We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, romantic and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lubbock, Tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, romantic and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary at Gallows Point Resort. Made our reservation through Suites St. John. Richard Matheny and Rolando made the booking easy and convenient. We had travel complications and they graciously worked with us to make our anniversary wonderful.

We stayed in Suite 8C. Loved having the kitchenette. Wonderful views. Loved sitting on the deck drinking coffee in the mornings, cocktails in the evening. Beautiful Sunsets. Skylight over the bed revealed a full moon shining in. Loved the hot tub at night with the color changing lights.

We definitely recommend Gallows Point and Suites St. John.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestTexTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    137
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
151
500
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Walk to town, St. John has several bays for snorkling, steep inclines with scenic vistas of blue caribbean sea. Our room had a balcony shaded with palms, cool ocean breeze, and stunning view. We chose the island because we could fly direct. (to st thomas, and 15 minute ferry) We rented a scooter and could cross the entire island in minutes, park anywhere, and visit remote locations. Room was clean with pleasant fragrance, kitchen had granite counter tops, and spacious, enormous shower, and well ventilated. I was shocked that Zozo's Italian restaurant didn't have espresso? Cafe Roma, yes Cafe ROMA has no cappucino or espresso., but there's a place in town called La Tapa that can serve up the java with full crema. Amen.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Dams, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Amazing location, close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Peaceful atmosphere, amazing views and a huge room!

Room Tip: We had a room with an ocean view I would suggest that. Unit 1 is the farthest from the others very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We went to St John in January and friends recommended Gallow's Point. After their reviews we were really excited. Overall it was okay. The location was great, just a two minute walk to town. Being so close to town we didn't need to rent a car. It was nice to have the kitchen so we could eat breakfast at home and pack a lunch for the beach. There were some great beaches about 45 minute hike away. We had a remodeled room with a great view of the Bay (i think maybe it was 10B). The hotel amenities were minimal, pool was small, no hotel bar (except at the fancy restaurant which opens in the evening) and no on site beach. But it was nice to be in a small hotel with less people around.

Unfortunately, Gallow's Point was disappointing due to the staff. We found on several occasions that they were not very helpful. On our first full day we returned home in the afternoon to very loud construction outside our room. The construction was so loud and close, we couldn't use the patio to relax and watch the view that afternoon. I called the frontdesk to ask when it would finished for the day and how many days it would last. My response was simply "I don't know" to which I had to ask her to find out. Also we had a toaster oven that broke on the second day and we asked over and over to have it replaced. Finally after 2.5 days they said they wouldn't replace as the toaster oven was the unit owner's. Not the worst customer service, but paying $400+ a night I would expect more.

Also the rooms facing Cruz Bay can be noisy at night. You can hear the bars and music until midnight or so. I could hear the noise but was able to sleep through it.

There aren't many choices for accommodations on the island, we went to Caneel Bay for a day and it was beautiful. It is another $200+ a night but seemed amazing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Breathtaking! Stayed in the Blue Orchid unit (this being our 2nd visit to Gallows), the best snorkeling with the NE winds kicking up was right off our deck! Mark made the reservations an ease and we wished we could have stayed another 7 days!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhawkfan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary on St John In February 2012. After much deliberating we decided to spend the extra money and stay at Gallows Point, and we are glad we did. The property is absolutely beautiful, very well maintained, and the staff is exceedingly professional and nice. We stayed in unit 11D which is a second floor condo over looking the bay. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck at night listening to the band and laughter coming from the beach bars, and during the day watching the boats come and go. All the beaches on the island are beyond beautiful, but especially enjoyed Hawksnest because of it's calm waters and the uncrowded laid back local atmosphere. We very highly recommend a dinghy day. Rent a dinghy from Odyssey water sports and spend the day exploring all the beaches and snorkeling spots on the north shore. Bring more water and sunblock than you think you need, there is no shade in a dinghy! Make sure to make a sunset dinner reservation at Zso Zso's. A little expensive but worth it. We will definitely be returning to Gallows Point

Room Tip: Less noise from the harbor boat traffic on the seaside. But, more to watch on the bayside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVAQs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Love this place! We stayed there the end of Jan . Met a lot of real nice people of all ages. Our stay was in unit 5D top floor. We Couldn’t have been happier with the accommodations. The view from our room with St. Thomas across the way was unbelievable
Meant to rent a car when were there but instead walked everywhere. A few times took a taxi to some of the beaches. But we also walked to Solomon and Honeymoon beach from Gallows. Only slight disappointment was that the Hot Tub closed at 9pm which seemed way too early. It’s in such a great spot, it would have been nice to sit out there a little longer. But it gave us an excuse to walk back into town. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekim4761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.8 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.4 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
2.0 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
4.7 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Property: Gallows Point Resort
Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing