We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gallows Point Resort
Nearby Hotels
St. John Inn(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caneel Bay Resort(Caneel Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveller rating
661
145
40
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
145
40
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewgift shopupper levelst johnlower harborhuge showerlower unitfull kitchenloft bedroombeach barhalf bathbeautiful groundsoctopuson site restaurantshort walkgreat snorkelingclose to town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
604 - 609 of 869 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Walk to town, St. John has several bays for snorkling, steep inclines with scenic vistas of blue caribbean sea. Our room had a balcony shaded with palms, cool ocean breeze, and stunning view. We chose the island because we could fly direct. (to st thomas, and 15 minute ferry) We rented a scooter and could cross the entire island in minutes, park anywhere, and visit remote locations. Room was clean with pleasant fragrance, kitchen had granite counter tops, and spacious, enormous shower, and well ventilated. I was shocked that Zozo's Italian restaurant didn't have espresso? Cafe Roma, yes Cafe ROMA has no cappucino or espresso., but there's a place in town called La Tapa that can serve up the java with full crema. Amen.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Amazing location, close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Peaceful atmosphere, amazing views and a huge room!

Room Tip: We had a room with an ocean view I would suggest that. Unit 1 is the farthest from the others very peaceful.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We went to St John in January and friends recommended Gallow's Point. After their reviews we were really excited. Overall it was okay. The location was great, just a two minute walk to town. Being so close to town we didn't need to rent a car. It was nice to have the kitchen so we could eat breakfast at home and pack a lunch for the beach. There were some great beaches about 45 minute hike away. We had a remodeled room with a great view of the Bay (i think maybe it was 10B). The hotel amenities were minimal, pool was small, no hotel bar (except at the fancy restaurant which opens in the evening) and no on site beach. But it was nice to be in a small hotel with less people around.

Unfortunately, Gallow's Point was disappointing due to the staff. We found on several occasions that they were not very helpful. On our first full day we returned home in the afternoon to very loud construction outside our room. The construction was so loud and close, we couldn't use the patio to relax and watch the view that afternoon. I called the frontdesk to ask when it would finished for the day and how many days it would last. My response was simply "I don't know" to which I had to ask her to find out. Also we had a toaster oven that broke on the second day and we asked over and over to have it replaced. Finally after 2.5 days they said they wouldn't replace as the toaster oven was the unit owner's. Not the worst customer service, but paying $400+ a night I would expect more.

Also the rooms facing Cruz Bay can be noisy at night. You can hear the bars and music until midnight or so. I could hear the noise but was able to sleep through it.

There aren't many choices for accommodations on the island, we went to Caneel Bay for a day and it was beautiful. It is another $200+ a night but seemed amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Breathtaking! Stayed in the Blue Orchid unit (this being our 2nd visit to Gallows), the best snorkeling with the NE winds kicking up was right off our deck! Mark made the reservations an ease and we wished we could have stayed another 7 days!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhawkfan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary on St John In February 2012. After much deliberating we decided to spend the extra money and stay at Gallows Point, and we are glad we did. The property is absolutely beautiful, very well maintained, and the staff is exceedingly professional and nice. We stayed in unit 11D which is a second floor condo over looking the bay. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck at night listening to the band and laughter coming from the beach bars, and during the day watching the boats come and go. All the beaches on the island are beyond beautiful, but especially enjoyed Hawksnest because of it's calm waters and the uncrowded laid back local atmosphere. We very highly recommend a dinghy day. Rent a dinghy from Odyssey water sports and spend the day exploring all the beaches and snorkeling spots on the north shore. Bring more water and sunblock than you think you need, there is no shade in a dinghy! Make sure to make a sunset dinner reservation at Zso Zso's. A little expensive but worth it. We will definitely be returning to Gallows Point

Room Tip: Less noise from the harbor boat traffic on the seaside. But, more to watch on the bayside
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVAQs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews