We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super special vacation at Bellavista”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellavista Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super special vacation at Bellavista”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Staying at the Bellavista is a treat. I traveled solo and want to encourage others to do the same and stay with Wendy and Doug at their Bellavista B&B! Wendy is fantastic! She assisted me in navigating the island's downtown water front, helped me with my day trip by ferry to St. John’s and made me feel right at home. I was fortunate to spend some morning time with Wendy as she made her “everything from scratch” breakfasts! Bellavista is a special place - comfortable room, relaxing living area, grand view of the Caribbean and downtown capital area and Wendy’s always fantastic breakfasts, I think this is twice that I’ve mentioned her homemade breakfast! Not only are Wendy and Doug fantastic people but the guests staying with them were the most authentic, caring and wonderful people as well and we exchanged addresses/phone numbers so to keep in touch. This place is so special and I encourage solo travels to not pass up an opportunity to enjoy peace and serenity at Bellavista B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelingAmiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
180
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed at the Bellavista B&B for 3 nights while on St. Thomas for work. Some might say a drawback is that it isn't on the beach, but that didn't matter to me since I was mostly working! When I was able to sneak in some down time, Wendy's pool and patio and fantastic and have terrific views. The layout of the house is open and affords many crosswind breezes. The full breakfasts are a real treat, and guests are welcome to sodas, juices, bottled water, coffee, granola bars and fruit at any time. And as a nice touch, there's a turndown service in the evening and some fresh flower buds are placed on the pillows. The B&B is a quick cabride from the seaplane terminal (5-ish minutes and six bucks or so) and there are a few very good restaurants within walking distance. Wendy is quick with suggestions and travel advice. I would welcome the chance to stay here again during a future work trip! Highly recommened.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Cottage room, which includes access to a balcony veranda with seating and a table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reyorrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had a wonderful time during our four night stay at Bellavista in March 2012. Wendy was a fantastic host, and her breakfasts were cullinary delights. Nothing was too much trouble for her, and it made getting going for the day a real pleasure. We had a room with a view, which was spectacular. Sitting around the pool in the evening, overlooking the harbor and town, made a great end to fun filled days. The B&B is conviently located above town, and you can set out for anywhere on the island from there. We had a rental car, which we think was a good idea for a stay on the island.

We can recommend Bellavista and Wendy to anyone planning a trip to St Thomas!

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms with a view... they are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I had a wonderful experience this week at Wendy and Doug's Bellavista B&B!!! Everything was perfect. We loved the hospitality, the home, the views, everything. We plan to come back over and over and over. I can honestly see why this B&B is ranked so high. All the details that Wendy puts in place. I felt like 'royalty'. The breakfast was wonderful too! Wendy is a great cook. The pool was perfect. I can't say enough about this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, VA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The neatest, cleanest place you can imagine. Wendy is the most gracious host. There doesn't seem to be anything that she will not do to make her guests more at home and comfortable. It is located up the hill from the center of town. A fairly easy 5 minute walk down but for most, a taxi ride back up. Our room was spacious and looked out over the water. Swimming pool was a great place to relax. If there is anything you need or reservations made, just ask Wendy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred_McLean_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My wife and I had a great 4 night stay at the Bellavista Bed & Breakfast. Wendy is a fantastic host who made us feel very much at home. She was always available to give us information on what to do, what beach to go to, what restaurant to eat at, etc... She would call a cab for us whenever we needed a ride and she provided us with beach towels and a cooler with bottled water when we went to the beach. Her house is very well maintained with a great view of the harbour. Her breakfast every morning was amazing. It's very easy to meet other people that are staying there at breakfast. We met another couple who we became friends with and went out to dinner with them one night. We left feeling like Wendy was a true friend. Jim and Barb Wheatley

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkwheat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We have officially lost count of the number of times we have been to Bellavista in the last 4 years! We just returned February 27th from another wonderful stay. Let me just say that we continue to visit Wendy, Doug and Bellavista because it feels like home. We are welcomed so graciously as if it is our first stay. For this trip, we stayed five nights in our favorite room, Coquille Collage. It is our favorite because of the serene and soothing color of the blue and white that reminds us of sailing and being out on the water. It has an amazing view of Charlotte Amalie and the cruise ships in the distance. However, we have stayed in every room and would be happy anywhere Wendy has availability. The following is what sets Wendy and Bellavista apart from the rest: we were in St. Thomas this trip to run a race in St. John called 8 Tuff Miles, a hilly and extremely difficult race from Cruz Bay to Coral Bay. This required us to be up at out of Bellavista by 5:30am to catch a 6am ferry in Red Hook. The evening prior, Wendy baked homemade granola (which made Bellavista smell wonderful) and tropical fruit cups to take with us. When we got up the next morning coffee was in the pot and there were post it notes with instructions for preparing what we needed before we set out. We have stayed in many hotels collectively around the world...it is truly above and beyond! Wendy never ceases to amaze us with her spirit and energy. We have had the pleasure of fostering a special relationship with Wendy and Doug, and when you leave Bellavista, you want to bottle it all up and take it home with you! We have already booked two more trips...one at the end of this year and our usual February trip next year! We can't wait! Mike and Lauren

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurenandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.6 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
566 reviews
8.9 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.8 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
697 reviews
3.4 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,769 reviews
1.2 km away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bellavista Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2713 Murphy Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802-5547, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the harbor & historic town of Charlotte Amalie, Bellavista B&B is a charming island-style home set in lush gardens offering many amenities including: * two-course homemade tropically-inspired breakfast * swimming pool and sunbathing deck with a panoramic view of the harbor * complimentary non-alcoholic beverages, fresh fruit and snacks * complimentary beach gear including sand chairs, snorkel equipment, coolers, beach bags, towels, mats & floats * personalized vacation planning advice and assistance based on your interests, budget and travel style * wireless internet access and cable TV * spa robes, luxury linens & a bouquet of fresh flowers in your guest room * nightly turndown service ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellavista Bed And Breakfast
Bellavista Bed & Breakfast St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands - Charlotte Amalie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing