We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week on St. John ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

I've seen a lot of reviews where people are complaining about "the pool not working.... or the snorkel access is blocked".

Listen, if you are going to the Virgin Islands to swim in a pool, stay home dummy. We booked through Expedia and it clearly stated that construction was happening, but that Gallows was offering discounts for that small inconvenience. I wouldn't have cared either way, as we do not go to an ocean destination to swim in a pool.

As for the snorkel access; There was plenty of room to simply walk right into the ocean, which my wife and I did 2-3 times per day for over a week.

Bottom line, this place is incredible. The grounds are immaculate, rooms are spacious and beautiful, and the views are THE best you could want. The staff was polite and always willing to assist. We would stay here again in a second!

The restaurant upstairs (Ocean 362) was very nice and again, the view alone made it worthwhile. I would've been happy with a hotdog and fries to sit there... let alone gourmet cuisine.

The snorkeling is amazing as well. To be honest, I would put the reef at Gallows in my top 3 for St. John. I would post photos, but I still haven't transferred the 400-500 we took... so take my word on it!

Cruz Bay is a 2 minute walk, which is great considering the restaurants and local stores it has to offer.


Thank you to Gallows Point for having us, and know that you have returning customers as soon as we can blow off work again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review! Your positive feedback means a lot to us, especially during this time while we are renovating our pool area. We really hope you can return soon and experience the new pool, hot tub, and seaside terraces. Please note that if you book directly through the resort next time, and let us know you're a repeat guest, we will give you a 10% repeat discount (except during the Peak Holiday Season)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
There are newer reviews for Gallows Point Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Perfect location to walk into Cruz Bay. It's far enough away that you don't hear all the noise of Cruz Bay but close enough to walk. The grounds were well kept and secure. The room was much larger than I expected with a full kitchen and living room. I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cranium361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thanks so much for your review! We appreciate you sharing your feedback and hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

My husband and I visited this resort at the end of July. We live in Florida and are used to humidity, but nothing can compare to St. John in July with the humidity! That said, we rented a top floor unit. The unit was beautiful, but the ceilings were very tall and there were half round windows at the top of the doors, very high up. Around 3:00-4:00, the sun came in those windows and you really couldn't even sit inside the living room area because it was so bright, and we didn't want to go outside to sit because if was so hot and humid. This could have been fixed with curtains that you could draw closed in mid day........that is really my only complaint which could be easily fixed. Unit was clean, beautiful, grounds were luscious and views from upper deck were gorgeous. Resort is close to town, within walking distance and that is a plus. People who work there are really friendly, especially the girls in the snorkel/gift shop.

Room Tip: If you travel in the summer, you might want to consider a lower unit ocean or bay side.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We have noted your suggestion about curtains and will see what we can do to provide guests an option to block the bright rays of the sun from coming in. We appreciate your feedback and hope you return soon - maybe next time you can visit in the Spring or Winter when it is much cooler, and a lot less humidity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We are two week owners at the Westin , St John and this year we decided to add an extra day to coincide with travel plans. We booked this resort at the last minute and though there was pool construction, nothing could mar the elegant units(We stayed in 7 C) , the excellent amenities and the absolutely breathtaking views of the Caribbean and ST Thomas across the way. There is no question that the pool is under construction and access to the dock and water requires negotiation. We did some excellent snorkeling right from in front of our room and saw octopus, barracuda, angels, and tarpon as well as a nice selection of colorful butterfly fish, etc. The rooms are huge and exquisitely decorated reminiscent of the old style Caribbean decor. There is a beautifully decorated bathroom downstairs and another upstairs. We prefer the view from upstairs.When the pool is done it will be spectacular. The front desk is very helpful . The shuttle to the ferry the next day was so very appreciated.We will now be back for at least one nite every trip. The sunset and sunrise from the deck makes a trip to the island even more special. Tip -some discreet signage helping guests from upper levels to access the water would not be remiss.We saw families with older children who enjoyed the resort.

Room Tip: We like view from balcony rooms
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacki217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you so much for your detailed review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan to return. We hope sometime you can stay more than 1 night! Your suggestion about the signs to help guests access the beach has been noted - we always appreciate our guests' feedback and continually strive to meet and exceed expectations. The pool renovation is one of our many efforts to do so, and we so look forward to the Grand Opening of our beautiful new pool and hot tub in October so our guests may see the fruits of our labor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We book this resort through Expedia and there was no indication that this amenities were unavailable until we arrived. Our room backed up to the service road so it was very noisy with workers and cement trucks coming and going. We first disputed with Expedia then through our credit card and finally directly with Gallows Point. No one cared and we basically paid $311 a night for a noisy room that started early, with no pool, no spa and no snorkeling access. We had other options for the same price range so there claim of my discount is a joke. We should have been compensated for this.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

We are very sorry that Expedia did not clearly indicate that these amenities would not be available during your stay. While you did receive 30% off the rack rate (the $311.50/night mentioned), apparently Expedia did not make it clear that you were receiving this discount due to the renovation and lack of access to these amenities. We do care about our guests and their experiences at our resort which is why we make sure to tell all guests who book through us directly about the construction, possible noise, and that they will receive the pool renovation discount should they choose to book while the construction is on-going.

As we explained to you/your husband at length on the phone when we returned your call a few weeks ago, we have little control over Expedia's booking process. We have tried to get Expedia to make the note about our pool renovation larger, and at the top of the page, as it is currently a bit small and we agree it can be overlooked; however; their response was that their system is set up in a standard way and they can't make custom edits to the way Renovations & Closures are listed on their website.

Again, we are sorry about this miscommunication but feel we have done everything we can on our side to notify guests and be fully transparent about the renovation and why we are offering discounted rates. Please note that access to our beach for snorkeling was only blocked for 2 days in June due to safety concerns, and we reopened access 2 days later as soon as we felt it was safe to do so. We are sorry access to the beach was blocked for those 2 days during your stay with us, but our guests' safety is of utmost concern.

The pool renovation is currently scheduled to be completed by October 1st, 2017.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

A little pricey, but well worth it! Stayed in an upper level unit with one bedroom and two full baths. Balcony was especially nice to sit out on in the morning and have coffee (coffee maker AND coffee provided!)

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gulfport2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thanks for your 5-star review! We are delighted that you had a fantastic vacation with us, and hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

I have stayed at Gallows at least four times - I highly recommend it. Try and get an upper level room - it's really a split level with 1.5 baths. They are personal condos that are conglomerated and used as a hotel so sometimes the owner will decide to stay and the room won't be available. The sunsets are incredible, some of the best I've seen with the rolling hills of St. Thomas in the background. Banana deck is a short walk away and the food there is outstanding - the restaurant here is pretty good but expensive. Unfortunately they have hiked the prices over the past 1-2 years so I will likely do a VRBO next time.

Room Tip: Upper Level Deck but all are good - I prefer an ocean view vs. the Harbor view due to the sunsets.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NinaYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you very much for your 5-star review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! We so appreciate our repeat guests which is why we offer the 10% repeat discount when you book directly through our resort. While we we did increase our rates slightly last year, we feel that our pricing is comparable to other similar accommodations on the island and that we provide good value given our central location, newly renovated facilities, and extensive services & amenities. We hope you will choose to stay with us next time and enjoy our brand new pool & pool decks (renovations to be completed this Fall)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
1.5 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.7 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
494 reviews
0.4 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
2.0 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
764 reviews
7.3 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range: $322 - $856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing