We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing changed, people still being robbed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I wrote a review a while back about Magens Bay. We were robbed. Nothing has changed. People still getting robbed. If you have any valuable, take them to a safe depost at a bank, don't even use the resorts safe. I can tell you, most every room gets searched. When do they rob you you?... your first night, they have a celebration at the pool, this is when they get in your room, with a screwdriver, no key needed, as doors open outward, which means the latch is exposed. Anyone can get in. Some things never change. I was there in 2000 when we were robbed.

Room Tip: Keep any valuables at a loca banks safe deposit, not in room, not in resorts safe. Trust me, you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank SphinxRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Magens Point Resort in Saint Thomas, We were a group of friends that wanted to take a small vacation to rest and explore the island. The staff at Magen's Point Resort especially the owner Meche, were really helpfull and personable. They recommended us place to visit, affordable restaurants, beaches and bar nearby. The rooms were comfortable and clean and we have an awesome view of the bay. they also have a nice pool, the food at the restaurant was great, and we enjoyed having our drinks by the pool. Overall it was a great experience for us. I highly recommend Magens Point Resort it was a special experience that exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarlitaCorujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

On a recent trip in Feb., I revisited our former favorite location of many years, Magen's Resort to check on improvements. I was delighted to find upon inspection, the many renovated units upgraded with new showers,glass walls,kitchen areas, furniture,bedding, etc.

The location and incredible view of Magen's Bay has always been a winner. They now have a second pool, various outdoor upgrades and...a well stocked mini deli/store with a large variety of quality items.

The greatest enhancement, however is the efficiency and caring attitude and pride of Viola Morton, a genuine "white light" who continues to "exceed guests' expectations". She even stopped her very busy day to give us a thorough and honest inspection and....personally drove us down to Magen's Bay when she realized we had no transportation...BJFortunato New Jersey

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank KittycatLinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The last time I was in St. Thomas, we got a time-share unit at the Elysian which is near Red Hook. The unit was terrific but I love spending every day at Little Magen's Bay, so it was a long drive each way from the condo to the beach.

So, this time around I opted to book a timeshare at Tropical Leisure Club at Magen's Point Resort. I read other reviews and knew from them to not expect "fancy", which I don't really care about anyway. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by how beautiful and well kept the property is as well as the warm and friendly welcoming we got.

But, that was our last really positive experiece. The studio units are very small and VERY dated. They look like there were furnished from a Goodwill or a yard sale. The double bed was cheap and incredibly uncomfortable. It squeaked whenever you made the slightest move. A big negative is that the unit only had a mini-fridge. We had to turn it to high and put our milk in the very back in order to keep it cold which meant having to take everything out whenever we wanted to get to it. There were no ice trays in the tiny freezer portion and the ice maker in our building looks like it's been broken for years (there's a build up of sand in it). So, anytime we wanted ice we had to walk all the way across the property...up and down hills and stairs to the ice machine in a different building.

The coin laundry room is in the same building so that a long haul, too. One of the two washers was broken the entire time we were there and some of the permanent residents of the property aren't shy about hogging the lone washer. You have to buy a token at the office to use the washer...FOUR DOLLARS...and you need $2.00 in quarters to use the dryer. SIX DOLLARS to wash a load of clothes??? Seriously?

But probably the most annoying thing was the shower - no water pressure at all. It was never more than a trickle and took forever to get warm enough to even get in it. After a long day in the sun and water you just want to come back to your room and take a good shower or bath to get all the sweat, lotion and saltwater off....but it was almost impossible to do that in these showers.

So, it's a great location...just a couple minutes drive from Magen's Bay, which is terrific - the property is neat and clean for the most part (although we did have cockroaches in our bathroom) and the maids get in and out of your room to make up beds, change out towels, etc very early..but those are the only positives. Next time, I will pay a little more to stay somewhere else, and drive a little farther if I have to...to have something nicer.

Room Tip: We viewed one of the "villa suites"...and they were more spacious...but still had a mini-f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zivo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Don't want to be repetitious when everyone else is saying such good things, but our two weeks at the end of March and beginning of April were a welcome surprise. We're owners and have been going to Magens for 13 years-- it's all about the friends who come back year after year. Rum Buzz, the restaurant has to go, though-- also, we'd like to see more done with the Monday night welcome party-- years ago, it used to be so much fun-- now, nothing is done to entertain us except of course Andrew.

Room Tip: Get rid of then roosters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeCodSandinmyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We go every year and stay at Magens. They have a very friendly staff and have worked very hard to update and make it very pleasant. We go to relax and unwind from our stressful lives and always find that the staff caterers to us. It is the best.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We rented a studio for a great price, thank GOD, because if it was a penny more we would have felt cheated. I am also grateful that we spent little time in the room. I came home with lots of mosquito bites because there were no screens, the place was full of ants, the ice machines were not accessible, we got some ice from the restaurant. The bathroom sink faucet needed to change, it was old and looked really nasty- I spent some time scrubbing it so we can use it to wash our face and brush our teeth.
This saddens me, because I am from STT and this resort is close to the famous Magen Bay Beach, it could have lots of business and be great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cherry700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magens Bay
2.0 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
572 reviews
3.1 km away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
712 reviews
6.2 km away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
6.2 km away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
4.6 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas

Address: 6200 Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas (Formerly Magens Point Resort)
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Magens Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
Price Range: $135 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas is a two and a half star, unpretentious and very relaxed resort facing Magens Bay. Our facilities include two restaurants, one Italian finer dining featuring a wine-mojito bar, and the pool sports bar with burgers, bbq, pizza and sandwiches. We offer two Jacuzzis, tennis courts, a coffee-deli-wine on site shop with breakfast, a gaming room, a small fitness center offering also yoga, zumba and massage services. All our studios and villas have been tastefully redone, and are fully equipped with kitchenettes, microwaves and small fridges, plus energy efficient air conditioning units. Most units also face Magens Bay, and you can wake up to spectacular views of the bay, or watch the sun set from your balcony while sipping the cocktail of your choice. Last year RCI awarded us recognition for excellence in hospitality services, and since 2010 we have spent hundreds of thousands of dollars upgrading our facilities. We may not be for everyone, true. But if you are looking for that "limin" effect that locals brag about.. come stay with us. We promise you an unforgettable experience. Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas is what the islands should be all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flamboyan on the Bay Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magens Point Hotel Magens Bay
Magens Point Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing