while here or go to the website for more information. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
Harmeet Chugh, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2016

I own in Aruba, 1st stay at Frenchman cove, very nice 2 bedroom unit, resort needs to pay attention to details. Needs some updates, front desk not very welcoming. Called from desk several times and received no answer, when I question it ,I was told well they were busy. Zooligh at the concierge desk was EXCELLANT, even calling on his day off to make sure we where having a good time. The other staff has an unpleasant edge.

Room tip: front buildings
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chezbarbara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Dear Chezbarabara1,

Thank you for your review. We want to let you know that the Marriott Frenchman’s Cove does have a TripAdvisor listing (this one is for Frenchman’s Reef and Morning Star). You may want to move your review there so the team can review your comments.

Thank you for your loyalty to MARRIOTT. Keep traveling BRILLIANTLY!

Sincerely,
Harmeet Chugh, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2016

I have written many reviews about the Marriott Frenchman's Reef in the past. Well, that's because it is the only place my husband and I will stay on St. Thomas and we have collectively visited at least 15+ times. We have witnessed many wonderful upgrades and changes but the warmth and friendly atmosphere of the staff keep us coming back.The staff warmly welcomes us back each year. The resort itself is gorgeous and well maintained. The rooms in the main hotel are just the right size, clean and have a coffee maker and fridge, which are really useful during your stay. The infinity pools and views are breathtaking. The sunsets are worth waiting for with a cocktail in your hand. We find the food in the markets as well as the various restaurants delicious. I would recommend renting a car to really explore the sites of this gorgeous island (driving on the left isn't that scary!). Going to St. John is a must! I always have to mention the wonderful staff. The new General Manager, Chris Donahue, is doing a great job and be sure to attend the Manager's Cocktail hour on Wednesday evening. Contests, prizes and great apps. Antoinette at the front desk is a gem and probably the most mentioned staff member on Trip Advisor. Christian and Sidoni are also wonderful to greet you when you arrive. Roan and his superb Bellman staff, Peter, Luis, and Kendall, will help with your luggage and taxi needs. I am dropping many names but it is why this hotel is as great as it is. The staff are exceptional. Bartenders, Jason and Euston will serve your favorite drink. Deidre, by the pool, will make sure you never have to leave your lounge chair for a drink or food. Daphne, at the Sunset Grill is a classy and sweet Hostess. Our room was kept immaculate by Eulaine. Last but not least, the hotel Manager, Harmeet Chugh, will make sure you have a great stay. If you are not happy with any aspect of your room or Hotel experience, Harmeet is your guy. Don't complain and go home unhappy without speaking up. Harmeet wants you to have a memorable vacation. I highly recommend Marriott Frenchman's Reef if you are planning a stay in St.Thomas. We personally love staying in the main hotel. It is just very convenient. Please look beyond any cons you read about this resort. You will not find a better hotel or more beautiful one than this.

Room tip: If you are unhappy with your say something immediately. The staff is willing to accommodate you. Water views are exceptional.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CtIslandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FReef_MGMT, Manager at Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Dear Christine and Ed,

Many thanks from all of us! We greatly appreciate your warm acknowledgments of our staff. I look forward to reading these comments at our team meeting and giving recognition to the individuals named. It’s always our highest honor to provide the type of experience for our guests that leave them wanting to return again and again. As you mentioned, visitors to the island “will not find a better hotel or more beautiful one than this”. We couldn’t agree more.

Thank you again for your review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Harmeet Chugh, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews