We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mafolie Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$161
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
US$310
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olga's Fancy(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Windward Passage Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bunker Hill Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midtown Guest House(Charlotte Amalie)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort(South Coast)(Great Value!)
US$283
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluebeard's Castle Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
253
191
84
24
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
191
84
24
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharming hoteljunior suitest thomascontinental breakfastbeautiful viewa million dollar viewenglish muffinspool baroverlooking charlotte amaliewater pressuresitting areastayed here for one nightceiling fanthe entire staffgreat drinkssailing tripthe ritz
Filter
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 587 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We recently revisited The Mafolie Hotel for four nights.....originally booked for three but stayed an extra day. Eons ago, we stayed here many times and just loved the place but it fell on hard times and became a disappointing disaster. We decided to give it another try as we heard that there were new owners and oh my, the rumors were correct.....what a difference. It's a work in progress and some of its seams are a little crooked but they are trying and the place "feels" better because I believe they have hired staff that act like they care. The location is out of the way but they do offer free taxi service into town/to the beach. There is a decent size pool, pool bar and a continental breakfast is offered in their restaurant with a view to die for.......magnificent panaramic view of downtown Charlotte Amolie and the harbor ...which is..just breath taking. The restaurant is superb as well. We will definitely return.....customer service does work!!

Room Tip: Request a room on the floor with the dining room....then you will not have too many stairs to climb.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank supermarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Mafolie hotel overlooks Long Bay -- where cruise ships dock. Though the hotel is an older hotel, it is clean and comfortable. Our original room had only a single queen bed and when my daughter and her friend decided to come with us, they accomodated a room switch graciously and without additional cost (out the door cost was $195/night). Restarant has spectacular views though prices were higher than I would have expected for the value but then everything in St. Thomas is higher than state side.

Room Tip: no elevator -- so you may be lugging your bags down a few flights of stairs outside
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sapientia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We came to St. Thomas to get married! We chose the Mafolie for its bed & breakfast feel & we don't like the big box hotels. We stayed in room 113, the best room in our opinion, for 12 days. The service was great! Kiersten, the manager gave us all the inside stories on where to go & what to not waste our money on. Joe always had a smile & a stiff drink ready for us. Greg in the pool bar is a blast... Ask him to show you 'the turtle'! Ha!
Their true service compliment came the day of our wedding when it was raining & we didn't want to be outside. Tori, the resteraunt manager told us we could use the the pool or resteraunt area to get married in! How nice! We did get married at the pool between rain showers.
The hotel does have stairs to each room, but it's part of the ambiance. The pool was comfortable & only full of rug-rats once.
They do not charge if you leave a/c on, but you should be conservative as everything is flown in to the island.
The continental breakfast was nice w/fresh fruit, muffins & various toasts. Ella always had a smile & hot coffee ready.
The view is specular! The hotel is also only a $5 per person ride from Charlotte Amalie,
not as far away as it looks. Magen's Bay is right over the hill north & they have a free shuttle there & to the city. We did rent a car for part of the time & never found parking that difficult. Not like Chicago!
When we read the reviews b/4 we came, & we felt the lower stats were because they wanted the Ritz & the Mafolie is like staying at your rich friend's house! Homey & full of fun!
We are so coming back for our next honeymoon!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Redheartlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Staff were great. The location has a sweeping view of Charlotte Amalie, and the grounds are kept very clean. The pool area has some charm, It is impossible not to get an excellent view from any of the tables in the restaurant. Breakfast is decent. The rooms themselves are clean, but old and tired. The internet worked. We stayed in an airless room tucked in the back of the hotel, and would personally not do so again; but the rooms facing the view are potentially much better. Parking is available on the street, but we advise coming during the daytime if at all possible, as nighttime gets crowded with folks coming to eat at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces the view. Its bound to have better air flow than the one tucked into the back of the building.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnaM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2012

On St Thomas, you have a few very nice high end hotels/resorts with rooms north of $400/nt, or you have the flee bags that rent rooms for about $150. The Mafolie does a nice job of giving you another option for about $225/night. The rooms have magnificent views and are spacious an clean. The restaurant is very good. We spent three hours at the pool and enjoyed lunch at the pool bar.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews