We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food in lovely bistro setting ”

Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Cwmtaf
Price range: US$5 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bistro & Bar. Serving food all day every day. A mixture of modern dishes with traditional classics. Using local suppliers and ingredients
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Myself and my daughters had lunch and dinner in the bistro. Lunch was baguettes, the fillings were generous and accompanied by crisp and salad. Dinner was superb. The scallops were gorgeous as were the crab fish cakes. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the desserts were out of this world. The service is attentive without being obtrusive. Highly recommend.

Thank Welshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you so much for your brilliant review. I hope you are able to visit again very soon. Simon Daniel - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 416 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

This is my second visit since dec17, we thought we would give it a second chance as we have been coming here for years. Staff were friendly, no complaints apart from the noise they create. They don’t seem very professional and seem to have a free run. The working environment seems like a joke house.

The food here now dan be described mediocre to say the least. We were always ok about the cost of food here however not any longer. The food isn’t awful but not good enough that we will eat here again.

The resultant and toilets are scruffy dirty and dusty, cobwebs are visible. The retiring are just isn’t well maintained.

I also noted that the restaurant only has a score of 3 regarding its food hygiene rating which is appealing considering it’s the nant ddu and its previous popularity and cost of food.

What a shame, who ever now owns this is running it into the ground and deserves a boot up the back side for allowing the demise of such a popular venue.

1  Thank welshlion1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

I am very sorry that you didnt enjoy your visit. Please contact me at the hotel so we can sort the problems you had. Only this week we have had our Food hygiene inspection and have be graded 5/5 which is the highest you can get. Simon Daniel - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2018

Came on a Saturday night for a late valentines treat. The service was very good and the waiting staff very attentive. The food.Well, mine was excellent.Pulled pork and black pudding for starter,slow cooked lamb and bakewell tart for dessert(shared with hubby)My husband said his starter was bland and(prawn cocktail was in mayo not seafood sauce and not seasoned) Steak delicious and dessert was ok. Hence the 4 rather then a 5

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nicola r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Thank you for yoyr review and comments about our food. The Chef's will be delighted. Simon Daniel - General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2018 via mobile

We were made to feel very welcome by Mary who made a real fuss of my mum on her 90th birthday. This was very much appreciated. We had a lovely lunch and evening meal. Spa staff were very kind to Mum. Thanks everyone.

Thank 0neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

Delighted you enjoyed your recent visit! Thank you for taking the time to right a review. Simon Daniel - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2018

Wonderful venue. Food has never tasted so good, can't wait to go back. The pamper package,broom, spa, food and staff were wonderful

Thank Coppertopnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

Delighted you enjoyed your visit to us. Please come back soon. Simon Daniel - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant also viewed

Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil
 
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil
 
Dowlais, Merthyr Tydfil
Pontsticill, Merthyr Tydfil
 

Been to Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing