We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Renewal of the Soul!!!”
View of private Pool Looking Down Island towards St. John and the British Virgin Islands.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of private Pool Looking Down Island towards St. John and the British Virgin Islands.
View form lower pool deck at sunset. View of Pool from upper deck and Caribbean Sea at sunset.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
View of private Pool Looking Down Island towards St. John and the British Virgin Islands.
View form lower pool deck at sunset.
View of Pool from upper deck and Caribbean Sea at sunset.
Upper deck Hot Tub &; Down Island Views. Lots of Islands.
Great Room Looking at Upper Deck with Teak carvings.
Great Room Looking Down Island to the British Virgin Islands.
New IKEA Kitchen looking at Caribbean Sea. New cabinets and appliances.
View from new kitchen to Great Room and Islands.
View of Great Room and Caribbean Sea.
View  of Great Room toward the upper Deck.
Upper King Master Bedroom with Ensuite Bathroom.
View of Master Bedroom bathroom.
King Bedroom #2 with En Suite Bathroom. Great ocean views.
Upper King Bedroom #2 with En Suite Bathroom and ocean views..
En suite bathroom for  King Bedroom #2
Beautiful sunset from Lower Pool Deck.
Downstairs Queen Bedroom next to Pool.
Downstairs en suite Bathroom and shower.
View from parking area and lots of islands.
View of next Villa and Red Hook Harbor.
Dinning area on upper deck with awning extended.
Looking at new IKEA KItchen from Great room.
Upper deck dinning area with Ferry in background.
Hot tub on upper deck and Carriben Sea.
Looking from upper deck with ship in background.
Looking from upper deck of Pool with ferry in background.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
East End, St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LBClarke
Berkeley, California
1 review
“Renewal of the Soul!!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My children and I took a quick fall trip, just the 3 of us and what a relaxing lovely, beautiful stay we had! Waking up every morning to breath taking sunrises over turquoise water. My children literally swam in the pool 12hrs a day! We never wouldve had to leave! Everything was there for us in the villa...Beautiful kitchen, pool, music, bar, sunshine, beach, kayaks, snorkling equipment and everyday the kids and I would walk around Cabrita Point to look at the view of St. John from high up- we even saw deer in the bushes!!!!!! Wonderful vacation, everything luxury can dream of- memory of a lifetime.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Thanks for the great review! The views from Casa Azure are amazing! I have counted 22 islands from our decks! We are also a 10-12 minute walk from the white sand beaches at the Ritz Carlton Hotel and their 4 restaurants!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjudd31
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay and beautiful views!”
Reviewed November 12, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Casa Azure is great. The owners had an escort meet us at the airport and we followed him back to Casa Azure in our rental car.He then showed us thru Casa Azure and explained how everything worked. They do that for every arriving guest. The place was spot less and well stocked. We ordered food and drink ahead of arrival and everything was there when we arrived.The place was cleaned the day of our arrival which I understand is standard procedure.

The views are amazing! We counted over 20 islands from the decks! The views are breath taking! I could sit there all day just watching the boats, ferries and mega yachts go by!

We turned on the pool lasers at night. They flash a number of colors which can be easily changed. What a light show! The hot tub was very nice at night. Lots of stars!

The beds are extremely comfortable and have pillow tops on them. Air conditioners and ceiling fans worked great! We were always very comfortable.

The internet is very fast and the channel selection on the TV's is extensive.

The place is well furnished, very clean and very comfortable.

Casa Azure is a 2 minute drive from the Ritz Carlton Hotel and Spa and a 5 minute drive from the town of Red Hook and ferries to other islands,The Ritz has 4 restaurants. I would highly recommend the Grand Plazzo restaurant at the Ritz,

We orderedPpizza from Senor Pizza. It arrived in about 20 Minutes. Great Pizza!

We can't wait to return. It was a stay of a life time!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
Thanks for the great review! We love the views from Casa Azure! They are amazing!
We like to walk to the Ritz Carlton in the morning and have breakfast. The place is beautiful! It is a 10-15 minute walk and great exercise.

Doug & Bonnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
863JS863
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The views are incredible, house not so much!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have given this review a lot of thought and have decided to present the facts as we found them. I would have appreciated knowing these facts prior to booking this villa.
My first concern was when we contacted the owner to rent the property he asked me to just give him my credit card number and not go through VRBO/Homeaway where we found the property. I told him I wasn't comfortable with that so he allowed us to pay through VRBO. I never received a contract to sign until a couple of days before we left for St. Thomas after all monies had been paid and it was too late to cancel. We had to sign a contract stating our security deposit would be returned in 45-60 days after we checked out provided we did not use excess electricity or water. The reason for the delay in returning the deposit check was for them to receive their utility bills. Fact is our check arrived on June 21st, which was 77 days after we checked out. We were asked to turn off all fans, lights and air conditioners every time we left the villa and avoid using excess water or electricity. The kilowatt rate was posted in the home. We also paid a cleaning fee, but a note on the front door asked us to do some cleaning before we left so we swept the home, stripped the beds and started a load of laundry.
Some facts about the villa are: the bedroom on the pool deck level cannot be accessed from the main level of the home. You have to walk outside around the side of the villa and down the stairs to access this bedroom. This could present a problem if you plan on having small children use this room. You cannot access the pool deck level from the top deck level, you must follow the same walk around the house and down the stairs. The main level of the home has two bedrooms, but from the interior of the home you have to walk through one bedroom to access the other bedroom. This was inconvenient due to the fact that the other couple we traveled with had to walk through our bedroom to get to theirs, this allowed for very little privacy. The only other option was to walk outside on the deck and go in through the sliding glass door. We got wet turning on the shower in the front bathroom due to the very small shower and the shower head did not adjust. The last night we were there the bathroom door came off the hinge when attempting to close it. Also, the bathroom door off the first bedroom does not lock and the door knob appears to be antique. You can actually see through the key hole into the bathroom. Once again privacy was an issue. The detergent dispenser on the dishwasher would not close. The lamp shade in one of the bedrooms was broken and hanging off the lamp. The couch appeared to be very worn and the sleeper sofa was too uncomfortable to sleep on even for a child. The exterior doors of the home lock when closed so you must always carry the key with you or you will lock yourself out. There was no outdoor lighting to guide you down the stairs from the street level parking to the front door of the villa. We all used our cell phones to light the way. The drain line for one of the air conditioners fell down and was hanging in the walk way to the downstairs bedroom dripping water. There were exposed electrical lines coming from the air conditioner in the downstairs bedroom.
We did call the number provided for housekeeping, but it was constantly busy so we made the best of it. We all agreed we paid for the view which was the best part of the home. The location of the home is also very convenient.
If we return to the USVI we will stay on St. John next time which we enjoyed more than St. Thomas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Layout of home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2015
Where do I start. Most groups love Casa Azure! You can count over 20 islands from our decks and watch the ferries and mega yachts go by. Our laser lit multi color pool at night is stupendous!

As far as her comment about having to walk through the other up stairs King bedroom is not true. There is a hall way door in the Master bedroom that by passes the first King bedroom and enters Casa Azure by the front door on the inside the villa. Why she did not see this I have no idea! So if you are in the Master bedroom you can exit through the hall way, the sliders to the deck or through the the first King Bedroom! Many parents with small children like being able to have their children in the first bedroom and having the option of having the inside door open or shut. The door can be locked from the master bedroom side.

The bathrooms have German brass locks on them currently. But after her comments I will change them to American locks. Interesting that she was peeping through the key hole! Who does that??

All beds and the sleeper sofa in the great room have comfortable pillow tops on them and they are made the day of arrival. If she didn't tell us in advance that she wanted to use the sofa sleeper it would not have been made up.
I have a full time maintenance man that will come over immediately if there is a problem. He never got a call!

Our contracts are sent out the day of booking by email. I assume she did not send the first contract back and we emailed her a second or third contract that she finally sent back.

Most people like the fact that the pool bedroom is entered from a separate entrance. There is out side lighting as you go down stairs at night that comes on automatically.

The locks self lock for security. We have found that many guests forget to lock the door when they leave. We set the locks up this way for security. Each group gets two sets of keys when they arrive and are told by our escort that the doors are self locking and to take keys with them when they leave. Don't most people take keys with them when they leave their home??

And by the way we never received a call from them during their stay. Our number is posted in Casa Azure and they are told to call us if there is a problem!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl C
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No compensation from owners, but dead rats for an experience!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We submitted our concerns to Doug and Bonnie and were looking for 2 nights compensation back, approximately $1000 after spending 10 days there. We were a group of three discerning couples that have travelled extensively and hold down professional jobs. Two of us are General Managers of hotels. Here is our letter that we sent to the owners and they refused to give us money back but instead offered us 2 free nights when we return to the ST. Thomas. Not sure how many times I would get there from Canada lol!
Anyhow I would never do this type of review but I have no recourse left but to inform other potential guests.

Dear Doug and Bonnie:

We are writing this letter after having given our experience at Casa Azure a great deal of thought since our return to Canada. This letter is on behalf of Darryl, Trina, Darren, Karen, Tom and Cheryl.

When we booked our holiday we of course had high expectations as I think anyone would, with the amount of time and money we spent planning this special event. In all honesty there were hours of time spent on finding just the right place. After several phone calls and many emails back and forth we as a group decided on your property. It presented very well on the internet and appeared that it had most everything we were looking for. You were also very accommodating in offering great suggestions on what to do and where to go.

Darryl and Trina were the first to arrive and spent the first 3 days and nights at your property. First of all I want to first say that the pictures do not give a clear idea of the quality of the property. Although the place had an amazing view, your property was tired and very basic in quality. Although the property seemed generally clean, (I say generally, partly because of the humidity and I understand that), esthetically the property was cluttered with old and very tired decorations and furnishings. Sometimes the saying of “less is more” is fitting. This would allow a feeling of more space in your home and would also be less of a burden for your housekeeper to have to wipe and clean. Both of the door screens were off the guides in the downstairs unit and the upstairs unit had holes in the sliding door screening. We pointed this out to Curlson when we first arrived. He said he would let the house keeper know. Those considerations aside what was most disconcerting when getting settled and finding our way around was the discovery of a large rat in a trap by the barbeque. (We took pictures of this for the record). The next day we called your housekeeper and informed her about our surprise and that we would like it to be taken care of. Revealingly, her response was “is it dead now?” The fact that she knew about the rodent was quite surprising, more so because she left it there in the first place, dead or alive!!!! She then said that Curlson had called her to tell her about the screens and informed us that the screen guy would be coming in the morning and would also remove the dead rat. I asked why there were holes in the screen and she said it was most likely the rat. The screen guy came that next morning to fix the screens and he reluctantly took care of the rat. He also confirmed that he was called the day before but was too busy that day to change the screening from what was obviously rodent infiltration. Later that night we were out enjoying a glass of wine, enjoying the view and along came another rat along the front window ledge directly towards us, we scared that off with loud noises and movement. The rat ran back towards the bush and wall that separates both properties. Two nights later Darren and Karen joined us but we decided to not inform them about the rats and have it affect their holiday. The next day after their arrival we were having drinks and Darryl decided to tell Darren but not Karen of the incident. Darren then informed Darryl that in the morning on the lower level they spotted a rat caught in another trap, (more pictures of this!) So we all talked about this and decided to call the housekeeping lady back again and had her call an exterminator. Having another couple joining us that evening, we did not want them to know about these incidences for fear of ruining their vacation. The exterminator was very helpful and informed us that there had been a problem with rats for the last 2 weeks at this property. He also showed us the third trap being used on the corner by the sitting area of the pool. He reset the other two traps and left.

Another comment that has to be made was the very loose and piled sheets that made us scratch and itch for the first few days. We than began to think about bed bugs. We ripped apart the bed in the middle of the night to find huge amounts of dirt/dust and debris under and throughout the bed. Thankfully, no bed bugs though. We washed that bedding and replaced it with another set in the storage area that was not loose, but piled as well. Over the mattress and beneath the sheets on the bed was a crunchy fabric, (for wetting the bed and staining??), and a big worn out and stained foam pad. Every time we moved in the bed, a crunchy noise would happen. The bed itself was fine after we took off the child proof toppers. My point is that the bed, linens and pillows at this price point needs to be luxurious. A good sleep is a must at any property selling overnights!

Furthermore when we turned on “all” ceiling fans, huge clouds of dust flew over the house and required us to clean them . A half an inch thick of dust on the blades!! Not exaggerating. We were not looking, just happened to notice when they were turned on.

Now how would you react to this? Obviously we should have been informed of the “rat issue” prior to our arrival, as staff and contractors were working on this problem well in advance. At this point we could have decided if we still wanted to stay there. We all feel very let down and upset that you were not forthcoming about this. Our expectations certainly were not realized. We know that these things happen and sometimes you do not want to inform your guests of issues, like bed bugs in a hotel or rats at your rental establishment. But when your guests experience them it tends to get expensive.

I am asking you to please let us know what compensation you are willing to offer. Having spent as many years as I have in the hotel business I would refund the entire stay of the guest that had similar experiences, first of all to apologize but also to protect ourselves from further damage to our reputation. We are certainly not looking for a free vacation at your property but feel we paid entirely too much money for this type of experience. We do not wish to cause trouble but I am sure you can see if from our collective point of view.

Please kindly get back to us so we may know what your thoughts are.

Darren, Karen, Tom, Cheryl, Darryl and Trina

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The owners idea of customer service/compensation with a bad stay!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2014
We think this group stayed at Casa Azure a couple of years ago. It is hard to say since we only have one name on the booking and they listed 6 names! If it is the group I think it is we offered the them $2000 off their next 10 day stay because of the rat problem. The rats were never in the villa! Only on the decks! So far we haven't heard from them.
Casa Azure is totally cleaned prior to the arrival of the guests. All sheets, towels, etc. are washed and beds made the day of the guests arrival. We have never had bed bugs! They seemed very paranoid about a few dead rats. We have a exterminator and he does a great job controlling the rats,
We have over 24 reviews on Homeaway.com/219684 and have never had such a poor review. Take a look at our video on homeaway! The views are to die for! I suggest you read those reviews on Homeaway to get the real picture. While they were there there was construction at a near by villa and this probably caused the rat problem. We do have an exterminator that sets traps as necessary. Normally you won't see them if they are around.This is the tropics and there are rats as there are in all tropical locations, including Hawaii! We stayed there last month and had no rat problem. Most of our guests can't wait to return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Reviewed December 14, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing