We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for a few days”
Review of Mafolie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mafolie Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Port Washington NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for a few days”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My family (2 adults and 3 kids) stayed in the Mafolie for 2 nights prior to a charter sailing trip. We chose this hotel as they could accomodate all of us in one room and it seemed quite a relaxed environment.

The pool, overlooking the harbor was a pleasure to spend the afternoon in and the location was convenient both to town and the major road to Red Hook. I highly recommend NOT taking cabs in St. Thomas as they are very expensive and renting a car is really the way to go should you be brave enough to drive on the curvey steep roads of St. Thomas.

The hotel was clean and the breakfast was adequate each day. Prices were also very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bleifeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    178
    79
    23
    34
See reviews for
80
295
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We recently revisited The Mafolie Hotel for four nights.....originally booked for three but stayed an extra day. Eons ago, we stayed here many times and just loved the place but it fell on hard times and became a disappointing disaster. We decided to give it another try as we heard that there were new owners and oh my, the rumors were correct.....what a difference. It's a work in progress and some of its seams are a little crooked but they are trying and the place "feels" better because I believe they have hired staff that act like they care. The location is out of the way but they do offer free taxi service into town/to the beach. There is a decent size pool, pool bar and a continental breakfast is offered in their restaurant with a view to die for.......magnificent panaramic view of downtown Charlotte Amolie and the harbor ...which is..just breath taking. The restaurant is superb as well. We will definitely return.....customer service does work!!

Room Tip: Request a room on the floor with the dining room....then you will not have too many stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank supermarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Mafolie hotel overlooks Long Bay -- where cruise ships dock. Though the hotel is an older hotel, it is clean and comfortable. Our original room had only a single queen bed and when my daughter and her friend decided to come with us, they accomodated a room switch graciously and without additional cost (out the door cost was $195/night). Restarant has spectacular views though prices were higher than I would have expected for the value but then everything in St. Thomas is higher than state side.

Room Tip: no elevator -- so you may be lugging your bags down a few flights of stairs outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sapientia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We came to St. Thomas to get married! We chose the Mafolie for its bed & breakfast feel & we don't like the big box hotels. We stayed in room 113, the best room in our opinion, for 12 days. The service was great! Kiersten, the manager gave us all the inside stories on where to go & what to not waste our money on. Joe always had a smile & a stiff drink ready for us. Greg in the pool bar is a blast... Ask him to show you 'the turtle'! Ha!
Their true service compliment came the day of our wedding when it was raining & we didn't want to be outside. Tori, the resteraunt manager told us we could use the the pool or resteraunt area to get married in! How nice! We did get married at the pool between rain showers.
The hotel does have stairs to each room, but it's part of the ambiance. The pool was comfortable & only full of rug-rats once.
They do not charge if you leave a/c on, but you should be conservative as everything is flown in to the island.
The continental breakfast was nice w/fresh fruit, muffins & various toasts. Ella always had a smile & hot coffee ready.
The view is specular! The hotel is also only a $5 per person ride from Charlotte Amalie,
not as far away as it looks. Magen's Bay is right over the hill north & they have a free shuttle there & to the city. We did rent a car for part of the time & never found parking that difficult. Not like Chicago!
When we read the reviews b/4 we came, & we felt the lower stats were because they wanted the Ritz & the Mafolie is like staying at your rich friend's house! Homey & full of fun!
We are so coming back for our next honeymoon!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redheartlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Staff were great. The location has a sweeping view of Charlotte Amalie, and the grounds are kept very clean. The pool area has some charm, It is impossible not to get an excellent view from any of the tables in the restaurant. Breakfast is decent. The rooms themselves are clean, but old and tired. The internet worked. We stayed in an airless room tucked in the back of the hotel, and would personally not do so again; but the rooms facing the view are potentially much better. Parking is available on the street, but we advise coming during the daytime if at all possible, as nighttime gets crowded with folks coming to eat at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces the view. Its bound to have better air flow than the one tucked into the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

On St Thomas, you have a few very nice high end hotels/resorts with rooms north of $400/nt, or you have the flee bags that rent rooms for about $150. The Mafolie does a nice job of giving you another option for about $225/night. The rooms have magnificent views and are spacious an clean. The restaurant is very good. We spent three hours at the pool and enjoyed lunch at the pool bar.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We were recieved by Joy and she was great. We booked thru Hotels.com using TRIPAdvisor and we reserved a room vith a view. When we saw the room it didn't have a view and we were charged $20.00 more a night for one with a view. Actually the room itself didn't have a view, it had no windows either, you had to open the door to the living area to see it. Most rooms have only glass blocks for windows and few have a view.... The cleaning staff is a mess and they only use a broom for cleaning. The rooms need a desperate paint job and the sink in our room (116) backs up and they way the pedestal was fixed to the floor you could'nt unclog it even if you tried. But we have stayed in worst places for the money so clean up your act, paint the rooms, supervise better the cleaning staff because wee'll be baaack.....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pancho66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
9.0 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.6 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
4.4 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
7.0 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
3.7 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mafolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mafolie Hotel

Property: Mafolie Hotel
Address: 7091 Estate Mafolie | Mafolie Hill, Charlotte Amalie 00802-3419, St. Thomas
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mafolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mafolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mafolie Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Charlotte Amalie
Mafolie Hotel St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands - Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing